We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 4, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castel di Tusa
Catania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place in magic, atmosphere and location are unique.
Our room is "terra e fuoco", in front of the beach, you sleep with the sound of the sea and wake eith by the raylights that come from throught the big window, placed just in front of the bed. For magic moments and dreaming! Suggested!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare and that you were especially enjoyed the atmosphere of dreaming atmosphere the art room offered to you. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Atelier sul Mare.

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    65
    32
    10
    32
See reviews for
37
131
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were a party of 4 that made prior reservations for 2 rooms for 2 nights. Our plans changed so we had to cancel one night. Instead of canceling one night they put us for 4 rooms in one night. When we checked in we explained that Yes, we wanted only one night, but only 2 rooms for 2 married couples. Even though they had our names all along for 2 rooms, they refused to credit us for the other 2 rooms and yet they did not offer for us to stay in 4 rooms. WHen I talked to the manager the next day, they said we were only allowed the 2 rooms, even though we had to pay for 4 on the same night. Very frustrating, and certainly felt ripped off. There was nothing special about the hotel, and after 3 weeks in Sicily, I can say that this was our only situation where I did not trust the people. There are other, better places to stay in the close vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment. I remind you writing a review doesn’t mean real facts. First of all, remember that you booked the room using two different booking circuits (Booking.com and Expedia.com). This has already created a mess up and a miss understanding, and any issues arose is only your responsibility. It's not absolutely true that you paid 4 rooms for one night. You only paid the reservation made through Booking.com for no.2 special price rooms for € 70.00 per night (total € 140.00). There was no payment on Expedia.com since the reservation was canceled. I hope you now understand that dishonesty does not belong to our staff. In addition, the reception staff was so kind giving you, for the same price as gift, two art rooms (The desert room and Lunaria-Countryside without name). You say there was nothing special about the hotel. It should be blind do not understand the beauty of Atelier sul mare and the town where it’s located, one of the best and beautiful bay of Sicily. The Atelier sul Mare represents the fusion between the best tradition of the hospitality and the fascinating conception of contemporary art in constant evolution. The museum Atelier sul Mare has a revolutionary concept of "living art". The rooms of the hotel have been given to international artists who have transformed them in art works. Our guests are very sensitive and emotionally about contemporary art, perceptions, I would respectfully say, do not deserve you. We understand that you didn’t like our property. What we regret most is the offensive and insolent tone used in writing this review, that doesn’t match in any way the truth and does not correspond to the reality of our museum-hotel. Now I recommend you that next time you’d like to express an opinion, please think a little more before accuse people who work to be always attentive, kind, and ready to offer the best support to our guests.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The most ludicrously designed hotel ever? We had booked a standard room, but on arrival were offered an 'art room'. After declining one with black walls and triangular bed,and another predominantly in pillar-box red, we accepted one with a giant concrete scroll across the ceiling and a bathroom like a gloomy, underlit rocky grotto. We soon wished we had stuck to a standard room. The bed was entirely freestanding - no bedside tables, no lamps, also no chairs, no drawer space, no phone, no TV. I nearly knocked myself out on an artistically projecting slab of wall. The narrow serpentining corridor was unlit until the reception desk decided it was time to switch on the lights, which made it virtually impossible to see to put the key in the door. There was no restaurant or bar, and out of season there seems to be just one restaurant open in the vlllage. Very quiet at night, at least once the trains have stopped rattling past the rear of the hotel. Adequate breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Kunde,
ihr Kommentar bezueglich der Unterkunft, sehr fraglich und persoenlich, entspricht nicht im Geringsten unserer Art und Weise Gaeste zu behandeln. Wir bitten Sie deshalb uns direkt anzusprechen um das Problem zu loesen.
Ich moechte Sie des Weiteren daran erinnern, dass es eine Rezeption gibt, an der Sie jederzeit nach einem anderen Zimmer fragen konnten, wenn das Ihre eventuell zu laut war. Ich schliesse allerdings Renovierungslaerm aus und kann mir nicht vorstellen, wo und wie ein solcher Laerm erzeugt wurde.
Das Personal ist nicht verpflichtet Sie an Uhrzeit und Ort des Fruehstuecks zu erinnern, da in Italien das Fruehstueck immer im Preis inbegriffen ist und von 7:30 - 10:00 Uhr angeboten wird.
Ich moechte Sie auch darauf aufmerkasam machen, dass das Hamman (Sauna) ein besonderes Angebot ist, das extra gebucht werden muss.
Desweiteren moechte ich Sie erinnern, dass das Kunsthotel 'Atelier sulMare' nach einem revoluzionaeren Konzept fuer Kunstgenuss entstanden ist. Die Raeume des Hotels wurden in die Haende der Kuenstler gegeben, die sie dann zu einem Kunstwerk verwandelt haben. Und das ist die Neuigkeit, die Kunstwerke sind nicht statisch sondern verwandeln sich mit ihrem Nutzer. Kunst ist freie Wahrnehmung und Tische und Schraenke befinden sich in allen Zimmern, man muss sie nur entdecken und verstehen wie sie zu nutzen sind. Ein Fernseher hat in einem Museum fuer zeitgenoessische Kunst keinen Sinn, wird zum Stoerfaktor, aber das versteht sich von selbst.
Ich schliesse meine Antwort auf Ihren Kommentar, indem ich Sie erinnere, dass das, was fuer Sie 'heruntergekommen' oder 'jugendherbergsstil' bedeutet, fuer viele Andere (und das sind wirklich sehr viele) eine Quelle zum Traeumen, Staunen aber auch Nachdenken bedeutet. Man muss die zeitgenoessische Kunst verstehen, um sie schaetzen zu koennen, und es tut mir leid, dass Sie diese Sensibilitaet wohl nicht besitzen. Die Schoenheit der Kunst liegt ausserhalb der gierigen, blinden Welt der menschlichen Schranken.

