We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Moricciani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelmuzio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Moricciani
Save
You added Casa Moricciani to your Saves list
Via Gaetano Milanesi, 13, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Eastham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've traveled to Italy many times, been to many fabulous amazing and beautiful spots. Simply my favorite travel destination. Casa Moricciani was the most perfect place I have ever stayed.
The villa is the perfect combination of classic and modern Italian. All the upgrades are exactly what you would hope. Every detail is thought through. Isabella, Carlo, Carlotta and the family offer such a fantastic array of adventures and eating, though you could just as easily stay at the Villa, and have Carlo deliver the morning pastries and spend the day lost in the view. It's the most charming wonderful relaxing place. GO!!!

Room Tip: Each room is a gem..can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Ciao Roberta,

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed the villa, the details that we have put there, and that you like the combination of "classic and modern Italian"--because that is exactly what we have tried to achieve. We wanted the "feel" of classic Tuscan decor--and specifically an elegance that invites you to be comfortable and "to be at home"--but with modern technology in its systems (lighting, appliances, water system, sound, Internet). All of the modern things should really almost be "silent" in order that they allow the Tuscan experience to be primary: the beauty, the view, the cuisine, the wine, the slow pace, the people.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your stay, and your review more than we can express.

Grazie mille,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Casa Moricciani in the summer of 2012 for about a week and I can only describe the experience as AMAZING to the degree that I contemplated not writing this public review so that the place can remain a secret heaven for me and my husband (I know, it's selfish...).

I traveled with my husband and two other friends and rented the whole ground floor of the villa which had two gorgeous rooms and a beautiful garden with a magnificent and unobstructed view of the Val D'Orcia. Coming from Hong Kong where we live surrounded by tall buildings and busy streets, just the view alone made me almost tear up with joy!

Now the inside of the villa - all my friends travelled extensively across the globe and had stayed at numerous 5 star hotels and villas, but Casa Moricciani is no doubt among the best of the best. Every piece of furniture, decorative items, art pieces were so thoughtfully put-together. It was not only pleasing to the eye but also super functional and practical. The place had the charm of a country side villa with all the modern comfort you'd expect from a top hotel in a big city. So much attention to the detail, even to their toiletries (organic lotions from Swiss!). Last but not least, they also provide services that's really unexpected and makes you smile (like free laundry which comes back clean and all folded up in a pretty basket!)

What really made Casa Moricciani so amazing was the owners, Carlo and Isabella. Basically once you arrive there, you don't have to worry about what to see, where to eat, and what to do. First of all, there was a book of restaurant reviews and possible itineraries of what to do (from 1 day to several-day excursions) written by Isabella personally. And Isabella will gladly make reservations for you and also help you decide what to do. Thanks to her we could attend music concerts that only the locals know about and so on. The dinner at the monastery where they shot English Patient was super nice and quaint, and also the early morning walk around the neighborhood was memorable.

We also signed up for La Dolce Vita package and it was so worth it. First of all, you get so much goodies (homemade hams, cheese, wine, bread, fruits) upon your arrival. Making Pasta and eating dinner together with Carlo/Isabella's family was very rewarding and fun (the ragu Isabella made was to die for!). You get a taste of how people in Tuscany live by learning about wine making and olive oil tasting as well.

We mainly stayed within Val D'Orcia area (checked out the small towns and did wine tasting) and that is what I'd recommend everyone to do. We did venture out to Sienna and Florence (each within 1 to 2 hour drive), but in the summer the big cities were way too crowded.

To conclude, my husband and I still dream about Casa Moricciani and Castelmuzio, and we are sure we will be back in the near future. We'd strongly recommend it to everyone!!! And huge thanks to Isabella and Carlo for being such wonderful host.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Yogurt :-)

We will never forget you and your group of beautiful friends. I remember the week in early August--which was such a gorgeous week--full of classical music concerts in the area, great weather, and beautiful evenings for dining in the garden. A fantastic time to come to Tuscany. We are so happy that you found it to be a good choice.

Your advice to travelers to stay in the Val d'Orcia area (the greater area) is something I often tell to guests. There is so much here to be enjoyed--and so easy to do.

Thank you for writing such a comprehensive and beautiful review. It is such a gift to us, and we appreciate it more than we can say.

