We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dinner - Best in Sicily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Conzu

U Conzu
Via Soccorso 27, 95029 Viagrande, Sicily, Italy
+39 095 789 5319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Viagrande
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner - Best in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our trip around Sicily and had a fantastic night. We went on a Thursday night without a reservation and didn't have trouble getting a table. We were greeted by Salvatore, who was our wonderful waiter for the evening. Salvatore spoke English which was a wonderful help as he explained all of the dishes as they came out. The menu is a set €25 for a huge amount of food, drinks, dessert and after dinner drinks. This is amazing value especially for food and wine of this quality! The meal included 13 starters, 3 pasta dishes, 3 meat dishes (which we had to politely decline as we were too full) and dessert. The ravioli with creamy pistachio sauce was incredible!!! All night we experienced outstanding and friendly service! We had a wonderful night and definitely won't forget this meal. Trust me, you won't leave hungry!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    47
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tipical Sicilian dinning exprience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to U Cunzo for lunch. It was a great dinning experience. This is restaurant with a lot of character...the building was a wine press in the early 1800's! There was no menu, it was all home style Sicilian cooking. The service was excellent as was the food. highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyteleafe, Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb Sicilian Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found this restaurant through Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. Having spent a week in Sicily, we had generally found the food to be disappointing and, in some cases, expensive for what we got. Having booked a table we arrived to a very warm welcome from our host and opted to go for the typical Sicilian menu. The notice on the door said that there was a choice of 13 starters, 3 first courses, 3 second courses, dessert, coffee and wine included. What we didn't realise was that we were going to get all of this! First advice - go hungry! That said, the selection of starters which included fantastic courgettes with cheese, aubergines, peppers, cheese, salami, mushrooms, and many more, were brilliant.

The three first courses were pasta and risotto and again were fantastic. Pistachio ravioli is a must! The three second courses were meats of varying types and flavours which again were delicious. Desert, a typical Sicilian dessert was a hit. Coffee and local wine accompanied the meal and the whole bill for four of us came to €100. This was one of the most inexpensive meals we had in Sicily and by far one of the best.

The ambiance in this converted wine press is superb, the friendly but unobtrusive service and the general atmosphere make this an excellent place to eat. Superb evening in a great restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALVO80Acicatena, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
                        Thank you for your review.
I renew my invitation to come back to enjoy Sicilian cuisine.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our faith has been restored in Sicilian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited this resturant not knowing quiet what to expect.So far except for a resturant in. our experience of food in Sicily has not been good unless you like pizza
This resturant has totally restored our faith in Sicillian food. The venue is amazing being an old winery it has a large wine press still in situ.We were a party of four people and we chose the all inclusive menu ,incredible! The menu consisted of 13 starter dishes followed by 3 antipasti dishes then 3 main course and finally 2 deserts these were not choices ,you got them all.This was washed down with about 2.5 litres of wine and two litres of sparkling water for the total sum for 4 people of €100.!!!!!!!! The young man who served us was great and worked extreemly hard he spoke some English and Spanish so discussion about the food was no proplem.It is essential to go to this resturant hungry otherwise you will not do the food justice.The interesting thing is that we would not have chosen many of the dishes if it had been an al á carte menue but we enjoyed everything I can highly recommend this resturant

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALVO80Acicatena, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
                        Thank you for your review.
I renew my invitation to come back to enjoy Sicilian cuisine.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelo Branco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Just spent an incredible evening at U Conzu. It is a very cozy, traditional style restaurant that serves fantastic food. The waiter was very attentive and helpful. I can't recommend it high enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALVO80Acicatena, Direttore at U Conzu, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review, the invitation to do other reviews to his friends, and above all I hope to see you again. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Conzu also viewed

Viagrande, Province of Catania
Viagrande, Province of Catania
 
Viagrande, Province of Catania
Valverde, Province of Catania
 

Been to U Conzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Conzu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.