We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Week in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Casine di Castello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelmuzio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Casine di Castello
Save
You added Le Casine di Castello to your Saves list
Piazza 4 Novembre, 6, I-53020 Castelmuzio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“A Beautiful Week in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I and 2 friends went to Italy to celebrate my wife's special birthday. We spent an amazing week at Il Ciello, a 2 bedroom apartment in the heart of a most charming little medieval town called Castelmuzio in Tuscany. If you are looking for an experience which captures the very essence of Tuscan living, you will love staying at any of the Morriciani properties which Isabella owns and manages. Our place was charming and beautifully decorated, and furnished with fresh flowers, fresh home grown vegetables, fruit, pastries, cretaiole wine and olive oil and more. (These were all grown and produced at the Morriciani family farm). Every detail was attended to so completely. Isabella thought of everything! She provided tours of all kinds (optional) which cannot be missed. They provided a taste of the rich culture and the real people of Tuscany. You will have an opportunity to visit the family farm which we enjoyed very much, and had samples of their wine, cheese, olive oil, prosciutto, all produced by the Morriciani family. And don't miss pasta making night where you will learn to make "pici" and share a wonderful meal with all the guests. Yes, it was a beautiful week in Tuscany, one of the best experiences ever! Many thanks to Isabella and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We took our son and his wife to Tuscany this September (2013) and stayed in the Cretaiole apartment in Castelmuzio, a property of the Morriciani family. The 2 bedroom apartment exceeded our expectation, from the superb Italian linens, to the roomy sitting area, the stocked fridge, and the welcome basket with goodies. Arriving late Saturday, the food provided enabled us to have a family breakfast before venturing forth to explore. The Morriciani "family", welcomed us with warm hospitality and provided wonderful opportunities to dig deeper into Tuscan life. The activities provided and suggested were excellent quality and gave us a good variety of experiences. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Castelmuzio accomodation gives an added experience in a walled medieval village. Other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

A week in Castelmuzio that started out as a vacation in Tuscany became a visit with friends in Val d’ Orcia.

Magical Castelmuzio seemed to be able to become whatever we needed it to be at the time we needed it to be so.

It was a perfect hub from which to venture out on an adventure, be it to a wine tasting or goose banquet in Mantisi, a mere 5min drive away. Or for a taste of gloriously delicious gelato or curio shopping in Pienza, a 15min drive through the Tuscan countryside. Or to Sienna, to be regaled by images and tales of the Palio, eat a 7-course seafood meal for a mere 30€ or shop for down-soft leather goods at prices that make you feel you should visit a confessional after each purchase.

There were nights we felt like staying close to home, and on those occasions to our amazement, Castelmuzio’s local restaurant hummed with lively repartee and music, sometimes live, other times recorded, while decanting perhaps the best un-named €11 1L bottle of table wine you will ever have, anywhere! dishing up delectable Tuscan foods that made you taste buds scream for more.

But most of all, Castelmuzio was the location of Le Casine di Castello, where the thoughtful and gracious Carlo and Isabella Moricciani hosted us for one week. There is no more fitting endorsement of their hospitality and this immensely homey and comfortable space that could be given than to simply say that we wish we could have stayed longer and that we will return; soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Leaving The Morriciani Family was much like leaving one's home because we felt such a part of theirs. We stayed at Cretaiole, an apartment near but still we were included in all aspects of this amazing experience. Issabella takes care of every possible need with suggestions for all kinds of experiences in two large notebooks with driving tips, wine tasting, cooking classes, tours, painting and the once a week gathering to make pici pasta. OR one can go it alone but I suggest you take her advice. We did. Roberto was our cooking instructor at Il Silene in Seggiano and we will never forget his enthusiasm and love of his craft. Do not miss the last day with a tour of the farm, delicious food and the opportunity to chat with the whole family. Tuscany became a personal experience and for that we are forever grateful. And like family, we miss them terribly.

Room Tip: I read the review from the folks who stayed at Castlemuzio and if one had kids I can see their issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

SUMMARY: Two of us stayed in Il Nido, a studio apartment on the lower level of Casine di Castello, for 5 days in July 2013. It was superb in every respect, and we seriously considered cancelling our trip to Rome and spending four more days here. Highly recommended; outstanding hospitality; a unique experience.

IL NIDO:
Il Nido is a good sized studio apartment with a kitchen/dining area; a separate sleeping area w/queen bed; a large bathroom; and, a patio. All are extremely clean. Wifi works great, and there is a washing machine shared with the upstairs apartment (drying rack on the patio).

The kitchen/dining room is fully equipped and has a gas stove (but no oven). Isabella brought us so much food (and homemade olive oil, and wine and grappa) from the family farm that we had no hope of finishing it all. The sleeping area has a queen-sized canopy bed, plus plenty of storage (and a key-locked safe). The bed is very comfortable. The spacious bathroom is stocked with soap, body wash, shampoo, conditioner, etc. The patio area is secluded, gets lots of sun throughout the day, and is perfect for relaxing.