With warmest appreciation,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We are experienced travellers and have stayed all over Europe. We stayed at Casa Moricciani for 5 nights and it was a perfect in every way. We loved the Villa (it was spectacular with all the amenities discussed being of the highest standard); we loved the view - over the valley; we loved the 75 yard walk to a wonderful relaxed restaurant where we received some of our beat meals; we loved our driver Angelo who took us on day trips; we loved Antonella that guided us through Siena; we loved the Chefs that prepared our meals; we loved the daily cleaning staff that were awesome; we loved the stocked wine fridge - simply convenient; we loved the fresh eggs and organic food ... the list could go on.

Most of all, we loved the attention to detail by Isabella and Carlo and their personal touch.

If you are anywhere in the vicinity, simply trust the reviews and you will not be disappointed!

Peter, Karen, Chris, Ann, David and Maureen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Peter, Karen, Chris, Ann, David and Maureen,

Carlo and I think that you should get an award for packing into 5 days what most people manage to do in two weeks. :-) Bravo, Peter, for your fantastic organizational skills and providing for your friends a fabulous 5-night stay in Tuscany. Your enthusiasm for all that we provided was great, and we thank you for writing about it in your review!

We are really happy to know that later this year we will have two more of your friends come to stay at Casa Moricciani. Thank you for telling them about Casa Moricciani.

Grazie mille to all of you,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is difficult to add to all of the wonderful reviews I have read so far on Casa Moricciani but I will try. As several have noted, your visit starts well in advance of your actual trip with the fantastic planning and correspondence with Isabella on what you would like to experience during your time in this gorgeous section of Tuscany. We were travelling with at party of seven and rented the downstairs section of the villa along with one of the rooms upstairs. The villa itself is quite remarkable and everything is of the finest quality. We only stayed in Castelmuzio for three evenings but we had a fully planned time with highlights that included:
- the pasta making class and dinner at the family farm (not to be missed)
- a guided tour of Siena with Antonella, who was fantastic, followed by a great Tuscan lunch
- tours through various towns and villages throughout the region
- a private visit to a winery that included a light lunch and tasting
- a personal chef (Alessandro) who made a 5 hour feast for us the last evening at the villa

Overall the visit was fantastic and we wish we would have had more time but it was nice that the villa was available for a three day rent so that we could also spend several days in Rome (check out the Borgio Suites there). The one thing we would have changed was that we rented a larger van that could accommodate the entire group vs. two cars which would have worked out better with the narrow roads and hills of the area.

If you are looking for a first-class and truly Tuscan experience then this is the place. A 'thousand thanks' again Isabella and Carlo for your hospitality. We look forward to our next visit.

Ciao
Gregory, Jennifer, Don, Connie, Jarrod, Tom & Jen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Gregory, Jennifer, Don, Connie, Jarrod, Tom & Jen,

What an extraordinary travel planner you are, Greg! You really did a fantastic job to experience so much in three days. Although we normally have weekly stays, especially in the highly requested months, sometimes things work out just right for those needing a shorter stay--and we were happy everything worked so well for you and your group.

It was our pleasure to work with you in advance of your arrival--which really made it possible to "choreograph" your activities and to make so much possible in such a short time.

We hope there might be another time when you can come and stay for a longer visit. It would be our pleasure to see you again.

Grazie mille,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

At least we didn't....definitely one of the most delightful and charming places we have ever stayed! So many thoughtful touches and such extraordinary hospitality that you feel like you are in some kind of dream. And the view from the yard where you are perched high on the edge of the storybook village of Castelmuzio, takes your breath away every time you look at it. Isabella and Carlo have obviously put their heart and soul into this amazing villa and you can feel their love in every inch of the place. Moreover, the "Hidden Tuscany" book they have compiled is more comprehensive than almost any guidebook I have ever read. (Watch out, Rick Steves and Lonely Planet!) It's such a useful reference and inspirational guide for your adventures through the countryside of beautiful Tuscany.

We were somewhat skeptical when we read the various rave reviews of their place before we arrived because many times places like this are "oversold" and then unfortunately, never quite meet your high expectations. However, Casa Moricciani is truly everything all the other guests rave about and then some. You won't want to leave....

