We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality personified” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Varuni House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added New Varuni House to your Saves list
New Varuni House
Near Dalai Lama Temple | Next to Bella Height, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 48 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hospitality personified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This modest property more than makes up for any swank it doesn't offer by the graciousness of its host, Mr. Anil. The hotel is located adjacent to two roads that connect to the main McLeodganj chowk (and center of all attention in the hamlet) and house many of the roadside stalls, cafes and restaurants that you are likely to try out. It offers some views of the mountains, but let's face it, you are more than likely to be out in the town than lazing on your bed and staring out. For that, this hotel is right next to where you want to be, without being stuck on the narrow main roads and offering some quiet.

But back to the host. Once you've stayed at Varuni House, you realize that some people are truly in this business to serve and please customers. Anil was always ready with a solution for your troubles -- damp and cold clothing in sub-zero temperatures (quick ironing), cold rooms (complimentary heaters), iPhone charger not fitting (pin adapter), leaving at 7am (packed breakfast), your driver suddenly unavailable for a late night drop to the town square restaurants (arrange a car and driver on short notice). This is over and above his suggestions and directions on where to head. All of this is prompt, without attaching a price to the service and always around to help.

I cannot imagine any guest having left this place dissatisfied and do not think they will ever do so in the future. Such a delight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    39
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
23
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

hotel is good , food also very good and service also good . Hotel location is perfect for Dharamshala. hotel owner ( Mr.Sanjay and Mr.Anil ) nature is help full . if you going to plan in Dharamshala at least 3 Night stay ,

Room Tip: all room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Cannot comment about other hotels but new varuni house was a good place to stay.staff is good.service is prompt.rooms are neat and the owners make you feel at home. Our room was also upgraded without any extra cost. View from my deluxe room was superb.i shall recommend staying at this place.food is also up to the mark......I especially liked coffee and of course pickle....how can I forget that...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is well managed by Mr. Sanjay and Mr. Anil. Our rooms were clean and room service was top notch. The only minus was the location - down the road from Dalai Lama temple and the roads are in poor condition with little lighting. We had a hard time finding the hotel in the night. Overall, a pleasant stay once we got there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

W-O-W !!!! Those were the first words we murmured as we entered our room. My wife and me were holidaying in Himachal in the second week of November, 2013 and arrived at Dharamshala at evening, after a tiring day-long journey from Manali. We were picked up from Lower Dharamshala by Montu (cab-driver attached with this hotel) who brought us to Mcleodgunj. This pick-up was requested to Mr. Sanjay (co-owner of this hotel), who had arranged it at a reasonable rate. We had booked a standard room via Cleartrip and were greeted with complimentary tea on our arrival. The room was neat, spacious and well-maintained; bathroom was spotless and clean; attached common balcony was large with views to the great Dhauladhars. Mr. Sanjay took a personal interest and helped finalizing our sightseeing to Jwalamukhi Temple and other places of interest at Mcleodgunj at a reasonable rate. Location-wise this hotel is superb with its proximity to Dalai Lama Temple (200m). A good-night's peaceful sleep is guaranteed as well since Mcleodgunj market is some 300 m uphill. Food was hot and delicious, service was very prompt and Mr. Sanjay .. he is perhaps the most innocent, friendly, humble and always ready-to-help Manager I had ever met. As a suggestion, whenever you are planning a trip to Mcleodgunj, look no further, as this hotel is perhaps the best for travelers with economy budget looking forward to return with warm memories. On our last day, we were traveling to Katra (VaishnoDevi) and as an unique privilege had Mr. Sanjay as our co-passenger on Montu's cab. It was quite a memorable trip with lots of chit-chat, laughter and pakoras. Hats-off to New Varuni House Hotel and of-course, a warm special thanks to its Manager, Mr. Sanjay.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have access to the large common balcony. So if you need to enjoy the magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodhgaya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Thank You for the pleasant stay and welcome in a way never before experienced.
All from our group were pleased and we wished to stay more.
All what we have to say that its the best place to stay in McLeodGanj.
As the owner is taking personnel interest in Client's satisfaction I think we gonna do and give them business further.
Great going team!
See You again and wish the brightest future!

Room Tip: All rooms are specious and well ventilated but we felt the Rooms on the South side are Quiet and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sanjay and the staff are wonderful. There are many options in McLeod, and a budget backpacker can certainly find something cheaper, but I got lazy and decided not to move. I really enjoyed my stay here though. The mountain view rooms are very nice (I stayed in two of them), nothing very fancy, but good clean rooms with comfortable beds. Good location. Good people. No complaints.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Varuni House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Varuni House

Address: Near Dalai Lama Temple | Next to Bella Height, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your New Varuni House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Varuni House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.