ACTIVITIES:
We were spoilt for choice: too many activities/sites/restaurants to pick from. Every activity we did was special and worth the cost or time to get there. Really, really fabulous. Il Nido is part of Le Casine di Castello - the owners (Isabella & Carlo) also own another larger property Cretaiole, about 10 - 15 min drive away - and guests at Le Casine are welcome to partake in activities at Cretaiole (which we did).

We went to several excellent activities included in the cost: an olive oil tasting (w/Carlo), a tour of an Etruscan tomb (w/Carlotta), and a pasta-making session as part of a huge, family-style meal hosted by Isabella and Carlo. We also went to a winery, a cheese-tasting, a fish dinner, and a one-off goose dinner (held in the streets of a nearby village!). These activities were arranged by Isabella or Carlotta, and chosen from the comprehensive list of recommendations (dozens and dozens of sites, activities, and restaurants) provided by Isabella. We paid for these separately, and driving there was not a problem thanks to *very* detailed directions.

Although we stayed in Castelmuzio, we socialized quite a bit with the guests at Cretaiole at various activities. They - along with the hosts - made us feel welcome and included, even though we stayed at Il Nido and arrived a day or two later than everyone else. Having said that, we also really liked having our own space at Il Nido, and the beauty of Castelmuzio - it’s so easy to miss, but so lovely.

CASTELMUZIO TOWN:
Castelmuzio is a very small, medieval hilltop town, but it is gorgeous and charming. Although we spent most of our time outside of Castelmuzio, we absolutely adored the town. The restaurant is excellent; the town lookout/viewpoint is simply fantastic, even by Tuscan standards. Amazingly peaceful and beautiful. You could shoot a great romance film here; you might even think you’re in one.

HOSTS:
Our hosts made our stay so special. Isabella and Carlo redefine hospitality. They were incredibly generous and welcoming to us from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The day we arrived, Isabella spent an hour with us, even though we arrived quite late, going over the flat, taking us around the town, and explaining all the activities we could join in (even though we were last-minute guests). Similarly, every time we turned around, there was Carlo offering food or drink or his expertise on one thing or another. We can say the same for Carlotta, who spends so much of her time taking guests around and arranging activities and reservations for them, and even Nico - Isabella and Carlo’s son who helped us buy some amazing olive oil before we left. We felt less like customers and more like family.

OVERALL: I’m still not sure why we left. We would go back in a heartbeat. Five stars, easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

To expand on my wife's comments below ("...families with teenagers"), while Cretaiole is probably more suitable for a family with teenagers (where they can bike safely, play ping pong, etc.), Castelmuzio is still a nicely located village, not far from the many sites in Val d'Orcia. The quietness of the hilltop village may suit some travelers (as indicated by the many excellent reviews). We especially enjoyed the hospitality of the Moricciani family, who do their utmost to provide a variety of memorable experiences. We especially enjoyed dinner at the organic farm, wine tasting at Icario, the Siena tour, exploring Pienza, the photo safari, and the Thursday night pici pasta making and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are considering Cretaiole, try your best to stay in the actual Cretaiole facility. We were put in another town in a townhouse called Le Casine De Castello (il Cielo). The town was Castelmuzio. For many reasons, this was not ideal for us. This put us a good 15 minute drive from where everything was happening, and the town of Castelmuzio had NOTHING to do, and I do mean NOTHING. There is one restaurant and one small grocery store. To stay there for a week with 3 teenagers was just painful. There were bicycles which we were allowed to use once we signed a waiver, but the roads were insanely dangerous, curvy, narrow and had no visibility. We would seriously be taking our lives in your hands. It is also too far to try to bike to Cretaiole. So we spent a LOT of our time driving to and from Cretaiole and thinking about logistics. It would have been WAY easier if we were staying AT Cretaiole. Now, the actual townhouse itself...very small area on roof with a slot view of the landscape, no umbrella so no shade, no lounge chairs. The awesome view is unfortunately only from the back bedroom and bathroom windows. No place to sit and enjoy the countryside from this townhouse. Power is iffy - we lost power one night and lost all the food in our fridge. Also no English channels on the TV (and we never could get the TV to work anyway) Bottomline - if you are content to stay in a village with nothing to do, and content to be in a townhouse and just sit inside, and drive 15 minutes every single time you want to go do something at Cretaiole, this would work for you. But I would definitely discourage staying there with kids. Our kids would have MUCH preferred to stay AT Cretaiole.

Room Tip: If you stay in Castelmuzio, make sure your apt. has a terrace with a view and chairs that you can re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Casine di Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Casine di Castello

Address: Piazza 4 Novembre, 6, I-53020 Castelmuzio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelmuzio
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Castelmuzio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Casine is located in an ideal location for daytrips to Montalcino, Montepulciano, Florence, Siena and Cortona, Perugia and San Gimignano. Owned by Isabella Moricciani, who manages "Agriturismo Cretaiole." She will teach you to make pasta, taste wine and olive oil, and enjoy the traditions of the Val d'Orcia. Come taste, feel, and absorb Tuscany in a way rarely experienced by others who visit Italy. Your memories of your stay will last a lifetime! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Casine di Castello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.