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are spectacular. However, if you love to cook, you might want to stay in one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Rainkeeper,

Thank you for your review, and we are especially happy to know that you liked the information we provide in the Travel Book. It has been a work of love that we have developed over many years, adding, revising, and enhancing in order to provide truly special places and "hidden treasures" that most people will never find on their own while on a vacation. We want so much to give our guests an experience they will never forget--as well as a beautiful place to stay.

We appreciate everything you have done for us--coming to stay with us, and also posting your wonderful review.

Grazie mille,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wow! I could just say one word but that would not help fellow travelers. We loved this villa and our host. I travel a lot and expect nice. This exceeded my expectations. Not only was our villa the highest quality but all the extra things our host and hostess, Isabella and Carlo did for us was incredible. Offering home run recommendations on restaurants, wine tastings, guides and interesting places to see was just the start of this extra special service. The pasta night with our host was an event that made you feel like a part of the family. Fresh pastries delivered twice during the week, huge gift basket of Tuscan treats, laundry service twice a week and daily maid service was awesome. I could go own all day with nice things to say but superb says it all.
Most of all the kindness and personal touch from Isabella and Carlo was truly heavenly. We can not wait to go back again and we would highly recommend Casa Moricciani.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Mobileworldtraveler,

We thank you for your beautiful and comprehensive review of your stay at Casa Moricciani. It truly was our pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than to know that our guests have been as comfortable in our home as you have described.

We look forward to your next visit and to see you once again!

Grazie mille,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Casa Moricciani for 3 nights and it was the absolute perfect place for our trip to Tuscany. From the time we made the booking, Isabela was so helpful giving us advise on how to get there and even referred us to a car hire company that would be willing to hire out a car on a Sunday (when all other car hire outlets are closed)

When we got into the apartment (Stelle Fisse), we felt like we were enveloped in pure luxury. The table in the kitchen had a basket of pasta, bread, jams, chocolate,a bottle of wine and fresh vegetables, ready for us to whip up a scrumtious italian meal.
The room itself was gorgeous with flowers and chocolates placed everywhere. There was enough space to move around and the bed was really comfortable.
My favourite part of the partment was the shower. With views of the Tuscan countryside and water hitting you from all 3 directions, it felt like a dream come true.
We were at the most amazing place on earth for our Tuscan vacation which I had often daydreamed about.

Isabela was always a text msg or phone call away and every need of ours was always fulfilled. But the true asset of Casa Moricciani is the amazing file binder that you find in your apartment which is crammed with different itineraries including gps co-ordinates, pictures of places and things you will see on your way, advice on the best restaturants to eat at along the way and even the best factory outlets to go shopping. This was like having our own tour guide with us and was inevaluable to our Tuscan experience.

We hope to visit Casa Moricciani in the near future where I am sure we will again be wrapped in Moricciani luxury!

Room Tip: I have not seen the other rooms but Stelle Fisse is perfect for a couple, very romantic indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear NC07,

What a beautiful review! Thank you, grazie!

Your comment about your favorite part being the shower made us smile. Every bedroom and every bathroom is totally unique. When we designed the villa, we put an enormous amount of thought into the bathrooms with the goal to make each one "a most pleasurable experience". The bathrooms have high tech features and precision in order to do just that. All of the showers have multiple features, and yet not two are identical: some have color therapy, some have fountains, some have side jets, etc. One includes a Jacuzzi bathtub. We know that on a vacation not that much time is spent in the shower/tub, but we wanted that time to be FANTASTIC. :-)

Thank you so much for adding your photos. I know how important it is for travelers to see a place through other traveler's eyes.

Grazie mille!
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moricciani

Address: Via Gaetano Milanesi, 13, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelmuzio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Castelmuzio
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Moricciani is the perfect place to stay for independent travelers desiring to experience authentic Tuscany in refined luxury and style. The villa is truly a home — designed, furnished, and equipped with every comfort — and beckons you to come and live "the Tuscan life" in the picturesque village of Castelmuzio — a medieval town, just south of Siena, surrounded by the greatest Tuscan wines, foods, and sceneries, and yet itself undiscovered and waiting for you to enjoy its hidden pleasures. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Moricciani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.