We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxory in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Moricciani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelmuzio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Moricciani
Save
You added Casa Moricciani to your Saves list
Via Gaetano Milanesi, 13, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Luxory in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Casa Moricciani in September, renting the up stairs unit that consisted of two bedrooms, a sitting room, kitched and outdoor terrace. The accomodations were very, very comfortable, reminding us of staying in a five star inn back home. Both rooms had comfortable king size beds, beautiful (but small) bathrooms with spa like showers, expensive linens, towels, soaps, etc. Daily made service and twice weekly laundry service was provided! The apartment is very nicely decorated, with a modern kitchen, a fully stocked wine refridgerator, and a nice starter kit of gourmet foods. The view form the bedroom windows and the back yard is amazing. The couple that own Casa Moricciani, Isabella and Carlo, provide a superior "concierge" service, including handling dinner reservations, activities, etc. Several mornings Carlo stopped by to drop off freash pastries for breakfast! We will definitely be back to Cas Moricciani.

Room Tip: The restaurant in Castelmuzio was quite nice and a two minute walk from Casa Moricciani. The grocer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear VTing,

Carlo and I want to thank you and your friends for staying with us, and especially for taking the time to submit a review to Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind comments and for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comment about the convenient restaurant and grocery store is really valuable--even though the villa is located in a tiny but beautiful medieval village, it is so very convenient to have these amenities within extremely close walking distance. It really makes living in the villa and in the village of Castelmuzio so livable.

With warmest regards and many thanks,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent a great week in Casa Moricciani in early Sept 2012. We had 4 couples and booked the whole villa and it was perfect.
Isabella was extremely helpful from the first enquiry through the whole stay, ensuring we had everything we needed and knew where we were going.
This is a great base to explore all of Tuscany, especially if you have a hire car and can do day trips. Carlo will help with easy (free) parking and finding your way around.
We can highly recommend a trip to the the family farm. An experience not to be missed if you are interested in 'real' Tuscan family life as it should be. Taste the wine, oil, cheese and pork products and you will not be dissapointed. Pat the pigs and see the guinea hens as well.
Not only did we want to stay forever at Casa Moricciani, I wanted to buy the farm as well!!
Castelmuzio is not the biggest medieval town in Tuscany, but sure makes up for it with character.
Another treat for us was the local restaraunt for dinner. Easy to find (1 minute walk) as there is only one, but the food and service are very good. Easy to prepare your own dinners in the great kitchen if you want, with spices, oils and everything you need supplied, or eat at the restaraunt every night, perfect.
Isabella will help you with any bookings and this was a bonus for us during our stay.
The treats of pastries and fresh bread delivered during our stay was unexpected and very welcomed.
The villa is spotlessly clean and everything you need supplied. The wine storage fridge keeps the reds at a perfect temprature, and while this is the only extra you pay for its as good a value as buying them, and they are in the pantry at exactly the right temprature.
Make sure you try Carlo's wine, and buy a few extra while visiting the farm, real Tuscan wine made properly. A real credit to Carlo and well worth a second (or third) bottle.
We were fortunate to have a cooking class in the great kitchen as well which was a highlite of the week. Many great nights will be had in the future with the recipes learned from the chef that night.
As mentioned, this is a very special place to stay if your looking for something great in Tuscany. Highly recommend it and thanks again to Carlo, Isabella and the family for making our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dearest "Usual Suspects",

Your review of your stay at Casa Moricciani is beautiful and we thank you so much for taking the time to write it and submit it to Trip Advisor. Your group was a delight -- Carlo and I enjoyed the week with you immensely, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope so much that you felt the villa was truly your private home and residence in Tuscany. For groups of 8-9 people it really is a perfectly sized place to stay.

We hope you will return to our area soon, and that you might consider staying with us again. We would love to see you again!

Many sincere thanks to everyone in your group!
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscania, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The villa is located inside the medieval town of Castelmuzio.Population 200 (Lol!). The colors, the loud silence, the smells, the stars, the trees, the flowers; everything is wonderful here. This romantic,charming,cozy, and idylic villa is divided into two apartments upstairs and a full house downstairs. We stayed at one of the apartments; Septimo Cielo (Seventh Heaven). The apartment is perfect for a couple. Small details greeted us, like little flowers on the bed, in the bathroom, on the bathroom toilet paper, and yes, even inside the toilet. The shower, eventhough small, was a magical affair with one "rain shower" and another waterfall shower. The shower had a switch with which you could change the color of the light. So, sometimes we took a shower under a pink light, or blue, or lavender ... . Everything in this place is done with exquisite taste and detail. The surroundings are spectacular and the views leaves you breathless. If you are the romantic type, or the writer looking for a special place, or the thinker who is looking for a place to meditate, this is the place to go. There is a small local grocery store a few steps away (literally) where you can buy fresh bread and fresh cheese from the region. You will fall in love with the owners, Isabella with her endless happy energy, and Carlo, so sweet and always willing to help; Carlo has a twinkle in his eyes that makes you smile. Isabella's guide book is priceless. Full of places to go, activities, everything! Spend an hour going through this book; it will tell you everything you need to know. Schedule a massage under the olive trees! we did and it was wonderful. Explore Tuscany using this place as a base. Can't wait to go back, really, and wish I was there right now.

