We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy for the domestic airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BB 44 Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BB 44 Guesthouse to your Saves list
BB 44 Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Borgarholtsbraut 44 | and Nybylavegur 16, Kopavogur, Reykjavik 200, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very handy for the domestic airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Friendly, helpful owners who provide a reliable shuttle service to the domestic airport. The rooms were clean and a small shared kitchette is available for client use. We moved on from Iceland so only stayed one night but would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

BB 44 is a very good value all-around. Not just in cost, but in everything you get! The family that runs the B&B are very, very friendly and go out of their way to help you out and make sure that you are all set for your trip. They provide maps, book tours, give advice on where to eat or visit. Car rentals through them are AMAZING as they will have the car ready right at the B&B, so there's no need to find a rental place and go back & forth to there.

The rooms are simple, but do include a stove, fridge, and some pots & pans for cooking. The showers are unbelievably warm (thanks to geothermal heat). There are no queen beds as far as I know...so we had to push the twin beds together, but that's no prob.

Breakfast is more than expected from a B&B---a wide selection of fruits, juices, veggies, meats, egg, pastries, breads, crackers, and cheese. Very European, mostly cold, but enough so that anyone could find a few things they would like. When we were heading out very early, they let us grab breakfast ahead of time and take care of ourselves before heading out.

They can also book pick-up and drop-off to the airport or elsewhere, which is very convenient.

Great service---this B&B made exploring Iceland easy and fun!

The hotel is in Kopavogur, which is a 15 minute bus ride from downtown Reykjavik. I recommend taking the bus as the walk is difficult, long, and not terribly scenic. From the hotel, walk towards East on Borgarholtsbraut and you'll eventually reach a traffic circle, after which is a bus shelter. From here you can take the 1, 2, or 4, each of which will go to a different part of Reykjavik. The 1 was the most useful for us, but the others can be handy for different times.

Also---there is a small, but nice supermarket across the street from the bakery/convenience store. It's a block down the street, just out of view from the bakery. Their prices on most foods and some gifts are better than ANYWHERE ELSE we saw in Iceland---so if you are looking for gifts (like yarn or knick knacks) or snacks---go here---the hours are very good (10am-10pm on most days)

Room Tip: There is free wifi in the common area, but it is not accessible in all rooms, so if wifi is really i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The owners are friendly. The place was clean and they were very helpful with guiding me in ideas to do while on vacation. Food was great. Service was perfect. I would stay here again.

I have photos of my trip here:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/samuelfowler/sets/72157634009642546

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Iceland has been recently ranked by the World Economic Forum as the best place in the world to visit due largely to the friendly and helpful nature of Icelanders. I am further suggesting that the BB44 guesthouses http://bb44.is/ are the best place to stay in Iceland. Having heard about them through a relative we were able to get a booking. The husband and wife owners,Tolli and Sigga,have operated this charming accomodation facility for 17 years and their professional and experiential support to guests made our stay in Iceland an incredible experience. In addition to a wide variety of accomodation options they also have an onsite car rental business - for guests a fraction of the price of the major international car rental firms (AK Car Rentals) which came in very handy as part of the intent of our trip was to drive the "ring road" - the 1700km road trip of a lifetime witnessing the many wonders of Iceland. We were supplied with a new model Skoda diesel which served us well - using only about 100 litres of fuel for the whole four day trip. We should have taken a bit more time but we were eager to get back to the great hospitality of BB44 and the many delights of Reykjavik. They also have complimentary pick-up and drop off service to the international airport so it was with some sadness in saying goodbye when being transported to the airport - we did however stop for a world famous Icelandic hot-dog! :-)



Thank You!