herzliche Grüße

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just stayed one night and got mixed impressions:

Pro:
- Nice location directly at the beachfront / nice views
- Friendly personnel
- Very clean

contra:
- Relatively far away from Cefalu (takes at least 20min by car); no other relevant sights around
- Basic room; felt a little like in a youth hostel
- Quite noisy when we stayed there (people talking until late in the night in front of our balcony (bar), some constructions going on on the beach, somebody hammering next door at 8:00 in the morning)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear customer,
thanks a lot for your comment. It’s very important for us understand our customer needs and typology. However, let me just say something: We would like our customers choose the Museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare because they appreciate being immersed in contemporary art, amazing landscapes and a spiritual journey through art, and not because Cefalù is nearby. I have to contradict you, but maybe you have not understand that the art rooms are created by international artists, and the standard rooms (that you have chosen) are gallery of contemporary art with amazing masterpiece. Consider the museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare a youth hostel is an extreme offense and give further evidence that you don’t have the sensitiveness of contemporary art. I apologize for the people talking until late in the night, even though there is no bar in front the museum-hotel. You could advise the reception to resolve this issue. I apologize for the noise and the hammering due to the strengthening of the front beach, but we don’t have control of these temporary labor work, therefore you should complain with the municipality of Castel di Tusa, and not with us.

My best regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July. I don't remember exactly why our travel planner picked this place but I was intrigued from the start. Being an artist myself, staying in such a creative hotel had me wondering if this place could possibly live up to what I was reading about and viewing on their web site.

From the moment we got there after a 1.5 drive from the airport we were transported into another world where every day live as we knew it would leave and be replaced with absolutely one of the most beautiful little sea side fishing towns that you can imagine. Castel de Tusa is what you can only experience because reading about it and photos just don't do it justice.

When we arrived (a little earlier than check-in) our room wasn't ready. Rather than tell us to come back later, we were greeted by a man named Claudio who proceeded to give us a tour of the hotel and the surrounding area. From that point on I knew we were starting somewhere special. Since three of the art rooms were available we were told we could pick any one or stay in a different one each night if we preferred. Who does this sort of thing? Only a place that cares about you staying there and having the best of everything they have to offer. Claudio who became our friend through this trip made sure we had fresh fruit waiting for us in the room, while we settled at a table near the beach and proceeded to have our first bottle of the local Pinot Grigio.

