We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Tower
Smaratorg 3, Kopavogur, Reykjavik 201, Iceland
5757500
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
IPSWICH
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

From the top of the cathedral tower you get super views - there was a lift to nearly the top cost 700 korna

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rangoon, Burma
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the few bucks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Totally worth it. Money goes to good cause - very good view and sense of the city. Organ is amazing. Odd place - not nearly as nice as a "cathedral" but I'd call it a must see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view not so great food and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have gone several times to this restaurant. The food has never wow me. Last time I went the lettuce was brown in the salad bowl and the service was slow. If this restaurant did not have such a great view I doubt that people would go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopavogur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“On top of Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the best buffet restaurant in the Reykjavik area. Spectacular view and friendly service. There is a variety of fresh starters, sushi, salads and meat or fish to choose from. I can recommend this place from the bottom of my tastebuds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visited The Tower restaurant for the first time for Christmas brunch during a weekend break.The restaurant is on the 19th. floor in Smáralind in Kópavogur, a suberb of greater Reykjavík. The views were stunning. The restaurant has a 270° view and one can see over the Reykjanes peninsula and across the bay to Snæfelsness. The brunch buffet started with Lobster bisque, there was a separate buffet area for other starters, one for main dishes and a huge selection of deserts. Excellent professional service, great food and very a very relaxed atmosphere made the meal most memorable and I will definitely return some day to try their evening menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tower also viewed

 
Kopavogur, Reykjavik
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.