We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art hotel is unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare to your Saves list
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 4, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel di Tusa
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Art hotel is unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you will go in Sicily you can't skip this place. It's not a simple "art hotel" is a "masterpiece of contemporary art!". I visited it last august. More than 20 rooms have been designed by famous contemporary artists. An idea of a genial man: Antonio Presti. Its claim is "devotion to beauty". The rooms are works of art. The price is ridiculous for what you could see and where you could be! into a masterpiece! part of it! Castel di Tusa beach
is fantastic!

Room Tip: "Su barca di carta m'imbarco" room by Maria LAi "la stanza del profeta" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear customer,
thank you for your lovely words regarding Atelier sul Mare. It was pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the mission of our museum-hotel: transmitting the beauty of contemporary art to our customers. Comments as yours let help others understand how special is the place. We wish to welcome you back to enjoy again our facility.
My best regard

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/ Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    78
    38
    11
    34
See reviews for
43
156
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rome, italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury hotel will all comforts and amenities, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate being immersed in art, amazing landscapes and a spiritual experience, you can't miss it!
The rooms created by various artists and supervised by the visionary owner Antonio Presti (an artist himself) are AMAZING, I could not choose which one I liked best because each one offered a completely different experience. It is, actually, like sleeping ina museum installation in a stimulating, inspiring and mystical atmosphere.

The rooms do not have a fridge and some amenities are actually missing, but it's absolutely unimportant in my opinion; all you really need is there: toilet, shower, towels, sheets, a good restaurant and unbelievable views of the sea from the windows. Besides, the beach is exactly in front of the hotel and the water is splendid.

Plus: if you have a car you can have an artistic tour of the surroundings of Tusa and check out the outdoor installations erected by the Fiumara d'Arte Foundation: the Pyramid (visible from the hotel) overlooks the sea and is extraordinary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We would like to thank you for your excellent comment concerning your stay at Museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare in Castel di Tusa. We really appreciate your authentic and honest words. You have understand perfectly that Atelier sul Mare is not an Hotel, but is the possibility to sleep in a museum. We are glad to hear that you had an excellent time at Atelier sul Mare, and we hope we'll meet you in the future again. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time - we will be pleased to be by your side. We are very much looking for customers like you.

with best regards,
Direction
Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Be sure to get a tour of the art rooms. Each is a fascinating work of art. But be sure to stay in a standard room. It will be more comfortable and more practical--closet & shelves for example. It will be full of interesting individual works of art. And it's cheaper. It was pretty quiet in May, to our delight. Probably more exciting in season.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear customer,
Thanks a lot for your review. You had a unique experience living at Museum Atelier sul Mare. Of course, the full customer experience depends upon the personal view of art. The art rooms are certainly unusual, they are designed to include the guest as part of the creation, and you have totally understood the sense. Thanks for your note about the odor of cigarette smoke, even though our personnel don’t smoke. I’ll take your advice. I apologize for the strong odor of paint, but this year we just inaugurated two new art rooms: “The room of light” and “The pyramid room”. Apart these drawbacks, I would be happy to see you again at Museum Atelier sul Mare, and give you the possibility of a new experience of art.

My best regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/ Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Once arrived in front of this hotel, you understand that you are about to begin an experience.
Emotions, admiration, ... You are definitely in a place where Art is its heart.
We loved the Trinacria room.
What we liked: The unicity of the art-hotel, the beauty of the rooms (Camera d'arte),
the ideal position of the hotel (in front of the sea)
What we would have prefered: That all services were operating (but, it was the very begining of the season, and therefore certainly understandable).

Room Tip: Camere d'arte
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear customer,
Thanks a lot for your excellent and positive comment. You have experienced the possibility to dream inside a museum and fall asleep in an artwork.
Next time I’m sure you’ll find all the services operating and don’t miss the chance to explore the largest outdoor sculpture museum in Europe, Fiumara d'Arte. Its few kms from the museum. Our personnel will provide to give you the map to find easily the sculptures located in the Valley of Nebrodi.

My best regard

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a strange but interesting hotel. Especially if you are not an artist. There were no standard rooms available so we selected the least strange of the rooms we were shown. The room was painted completely black. No furniture except a type of bed fastened to the wall. Heavy concrete or iron doors. The room key was some type of gear from a small machine. It was a clever design. I imagined living in a medieval castle. One of the nights we had a storm and the power went out three times. No internet the entire duration of our stay. We were told that it was due to bad weather. Even on sunny days. The staff was moderately attentive but did not go out of their way, or make any extra effort. Breakfast was adequate. Noise level was high from lobby area along with strong odor of cigarette smoke in the building, mostly coming from the hotel office. Some rooms were being painted so there was a strong odor of paint. It was an interesting experience. However, I would not return.

Room Tip: Ask to view the rooms before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear customer,
Thanks a lot for your review. You had a unique experience living at Museum Atelier sul Mare. Of course, the full customer experience depends upon the personal view of art. The art rooms are certainly unusual, they are designed to include the guest as part of the creation, and you have totally understood the sense. I’ll take your note about the odor of cigarette smoke, even though our personnel don’t smoke. Thanks for your advice. I apologize for the strong odor of paint, but this year we just inaugurated two new art rooms: “The room of light” and “The pyramid room”. Apart these drawbacks, I would be happy to see you again at Museum Atelier sul Mare, and give you the possibility of a new experience of art.

My best regards

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Staying in the Ateliersulmare art hotel was a little like staying in a modern art museum. Thankfully they had some good signage to direct our car down to the hotel because we would have missed it otherwise. The hotel was being renovated while we were there and we were the only ones staying here. We chose the water bearers art room which i think was the best one. You'll have to look at their website to get a full sense of what the rooms look like. We had a great view out to the ocean just outside the window. The bed was large and comfortable. But, since it was an art room, it wasn't like your typical hotel room with all the storage amenities you might be used to. We only stayed here one night and there was no room to unpack anything. Also, there was no bedside lamp because it would have detracted from the art room, so we used our phones to get from the lightswitch to bed. We met the artist who designed our room the next morning and even got a tour of all the other art rooms at the hotel.

We were glad we stayed here since it was a unique experience, but it wasn't worth staying more than one night. Castel di tusa doesn't have much to offer in terms of food so we ended up driving to Tusa and getting lost before we found some food.

The beach just outside the hotel was amazing to wake up to. We just opened our eyes and could see the waves from our bed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the water bearers room. This room has a huge shower and great views to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear customer,
I’m happy you appreciated the room you have chosen. The water bearers room is a sweet room, therefore you can decide to live in different environments. The room carpeted of aluminum has an enormous bed and a lot of lights, while in the copper room, for politics of beauty, the light is denied. The only way to have some light is turning on the candles that float in a source of water, and here you go, the beauty appears: the reflexes of the water, the light of the candles on the copper walls, create a suggestive atmosphere. Do you think you still need a bedside lamp? I'm sure not.
To unpack suitcases there are enough supports all over the rooms, perhaps they are not noticed because they belong to the room architecture. Castel di Tusa is a fishermen village, but you can find a few restaurants. However, in few kilometers you find S.Stefano di Camastra (7km), Castelbuono (14km), Cefalú (11km)) and many other places. I hope to see you again in our Museum.

My best regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 4, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castel di Tusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel di Tusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Escapio, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Sul Mare Messina
Hotel Atelier Sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier Sul Mare Sicily/Castel Di Tusa, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.