The outdoor restaurant I could write a whole review about. Every day the menu changes and there were 3 dinner flights to choose from. These were written on a chalk board outside. We really wanted to try different places to eat in the area but after our first meal here we ended up eating at the hotel almost every night. The generous breakfast buffet comes free as part of your stay.

There is an art studio on the bottom floor where there are classes, tours of the surrounding area and free chairs and towels for the beach. Also tours of the hotel where you can view the many varied and creative rooms so you can plan ahead for your next stay.

All I can say is I felt like we stayed a week with people who truly treated us like family. We have a vacation to France planned for 2013 but I promised we will be back in 2014. Only this time we will stay there for 2 weeks and explorer this incredible town and the rest of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room, "The mouth of the truth". Probably one of the more conservative wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Owner at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear guest,
on behalf of the staff (cordial greetings by Claudio), I thank you a lot for the wonderful comment about the Museum Atelier sul Mare. Your positive review feels us so happy, and makes the mission of Antonio Presti, the artist who created this reality, a real success. The philosophy of the museum is to afford lodging to the traveler's spirit, by means of the contemporary art to be found in the art rooms to the tune of “Devotion to Beauty”, which greets the visitor to the lobby. As Antonio Presti says : “It’s only entering and living in a room that the artwork will be fully appreciated ; the presence, the use of the room will be a fundamental part of the artwork”, and you have understood this concept perfectly. we look forward to see you again to live again the dream of contemporary art, living the art rooms for a long time to better enjoy the creativity of our artists. Rooms with round and revolving beds, doors that open like a revolving bridge, labyrinths of mirrors, baths dug out in rocks with real cascades of water..., etc. etc, are not special effects, but it is the opportunity to live an extraordinary moment that only art can give.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you will go in Sicily you can't skip this place. It's not a simple "art hotel" is a "masterpiece of contemporary art!". I visited it last august. More than 20 rooms have been designed by famous contemporary artists. An idea of a genial man: Antonio Presti. Its claim is "devotion to beauty". The rooms are works of art. The price is ridiculous for what you could see and where you could be! into a masterpiece! part of it! Castel di Tusa beach
is fantastic!

Room Tip: "Su barca di carta m'imbarco" room by Maria LAi "la stanza del profeta" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear customer,
thank you for your lovely words regarding Atelier sul Mare. It was pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the mission of our museum-hotel: transmitting the beauty of contemporary art to our customers. Comments as yours let help others understand how special is the place. We wish to welcome you back to enjoy again our facility.
My best regard

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/ Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury hotel will all comforts and amenities, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate being immersed in art, amazing landscapes and a spiritual experience, you can't miss it!
The rooms created by various artists and supervised by the visionary owner Antonio Presti (an artist himself) are AMAZING, I could not choose which one I liked best because each one offered a completely different experience. It is, actually, like sleeping ina museum installation in a stimulating, inspiring and mystical atmosphere.

The rooms do not have a fridge and some amenities are actually missing, but it's absolutely unimportant in my opinion; all you really need is there: toilet, shower, towels, sheets, a good restaurant and unbelievable views of the sea from the windows. Besides, the beach is exactly in front of the hotel and the water is splendid.

Plus: if you have a car you can have an artistic tour of the surroundings of Tusa and check out the outdoor installations erected by the Fiumara d'Arte Foundation: the Pyramid (visible from the hotel) overlooks the sea and is extraordinary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We would like to thank you for your excellent comment concerning your stay at Museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare in Castel di Tusa. We really appreciate your authentic and honest words. You have understand perfectly that Atelier sul Mare is not an Hotel, but is the possibility to sleep in a museum. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent time at Atelier sul Mare, and we hope we'll meet you in the future again. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time - we will be pleased to be by your side. We are very much looking for customers like you.

with best regards,
Direction
Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 4, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castel di Tusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Castel di Tusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Escapio and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Sul Mare Messina
Hotel Atelier Sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier Sul Mare Sicily/Castel Di Tusa, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.