We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for both beginners AND experienced riders!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Horses - Day Tours

Viking Horses - Day Tours
Almannadalsgata 19, Kopavogur, Reykjavik 203, Iceland
354 660 9590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Kopavogur
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Small groups and private ride on Icelandic horse in Reykjavik area. We are open from 1st of April until 1st of October. Why us? Small groups, family owned business, top-quality horses, we love what we do and love to share it with you. We offer personalized service for beginners and advanced riders, max 8 riders. At Viking Horses’ riding center there is a cozy Cafe offering refreshments.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Fun for both beginners AND experienced riders!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I were harping for more adventures in Reykjavik. We heard from another tourist we met during our trip rave about Icelandic horse tours, specifically Viking Horses (VH). Following the rave reviews we found here on the site. we e-mailed them on a Tuesday morning, hoping for a Wednesday afternoon "Lake and Lava" tour. Makka (the gorgeous firey red-head co-owner of VH) was quick to respond to our booking request, and answered all our questions (ie, bundle up!).

On the day of the tour, my boyfriend and I (neither one of us had ridden a horse before) were accompanied by a family of 3 (two beginners, one experienced). We were picked up (and later dropped off) from our hotel and off to the VH stable. VH co-owners Makka and Ragga helped pair each of us with a beautiful Viking horse to match our skills. All of the horses were very sweet and knew the trail that we were going along very well.

The 2.5 hour ride was well worth the time and money. We were able to tolt, gallop, and take in the beautiful scenery that encompassed us. We ended our trip with hot cocoa, coffee, and "chocolate fingers" (delicious Kit-Kats that cannot be found in the States)

You can see how devoted and how much care Makka and Ragga put into this business. They don't do it just for the money, they do it because they love their horses and want to share the joy of horseback riding with others.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Viking Tour to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved the staff, the horses were wonderful. The scenery was great from horseback, easier than being in jeeps or buses. We went twice in 5 days it was so good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Glad I went with this company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I booked with Viking because of the recommendation of the woman at the tourist place in Reykjavik. They only book small groups. We were fortunate in that my friend and I were the only two on a Tuesday morning. The owner picked us up, gave us a lesson on Icelandic horses and sent us off with our guide. Because it was just us (and probably similar with a small group of six), we were able to go and try different gaits at our pace. Yes, going horseback riding on Icelandic is cool, but I think going with Viking stables is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Raga horse tours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent trip - well worth the money. Ragga horse company were set up only 1 year ago by mum and her daughter and they are fabulous. We booked for a trek to the lava caves via Icelandic ponies. They could not have been more accommodating and friendly. They catered for all our different riding experiences - even my 12 year old son who is not keen on horses voted it his best experience in Iceland. They provide all warm clothing, helmets and gloves. Riding Icelandic ponies is an unique experience. Next year Ragga are offering overnight treks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Complete beginners experience viking horse riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Whilst researching things to do in Iceland we came across the horse riding tours, which seemed a great way to see this amazing place. We found Viking Horses and emailed them to book a tour! Myself and my husband have never been horse riding before, so this was to be a new experience. From booking the tour online with Ragga to collection and the journey to the stables was all stress free and very easy. On arriving at the stables we were given a good introduction to the horses and information on how to ride the horses. Ragga the owner was very experienced and had some amazing horses for us to ride, I was a bit nervous about riding however we had 2 guides in a small group, so we felt we were looked after the whole time and really enjoyed the experience. There was a another older couple in our group and one lady was a bit more adventurous, therefore Ragga took the lady for a quicker ride, whilst the rest of the group made our way more slowly back to the stables. This experience was absolutely brilliant and really suitable for anyone of any age and riding ability, as long as your up for the ride Ragga and the staff will make sure you have a great experience - Thank you again to Viking Horses for an unforgettable experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Horses - Day Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 

Been to Viking Horses - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Horses - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Viking Horses - Day Tours to your Saves list