We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gagliardi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Gagliardi to your Saves list
Casa Gagliardi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Loc 11, 37010 Assenza, Brenzone, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Assenza
MplsMN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We couldn't have been more please. The rooms are clean and very nice and ours (room 4) had a balcony. The location and view were terrific! And the breakfast the exceeded our expectations. It was very confusing to figure out the best area on the lake to stay. But we are so happy we stayed here. Assensza is a town on the Brenzone area. It's mid-lake on the eastern side. This side of the lake is much quieter than the western side and you can walk all along the lake.

Room Tip: We had room 4 but all of the rooms on that side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Casa Gagliardi is located along the 'narrower' part of Lake Garda roughly half-way between Garda itself towards the bottom end and Torbole and Riva at the top end of the lake. The views from its elevated position are simply stunning and we totally endorse what someone else said in that we too could have gazed at the scenic backdrop for hours and hours. We arrived by car but there is a good bus service in both directions from the stop at the bottom of the - very steep - hill so you could get around fairly easily without one. Parking is available on-site so no worries there although the steepness of the hill and the subsequent tight turn into the car park can be a bit tricky especially after dark or if it's wet. The hotel is nicely presented throughout and the staff are friendly and happy to help with directions etc. The included breakfast was very good indeed with a nice selection of pretty much everything you need to set you up for the day ahead. Locally there are at least 2 or 3 good restaurants that are all within easy walking distance - so whoever said there was nowhere to eat simply could not have even left the building. Further away in Malcesine there are loads and loads of places to eat and overall it is impossible not to find somewhere different every night. While we were there a ferry stopped at the local pier twice a day and allowed us to see the lake from the best vantage point. Alternatively there are a lot more ferries departing from Malcesine to all points north and south and spending a day on the lake stopping off at 3 or 4 different villages is a wonderful experience. We also drove up to and through the Dolomites and although we covered around 250 miles it was utterly breathtaking and well worth the effort. A trip to the city of Verona is also highly recommended as is a visit to Sirmione although in the case of the latter it does get very crowded so go early in the day to avoid the mayhem. Overall Casa Gagliardi was a very pleasant place to spend 5 nights and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very good place to stay, perfect breakfast, clean room, a little too small, but that was not the problem.Will stay next time for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

this place was our first stop in our tour to the nourth of italy and was the best place to stay in.we felt almost like being in our own home.the staff was so kind and friendly and having breakfast was an experience the room is facing the lake and the distance to monte baldo and malcesine is 5 minutes away.dont hesitate it is really wourth a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This place is a little piece of heaven. The views phenomenal. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms quiet, and really clean. Breakfast great. Excellent value. I reiterate what the other positive reviews have said. Can't fault it, THANKYOU

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

As we took our first steps into the room, we were greeted with an expansive view of Lake Garda, the amazing Italian Alps and Casa Gagliardi's nice little courtyard. I could've sat on that balcony for days! As others have mentioned, the price was extremely reasonable, and the whole place looks like it's been recently renovated. We stayed in the "Triple Lake View" and we couldn't have been happier. Three things really stuck out. First was the service. We mentioned, while we were checking in, that we were especially interested in "that castle up in Malcesine" and if she knew anything about it (our son has toured quite a few castles in Europe). The next time we passed the desk--she had a ton of information about castles in the area, and she had called to get the opening and closing hours of that particular castle. Wow, what a nice surprise that was! The second thing that struck us, as I mentioned already, was the amazing view and balcony. And the third, without question, was the best breakfast we had during our entire trip to Italy! A pitcher of homemade hot chocolate. A single cappuccino made just for us. Soft-boiled eggs, presented in egg cups. Scrambled eggs for Dad who doesn't want to experiment. A little sliced prosciutto and melon. Great service. Wow. Oh and here are a couple of hints: Remember to tell them ahead of time if you'll be bringing a car and need to park--they've got space out front but they need to know beforehand. Plus there's a surprising little "supermarket" just down the hill. From the outside it looks almost like a hardware store, but walk inside and it really turns out to be a neighborhood grocery store! Very cool. We chose Casa Gagliari based entirely on Tripadvisor reviews and we feel it was a great choice. We weren't interested in the night life of some of the Lake Garda towns, so paying higher prices to be within walking distance of those locations was not on our wish list. By the way, we LOVED our drive through the Italian Alps, the drive along Lake Garda was completely cool, and the visit to the castle in Malcesine was a lot of fun--especially climbing the bell tower (be careful if you're up there at the top of the hour :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed 10 days at Casa Gagliardi in June - we picked this accomodation from the write ups on Tripadvisor. As far as we are concerned this is a hidden gem of a hotel - no loud music - just peace and quiet - sheer bliss, and only 100m or so from Assenza Lakeside. The room and bathroom were very clean, big enough and cleaned everyday - we had a balcony overlooking the lake which we enjoyed while sipping the local Prosecco. Breakfast was very filling with a good range of cereals, fruit, cold meats, eggs, cheese to satisfy the heartiest appetite. Irene and her husband Marco were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them (including helping to break the lock of my suitcase when I accidentally locked the key inside the case!)

Most guests in the hotel arrived by car - there are good parking facilities in the hotel and it is a good base for travelling around. We chose not to hire a car and had no problem visiting all the towns around the lake - there is a good bus service to all areas - tickets can be bought at the local bar at the front of the lake.

We also took the ferry across to Salo and enjoyed a day sightseeing. We also went to the opera in Verona and a day to Venice - all arranged at a local agent in Malcesine - (a picturesque town - 15mins by bus) very reasonable inclusive of tickets, coach and guide.

We made one small mistake when we initially arrived at the train station in Perschiera del Garda - the bus stop is immediately outside the station to the right - however we had just missed one which meant a 1.5 hour wait at that time of day (Saturday 6pm). When the bus eventually arrived we got off at the wrong bus stop for the hotel - we thought it was Brenzone - it is actually Assenza (which is a few stops afterwards - the hotel is very well signposted from the Assenza bus stop).

Marco was fantastic and came to our rescue and picked us up in his taxi.

About Marco:
He is a very interesting man with great knowledge about the area, and has lived around Riva Del Garda / Brenzone all his life. It was great talking to him in depth about the history of the Lake Garda area, and Northern Italy. Marco is chairman of the Brenzone Toursist board, and is heavily involved developing tourist in the region.
About Irene:
Irene is Marco's Cuban born wife, who has since had to master Italian, German, English, Belgian in addition to her native Spanish (sometimes all at the same time!) in order to be able to communicate with the various nationalities of guests who stay at the Hotel. The one thing we'll remember was her constant smile, she was very friendly.

All in all we had a great holiday and would definitely go back to Casa Gagliardi again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gagliardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gagliardi

Address: Via de Loc 11, 37010 Assenza, Brenzone, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Brenzone > Assenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Assenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Gagliardi 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Gagliardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gagliardi Brenzone
Casa Gagliardi Hotel Brenzone
Casa Gagliardi Assenza, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gagliardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.