We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kunga Guest House n Nick's Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kunga Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kunga Guest House
Save
You added Kunga Guest House to your Saves list
Bhagsunag Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
europe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kunga Guest House n Nick's Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at Kunga 3 years ago for 1 month. Was the most enjoyable stay. Staff is pleasant,helpful n courteous. Rooms are clean, nice bathroom with hot water 24 hours. The rooms facing the out door restaurant are quiet n have balconies n great views of the valley below n mountains above. The only thing is as far as I know they don't take room reservations. Its first come first serve policy

The food is great (vegetarian),with a very good menu Breakfast,Lunch n Dinner. Have been back to McLeod Ganj few more times, most recently in July this year 2013. And had 90% of my meals at Kunga. Wonderful Desserts,I like their cookies the best. You really have to try them.

So check out Kunga Guesthouse Nick's Restaurant one of the best in McLeod Ganj.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
10
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isola Vicentina, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

kunga guest house is close to the crowded main chowk. they have many different rooms in 2 buildings for about 300rs onward. Our room (550rs) was really big, with a comfortable double bed and a well maintainded bath with 24h hot water and a balcony; everything was pretty clean.. they also have free wi-fi.. There is a nice restaurant with terrace (italian menu and ordinary tourist stuff), but it's not really cheap! If you are on a budget you'd better eat along the market streets (tasty momos for 20rs per plate!).. The owner is really nice and she'll give you a discount if you stay longer.

www.kungaguesthouse.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was traveling alone to mcloedganj and apparently was aprehensive about my stay. luckily i found a single room with double occupancy at Kunga which overlooked a beautiful scenic beauty. The room was decent and clean. Although it was at the corner of the guest house but good for one looking for peace and no disturbance. The tibetian owner and staff is very helpful and honest. Food at nicks is very nice, hygenic, and fresh. it was a good experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dharamsala, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Never stayed in the guesthouse but eat at Nick's as often as I can and would recommend it to anyone. The cooking is vegetarian only, but there is a great variety - and it is tasty, healthy, fresh and clean. There are always quiches and superb cakes ready to eat and the best lemon cheese cake ...
The pizzas are good too. Then there are raviolis, super momos, great veggie dishes with fresh tofu; they make all kinds of juices and salads too. And a big terrace with a vast view !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here as 2 19yr old female backpackers for 3 nights in March '13. We paid 250Rs (£3.15) for the room, non AC, shared bathroom. Breakfast not included. Free wifi.

Room - we had a small room on the floor below the road entrance on the open aired patio that is Nicks restaurant. Very cold, the was a large patch of damp on one wall. The sheets were clean and came with a thick duvet so we were not cold at night. Good lock on the door.

The shared bathroom in fact is shared with the entire busy restaurant and about 15 staff. Although cleaned regularly, we did not even attempt a shower during our stay as we would have to walk back through the restaurant after. Hot water was available.

Food - Nicks is arguably one of the best restaurants in MG. Great pizzas, amazing ravioli and superb cake. The hot apple tea is a must-try.

Service - I got confused between the restaurant and the people who ran the rooms. They kindly let me eat in bed while I was ill and we're only too keen to recommend and show me to the doctors next door.

Location - Great location in the middle of the town. A 1 min walk away from the main square and anything you could want to see/do.

The Tibetan massage at 600Rs/hr is a steal and a must try.

Eat here but don't stay, you can find better budget places in town!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel has rooms ranging from budget to high end. We stayed in the premium rooms and they were little away from the budget rooms. These rooms are very spacious and very neat and clean. The only disadvantage is there is no bell or intercom. It has an attached restaurant which had very tasty and hygienic Tibetan and Italian food. We stayed here for Two Nights. These rooms are away from the road so noise disturbance is not there. The valley view from the property is also charming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Kunga is the best place to stay when you are on a backpacking trip like me.. I have stayed here three times and find it the best so far. It is run by a Tibetan family and the service is very good. They are very honest and straight, they would tell you exactly what they have and will give you the preferred rooms also (the rooms with a view). I stayed in a room with a view of the mouintain and a balcony, it was lovely. The rooms are clean and safe. Have spent some of the loveliest time with friends at this guest house and its restaurant.
So for a budget trip this is best but no reservations :(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kunga Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kunga Guest House

Address: Bhagsunag Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kunga Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.