Room Tip: Septimo Cielo was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dearest E.T.,

Carlo and I really enjoyed your beautiful review--it is quite poetic, and describes so well the sensual things about a stay at the villa, and things we hope are noticed and enjoyed as you have. Lovers, writers, thinkers -- yes, I think you are so right in what you say -- the village of Castelmuzio and the views from the villa are perfect for all three types! I liked so much your photo in which you captured the beautiful pink light in the shower from the color therapy technology we have installed. Was it your favorite color?

Thank you for your many kindnesses, and for taking the time to write and to post your review. We appreciate you so much.

With warmest regards and many thanks,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Casa Moricciani in Castelmuzio. The villa is absolutely gorgeous. The lovely garden is so peaceful and the views of the rolling hills are breathtaking. The villa is so beautiful and comfortable that you want to stay in it all day. Isabella makes it very easy to get around Tuscany with a large book she put together for her guests of the nearby attractions, great restaurants, etc. There are also many activities that Isabella and Carlos have planned for their guests to enjoy. The surrounding hilltop towns are each so unique in their own way. I highly recommend Casa Moricciani. You will love it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your nice long stay at Casa Moricciani. Because we designed it to be our future home, we created a place that it is easy to stay for the whole day, relaxing, with beauty from every window and the garden. You were here at such a beautiful time to enjoy the garden, the plunge pool to be cool and fresh, and with enough days to see so many of the local sites and villages at a relaxed pace. Thank you so much for coming to stay at Casa Moricciani, and for taking the time to write and post your beautiful review.

With warmest regards,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you are reading this you are probably in the process of googling a million hill top Tuscan villas and struggling to distinguish the good from the bad. You can stop doing that now, just stay here. Its incredible. The house is beautiful and in the most amazing setting and Isabella and Carlo who run it are fantastic and will ensure you have the holiday of a lifetime. Just book it, trust me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We want to say that you are amazing, too! Your flair for fun and romance was really something to behold--and we say "Bravo!" for a week well done. We wish to you all the joy in the world, a beautiful wedding in the Val d'Orcia, and a lifetime of love and companionship. Thank you for coming to Casa Moricciani, and many many thanks for posting your review.

Auguri! and Grazie Mille,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wow is all I can say! We have stayed at some incredible hotels all over the world but the prerfect mix of the breathtaking views, tasteful accommodation and Isabella and Carlo's hospitality cannot be beaten.

The villa is furnished beautifully with genuine antiques. We stayed in Stella Fisse and the shower has a view over rolling hills for miles (and isn't overlooked). We enjoyed breakfast on our terrace most most mornings and the immaculate garden is a great space to relax and cool down (in the plunge pool).

Castelmuzio is a lovely village with a shop and restaurant and very friendly locals. The surrounding areas are gorgeous and Isabella has prepared wonderful guides that help you navigate straight to the best bits. I'd thoroughly recommend paying the extra for the pasta making and farm visit etc. which we really enjoyed.

We got engaged while we were staying at Casa Moricciani and it was so great we hoping to come back to Val D'Orcia get married next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
There is nothing so beautiful to witness than a beautiful pair of people who are very much in love. Congratulations! Auguri! on your engagement!! Thank you for letting us be a small part of your joy during such a meaningful time in your lives. It was very exciting for us, too, to learn that you had become engaged while staying here. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the Val d'Orcia for your wedding. We wish you a long lifetime together, full of health and happiness!!

Hugs to you both,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We recently returned from our week long stay at Casa Moricciani in Castemuzio, which is a short distance from Pienza. Words can not adequately describe the beauty of the villa, both inside and out . Isabella and Carlo have thought of every detail and provide their guests with the most amazing care and service. The villa itself is equipped with every luxury you could desire, a spectacular lovely kitchen and cozy comfortable furnishings. You will be amazed at the beauty of the area and would do well to follow Isabella's council in planning your days(or planning nothing!). She provides her guests with the most thorough and complete "big book" full of activities and itineraries for things in Tuscany . But you will really be tempted to stay close to Casa Moricciani and enjoy all it has to offer. Truly the finest place we have ever stayed. Even the breathtaking pictures hardly do justice to the beauty, serenity, and warmth of Casa Moricciani. Highly recommend this villa!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMoricciani, Owner at Casa Moricciani, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Your family was such a pleasure to have at Casa Moricciani. Carlo and I really enjoyed the boys, and Luciano (Carlo's father) thoroughly enjoyed visiting with them. They are both such fine young men with such great senses of adventure and curiosity. We really love to see families bringing their children to our area and introducing them to our unique cultural aspects. They were particularly skilled at making the local pasta (pici) and we hope they have tried again since they returned home. It really made our hearts big when you told us that they had declared it as their "best vacation ever", and even ventured to say that Casa Moricciani "would be perfect for a honeymoon one day!"

Please be sure to let us know if any of you ever return to our area. We would love to see you again!

Ciao and grazie,
Isabella and Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Moricciani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moricciani

Address: Via Gaetano Milanesi, 13, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelmuzio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Castelmuzio
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Moricciani is the perfect place to stay for independent travelers desiring to experience authentic Tuscany in refined luxury and style. The villa is truly a home — designed, furnished, and equipped with every comfort — and beckons you to come and live "the Tuscan life" in the picturesque village of Castelmuzio — a medieval town, just south of Siena, surrounded by the greatest Tuscan wines, foods, and sceneries, and yet itself undiscovered and waiting for you to enjoy its hidden pleasures. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Moricciani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.