We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to be much smaller” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda di CasalMustia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda di CasalMustia to your Saves list
Locanda di CasalMustia
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Piazza della Pieve 3, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Castelmuzio B&B and Inns
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“I want to be much smaller”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived here and checked in. Room was up lots of stairs. The room was so tiny and with our bags in we had little room to move but we were in for a shock. The ensuite was a sink with a toilet next to it, I mean it was only 1 cm away. No where to leave towels at all. The shower curtain, hanging from a bar hung down over the side of the toilet and the shower was behind this. I am 5 foot 4 inches and could hardly move to shower but the best was yet to come. More water came out of the side of the shower head rather than the correct holes. It was horrendous. Glad we only had 1 night here on our walking holiday. Dinner was ok but they had a large party upstairs so service was not the best. Food was average for Tuscany. We had been in Italy about 12 days by now so we knew what to expect. Breakfast was poor. 3 cereal boxes as cereal choice and no fresh fruit. Very limited in breads and meats etc. The poorest we had had so far. We did not complain as we had one night and I would do my complaining to my tour operator in the UK. The location is stunning and the village wonderful . I wish they would upgrade the accommodation

Room Tip: Ask to see them first and ask about the ensuite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Eat here many times during our stay in Castelmuzio whilst we stayed with a group of friends at a villa. Always had wonderful food here and the owner and staff are just delightful. Local house wine was good - food just great and well priced. Such a wonderful part of the world

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This review is for the restaurant - not the hotel. Our meal here was the best we had in Italy and we had some very delicious meals, including a Michelin star restaurant. There is a homemade pasta dish with veal and truffle oil that was mind blowing. We also got a beef dish that was described as very spicy (it had a pepper flavor) and that was also unbelievably good - it was so tender it was falling apart. You must eat here if you are near Castelmuzio!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a cycling holiday in Tuscany. Quaint, ancient village with this as the only hotel and place to eat.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms average but clean and comfortable but the shower room was very small with the shower curtain touching the toilet. We were the only guests staying here.

The food was typical real italian food, served promptly and with a smile.

There is nothing to do in the village but we were lucky to have our bikes to get around and climb them hills. Would not recommend staying more than one night. There is a more vibrant town nearby , about 10km , Pirenza which we visited and is worth a trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This hotel has smallish rooms and tight showers but the welcome we received was marvellous and although we had anticipated having to find a restaurant as it was a Monday, immediately we were offered a meal which was superb. All rooms clean and comfortable. Recommended accommodation for those seeking a stop-over as we were whilst walking in Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda di CasalMustia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di CasalMustia

Address: Piazza della Pieve 3, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelmuzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castelmuzio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda di CasalMustia 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Locanda di CasalMustia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda di CasalMustia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.