Wayne Helgason
71-7583 Central Saanich Rd.
Saanichton, BC
V8M2B6
778-426-3631

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The owner are friendly and very helpful.
The room is ok, simply but enough big.
The breakfast is in lovely part of the house.
You can get also car in bb44 and you'll have a really good price if you stay in bb44 at least one night.
The car are not the last model but they are ok.
We recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I usually write about the accommodations FIRST when returning from a trip, but this one required a little more thought. I guess the best way to write about it is to do a list of pros and cons and then explain our stay with a bit more detail.

Pros: very clean (my biggest criteria in choosing a room is that it is clean and this place definitely was), very quiet, breakfast included (in the main house, they have an attached solarium), safe neighborhood.

Cons: I'm sure many people stay for only a few days (we stayed for 8 nights), so this might not apply to you, but the breakfast, while tasty & fresh, is mostly the same every morning. Not much variety except for the fresh fruit. We stayed in 1/2 of a garage, not the main house, which some people might not like. We loved it actually, as it was VERY quiet; nobody disturbed us. The location is outside of downtown Reykjavik (in the suburb of Kopavogur). It's not FAR, mind you, but it isn't the easiest place to find (GPS in our car, which we declined, would have made it easier. I would recommend getting it!). Once you realize how to get there, it's not so bad.

Okay, now for the WEIRD part. This would never fly in the USA, (I'm sure it would not meet our building "codes"), but the bathroom is RIGHT next to the kitchen, separated by a thin plywood wall that does NOT go to the ceiling. Very little privacy while getting ready (again, since I was with my boyfriend, this was not an issue for us, but for 2 others traveling who are not partnered, it may be).

I really wanted to rate this place GOOD (not very good as I've done), but it is definitely better than AVERAGE, so I chose Very Good in the overall rating.

There is a microwave, 2 burner stove and sink in the "kitchen" area with 2 stools. The TV only gets a few Icelandic channels. There is free WiFi available it you need/want it. Close by is a small grocery store which we used a few times and was nice with friendly staff. There is a bus terminal nearby as well which we used once (even though we had a car, we decided to take a bus to Reykjavik for the annual Gay Pride Parade to avoid any unforeseen parking/driving issues). There is a bakery down the street as well, but we never used it. There's a local church nearby as well (quite beautiful in it's 60's-era looking architecture).

I had requested a room with 1 bed and a private bathroom. Our room had 2 twin beds, but we decided to keep them as we liked the privacy factor of the room.

The host/hostess are friendly, and will leave you alone if you want. If you have any questions about getting around, what to do, etc., however, they are very kind and will assist you in any way they can.

I guess in summation, I would describe this place as QUIRKY. It definitely got the job done for us, but might not be for everyone. I did not really see the other rooms in the main house, so I cannot comment on them. Not sure if they share a bathroom or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Borgarholtsbraut location for one night at each end of a holiday.

The whole place has the feel of staying in someone's large home, and I mean that in a good way. The lady that runs BB44 could not be more delightful or helpful. She checked transport times for us, booked cabs, insisted we have a coffee when we got there. We really could not have felt more welcome.

The rooms were plain, but they were spotless and the beds were comfortable. The wifi worked just fine and was free. There was a hottub, but we never got to use it.

A word of warning. It's further from downtown than we realised. There are two bussed an hour that go from nearby, and cost 350 Kr (about £1.75), or you can take a cab for about 2,000 Kr (£10 ish).

Overall, for just a fraction more than staying at Kex hostel, you get your own room, albeit with shared facilities, in a very pleasant environment. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BB 44 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB 44 Guesthouse

Address: Borgarholtsbraut 44 | and Nybylavegur 16, Kopavogur, Reykjavik 200, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BB 44 Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB 44 Guesthosue is family run bed and breakfast located in quiet family house area.Established 1997.We offer single,double and family rooms,some rooms have ensuite bathroom,other shared kitchen and bathroom facilities.Cheap car rental on site,ask for our package deal.Day tour booking´s ,no extra fee.We offer personal service in relaxed atmosphere.Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BB 44 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BB 44 Guesthouse Iceland/Kopavogur, Reykjavik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BB 44 Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.