We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Moricciani was exactly what I had hoped Tuscany would be...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Moricciani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelmuzio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Moricciani
Save Saved
You added Casa Moricciani to your Saves list
Via Gaetano Milanesi, 13, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Seabeck
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casa Moricciani was exactly what I had hoped Tuscany would be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were delighted with Villa and its full kitchen, wonderful views, comfortable furnishings and most of all the care lavished on us by everyone. We took part in the grape harvest, wine tasting, olive oil tasting, pici night and enjoyed it all. Isabella and Carlo are the best hosts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Martha and Family,

Thank you so much for your help in the vendemmia--the harvest of the grapes! This is one of the most special times of the year for Italians--and for guests such as your family, who enjoy participating in the harvest, it is a time to remember because it is always a great day in terms of weather and camaraderie. It really thrills us to have guests such as your family who want to be a part of our lives and rhythms, and we thank you very much.

We send our warmest regards to each of you, and we hope to see you again some day,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casa Moricciani in August for a week and could not have asked for a better experience. Isabella and Carlo were exceptional hosts and truly made our stay in Tuscany a memorable one. Our villa was nothing short of spectacular, everything from furnishings to the view were 5 star. Its worth pointing out that our bathroom had possibly the best shower we have ever seen.
We could not recommend staying here more highly. Apart from wanting to stay longer there was nothing more we could have asked for. If you want to experience Tuscany in all it's glory then you must stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Ciao Jane,

What a beautiful review you have written! Thank you so much for taking the time. We are happy to read that you enjoyed in particular the shower of Stelle Fisse - with its large picture window overlooking the Tuscan hills and Monte Amiata, the tallest mountain in Tuscnay - it is quite a refreshing experience in more ways than one! ;-)

We hope that you greatly enjoyed your honeymoon and will savor many wonderful memories of your trip to Tuscany. Thank you for letting us be a part of this important part of your lives.

Our warmest regards to you,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned to Australia after spending 5 weeks overseas in Europe. The highlight of our trip without a doubt was staying with 6 other friends for 1 week at Case Moricciani.(see LeKaDoha recommendation as well)

We were all so much looking forward to this stay and we were not disappointed. From the moment we met Isabella and Carlo at the villa we were in for a real treat. The villa is absolutley amazing, from the fabulous furnishings, the spectacular view and homely feel that the villa immediately offers sets the tone for a wonderfully relaxing time. We fitted into the environment very quickly. The additional touches that Isabella provided were a real surprise. These included hampers of local produce, wonderful skin care products to sample in all bathrooms, chocolates in all rooms and many more little touches that made this stay so memorable. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we all decided that we wanted to stay there forever.
The local restaurant was wonderful and we enjoyed a few dinners there and walked the 70 odd meters back to our villa as very happy people.

Pienza is a wonderful nearby village (8kms) that has lots of restaurants, shops and bars to enjoy. The location of the villa is wonderful as we had a van and managed to fit in many trips in the week that we were there to local restaurants, wineries and general places of interest.
The farm trip to the family farm and cooking evening in the villa were also another great treat.

Loved Carlo's wine and sampled the family produce which was soooo good.

Cannot recommend this wonderful Villa enough and if you have the opportunity to rent the whole villa - do so it is a great spot for a group of friends or family to unwind and really enjoy the heart of Tuscany.
to the many little touches such as chocolates, local produce supplied,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Zennyboy,

Thank you so much for your in-depth review, and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, including the small details. (Good to know you enjoyed the chocolates, special Swiss-made luxury skin products, and Carlo's Sangiovese red wine--we are really pleased to read that you like these things.)

Even though the village of Castelmuzio is hardly ever mentioned in guide books, you are correct that it is located in such a great way in order to see the many wonderful towns and villages in the area.

You and your group of friends were terrific guests--and hopefully we will one day see you again!

With many thanks to you and each one in your group,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We rented this Villa in early September 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From our various meeting and tours with Isabella and her family, to our own adventures in the local towns and villages, this was without a doubt one of the best vacations we had during our month in Europe. Sunny mornings on the terrace overlooking the hills of Tuscany is something we won't ever forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear George,

Our family was so pleased to meet you and to get to know you during the week you and your lovely wife stayed with us. We hope you also enjoyed your trip to the Amalfi Coast.

Thank you for posting your kind review, it means so much to us. We hope you will return to Tuscany one day, and that you will come to see us.

With warmest regards to both of you,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Casa Moricciani in September, renting the up stairs unit that consisted of two bedrooms, a sitting room, kitched and outdoor terrace. The accomodations were very, very comfortable, reminding us of staying in a five star inn back home. Both rooms had comfortable king size beds, beautiful (but small) bathrooms with spa like showers, expensive linens, towels, soaps, etc. Daily made service and twice weekly laundry service was provided! The apartment is very nicely decorated, with a modern kitchen, a fully stocked wine refridgerator, and a nice starter kit of gourmet foods. The view form the bedroom windows and the back yard is amazing. The couple that own Casa Moricciani, Isabella and Carlo, provide a superior "concierge" service, including handling dinner reservations, activities, etc. Several mornings Carlo stopped by to drop off freash pastries for breakfast! We will definitely be back to Cas Moricciani.

