We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Sicilian surroundings and hospitality, we loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria Maggiore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castel di Tusa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masseria Maggiore
Contrada Stranghi | Pettineo, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Santander, Spain
1 review
“Incredible Sicilian surroundings and hospitality, we loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We spent 9 nights at this very nice 16th Century Old Sicilian House with a strong family roots, made of stone and with very comfortable rooms, beautiful surroundings with olive trees, mountains and typical coast towns nearby. My wife and I travelled with 3 kids and we enjoyed the home-made breakfast and food, the pool, peaceful environment and obviously all the towns close to the Masseria, specially Cefalu, Tusa and other small beach sites along the coast throught the state highway. The owners Rosalba and Giuglio take care of everything and really make you feel very comfortable at their place. They are very kind, warm, and always interested in make you feel like at home, besides of advicing you of interesting things to do and towns to visit around.
The typical Sicilian cuisine with the local products was simple delicious, sun-dried tomatoes, home made pasta & olive oil, red-orange juice, regional bread, and all kinds of locally growned fruits. We strongly recommend this place, even for travelling without kids, since you will simple love it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sittard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a lovely stay for 13 nights in the Colonnica appartment. We're used to visit agriturismos, but Masseria Maggiore really goes beyond each expectation.

It's located in a lovely valley with seaside view. It's a perfect location to visit the other parts of the great Sicilian island. The appartments are very complete, each with it's own historical characteristics. The fantastic and very large pool is surrounded by olive trees.

Rosalba and Giulio are a very warm and gentile couple that ensures that each and every customer need will be met.

The day starts with a lovely breakfast. The home made marmelades taste great. The bread is being baked by a local in a wooden oven who uses the wood from the olive trees of the Masseria Maggiore which ensures a magnificent taste.

Rosalba and Giulio offer the possibility to have a great 5 course diner including drinks. Most of the ingredients used are home made or being produced by local craftsmen (like a cheese farmer). The quality and ambiance is astonishing and surpasses the quality of many restaurants.

Very special for us was that they took care of my pregnant wife as if she was their own daughter by preparing separate dishes when having dinner (or even with breakfast).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have just come back from 2 weeks in Sicily with a week spent at the Masseria Maggiore and loved it. From the moment we arrived Rosalba the owner was there to greet us and made us feel at home. The site is difficult to find down a bumpy track but well worth it when you get there. The buildings have been converted to a high standard in sympathy with the surroundings and the pool is great. However that is only half the storey as Rosalba and her husband are dedicated to looking after their guests superbly and the food was amazing. We happened to be the only guests on 3 of the nights when we ate there and they could not do enough for us. Rosalba is passionate about cooking and tells you how it is cooked and her meals are on a par with a top London restaurant.
It is a great base to explore the northern coast and set in a valley between 2 national parks with lovely mountain top villages to visit. We were very sad to leave and would definately consider returning

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last summer, during a tour of Sicily. We stayed for 3 nights, but on retrospection felt like we should have extended our stay by another night. We had meals cooked by Rosalba on most evenings. She was extremely creative in accomodating for my vegetarian palate. We couldn't finish all the food - there was so much!
We stayed in the big room with the grape pressing area, it was lovely and very cool. We were worried about needing air-con before we arrived, but true enough the stone walls keep it at a perfect temperature.
Rosalba and her husband have lovingly restored the entire place, and maintained the rustic feel.
We spent some time around the areas nearby, such as Cefalu, Palermo etc.

We'd love to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

we were directed here by the wonderful and much used by us www.thinksicily.com
wonderful family run farm lik environment in the heart of sicily.
the family and staff were absolutely amazing.
my husband and I have always sworn B+B's were our worst nightmare....well this proves me wrong.
our wonderful host was the most lovely woman who has hot perfect balance between being warm and helpful without being intrusive and ever present.
she is the most wonderful cook. that's an understatement.
she offers 3 course dinners with wine...all produce either organic or from her own gardens.
we would have done that every night (it was so inexpensive) if we could have, but with a four year old, we took avantage of the full kitchen in our apartment (there is one "room" of the accommodation set up for self catering...a kind of one bedroom apartment).
honestly, her food is spectacular.
very relaxing place to just hang out, with a lovely pool. low key.
good place to do day trips from.
breakfast of course was also wonderful....the home made jams offered (all 8 of them) were all individually home made from fruit form their trees!
and fresh baked cake every morning.
we spent 4 nights, and it was just what the doctor ordered.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had splashed out as we were staying with friends the rest of the time. The accomodation was very spacious and typically Sicilian. Rosalba and her family are extremely helpful and the best thing about the place is the home cooked meals that she offers. They are billed as 3 courses but that doesnt include the fruit and home made liqueur, it was really great traditional cooking, I was only gutted to miss the tiramisu the one night we didnt eat there!

one note of caution, we stayed in Casa Collonica with our toddler which was perfect from the perspective of letting him sleep in the second room (kitchenette/living area) but was up steep steps from the other accommodation and wasnt very safe should he have managed to get outside on his own as it is not enclosed. However he loved the cows and cowbells and the horse and the special treatment at breakfast from Rosalba's staff who love kids!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed four nights here as part of a trip around Europe. We had the Frantoio room with the olive press and found it extremely comfortable. Rosalba and her family have done a lovely job of renovating these old buildings - each has it's own character. The dinners were excellent - we didn't bother venturing elsewhere for meals - delicious Sicilian food well cooked - and extremely good value at 35 euros per person including wine. Breakfast was simple but very tasty - fruit, yoghurts toasts and home made cakes and pastries, fresh orange juice and good coffee. With a lovely pool it really is an ideal place in which to relax and unwind. The drive is quite long and bumpy, but once at the bottom the position is very peaceful. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Masseria Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Maggiore

Address: Contrada Stranghi | Pettineo, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castel di Tusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Castel di Tusa
Also Known As:
Masseria Maggiore Sicily/Castel Di Tusa, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria Maggiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Masseria Maggiore to your Saves list