Room Tip: The restaurant in Castelmuzio was quite nice and a two minute walk from Casa Moricciani. The grocer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear VTing,

Carlo and I want to thank you and your friends for staying with us, and especially for taking the time to submit a review to Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind comments and for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comment about the convenient restaurant and grocery store is really valuable--even though the villa is located in a tiny but beautiful medieval village, it is so very convenient to have these amenities within extremely close walking distance. It really makes living in the villa and in the village of Castelmuzio so livable.

With warmest regards and many thanks,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent a great week in Casa Moricciani in early Sept 2012. We had 4 couples and booked the whole villa and it was perfect.
Isabella was extremely helpful from the first enquiry through the whole stay, ensuring we had everything we needed and knew where we were going.
This is a great base to explore all of Tuscany, especially if you have a hire car and can do day trips. Carlo will help with easy (free) parking and finding your way around.
We can highly recommend a trip to the the family farm. An experience not to be missed if you are interested in 'real' Tuscan family life as it should be. Taste the wine, oil, cheese and pork products and you will not be dissapointed. Pat the pigs and see the guinea hens as well.
Not only did we want to stay forever at Casa Moricciani, I wanted to buy the farm as well!!
Castelmuzio is not the biggest medieval town in Tuscany, but sure makes up for it with character.
Another treat for us was the local restaraunt for dinner. Easy to find (1 minute walk) as there is only one, but the food and service are very good. Easy to prepare your own dinners in the great kitchen if you want, with spices, oils and everything you need supplied, or eat at the restaraunt every night, perfect.
Isabella will help you with any bookings and this was a bonus for us during our stay.
The treats of pastries and fresh bread delivered during our stay was unexpected and very welcomed.
The villa is spotlessly clean and everything you need supplied. The wine storage fridge keeps the reds at a perfect temprature, and while this is the only extra you pay for its as good a value as buying them, and they are in the pantry at exactly the right temprature.
Make sure you try Carlo's wine, and buy a few extra while visiting the farm, real Tuscan wine made properly. A real credit to Carlo and well worth a second (or third) bottle.
We were fortunate to have a cooking class in the great kitchen as well which was a highlite of the week. Many great nights will be had in the future with the recipes learned from the chef that night.
As mentioned, this is a very special place to stay if your looking for something great in Tuscany. Highly recommend it and thanks again to Carlo, Isabella and the family for making our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dearest "Usual Suspects",

Your review of your stay at Casa Moricciani is beautiful and we thank you so much for taking the time to write it and submit it to Trip Advisor. Your group was a delight -- Carlo and I enjoyed the week with you immensely, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope so much that you felt the villa was truly your private home and residence in Tuscany. For groups of 8-9 people it really is a perfectly sized place to stay.

We hope you will return to our area soon, and that you might consider staying with us again. We would love to see you again!

Many sincere thanks to everyone in your group!
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscania, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The villa is located inside the medieval town of Castelmuzio.Population 200 (Lol!). The colors, the loud silence, the smells, the stars, the trees, the flowers; everything is wonderful here. This romantic,charming,cozy, and idylic villa is divided into two apartments upstairs and a full house downstairs. We stayed at one of the apartments; Septimo Cielo (Seventh Heaven). The apartment is perfect for a couple. Small details greeted us, like little flowers on the bed, in the bathroom, on the bathroom toilet paper, and yes, even inside the toilet. The shower, eventhough small, was a magical affair with one "rain shower" and another waterfall shower. The shower had a switch with which you could change the color of the light. So, sometimes we took a shower under a pink light, or blue, or lavender ... . Everything in this place is done with exquisite taste and detail. The surroundings are spectacular and the views leaves you breathless. If you are the romantic type, or the writer looking for a special place, or the thinker who is looking for a place to meditate, this is the place to go. There is a small local grocery store a few steps away (literally) where you can buy fresh bread and fresh cheese from the region. You will fall in love with the owners, Isabella with her endless happy energy, and Carlo, so sweet and always willing to help; Carlo has a twinkle in his eyes that makes you smile. Isabella's guide book is priceless. Full of places to go, activities, everything! Spend an hour going through this book; it will tell you everything you need to know. Schedule a massage under the olive trees! we did and it was wonderful. Explore Tuscany using this place as a base. Can't wait to go back, really, and wish I was there right now.

Room Tip: Septimo Cielo was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dearest E.T.,

Carlo and I really enjoyed your beautiful review--it is quite poetic, and describes so well the sensual things about a stay at the villa, and things we hope are noticed and enjoyed as you have. Lovers, writers, thinkers -- yes, I think you are so right in what you say -- the village of Castelmuzio and the views from the villa are perfect for all three types! I liked so much your photo in which you captured the beautiful pink light in the shower from the color therapy technology we have installed. Was it your favorite color?

Thank you for your many kindnesses, and for taking the time to write and to post your review. We appreciate you so much.

With warmest regards and many thanks,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moricciani

Address: Via Gaetano Milanesi, 13, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelmuzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Castelmuzio
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Moricciani is the perfect place to stay for independent travelers desiring to experience authentic Tuscany in refined luxury and style. The villa is truly a home — designed, furnished, and equipped with every comfort — and beckons you to come and live "the Tuscan life" in the picturesque village of Castelmuzio — a medieval town, just south of Siena, surrounded by the greatest Tuscan wines, foods, and sceneries, and yet itself undiscovered and waiting for you to enjoy its hidden pleasures. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Moricciani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.