We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Save
You added Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC to your Saves list
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Bhagsu is one of the better hotels in the beautiful and serene town of McLeodganj. It is within walking distance of the Dalai Lama's monastery as well as the bus stand and main market. Surrounded by majestic pine trees and in the shadow of the snow peaked mountains it is a great place to stay.

The rooms are not big but comfortable and well lit with large windows on the valley side. The staff are polite and helpful. The rooms are clean and well maintained.

We never got a chance to use their restaurant. There are so many reasonably priced eating options in the vicinity that we always chose to eat out.

They have a reasonably well maintained garden. One can spend hours here just sitting around.

Loved the place and plan to definitely go back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    85
    30
    6
    0
See reviews for
70
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is the first time we stayed in a govt property which was not at all bad infact it is turned out to be a very good property.We stayed for 3 nights in a super dlx room which was very spacious with a sofa ,LCD tv & a heater in a very good condition.Washrooms were also spacious& neat with warm & cold water supply.Linens inside were also clean & in acceptable condition.Hotel was surrounded with green lawns & a totally peaceful ambience with a good parking space.Food whatever we ordered was fresh & tasty with less oil.Market was just a few steps away which was definitely the best thing.Rooms have big windows but without balcony.Overall a very good experience which was totally unexpected.

Room Tip: Go for a super dlx if going with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Bhagsu has the perfect location in Mcleodganj as compared to most hotels. The hotel is walking distance from the market, it has a beautiful garden facing the snow capped mountains. With the morning sun out, it was just the perfect experience that I wanted my parents to have. The food served was hot and tasty and the hotel staff was friendly. One needs to book this hotel in advance as it is perpetually booked completely. I had a great time with my family at Mcleodganj in April 2013

Room Tip: Try taking the rooms on the ground floor facing the garden.Book in advance, it is very difficult to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's excellent location of calm around it and market just 1 min away from the hotel. The back of the hotel is all mountain area. The quality of food was good and it was good stay overall. This is nice hotel where one can pleasantly stay with market right in front. There is a small garden they have around property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajpura, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed there with my wife and daughter. i booked bhagsu suit on the first floor. Very big room with 8 seater sofa and a dinning table. Bathroom was also very big and clean and also the change room is very spacious. Location is on the mall road and ample parking space in the hotel. Food was above average. Overall great experience.

Room Tip: Go for Bhagsu Suit. Other rooms are small and not so clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location, decent food, good garden, ample parking, no frills and fair charges are common to all HPTDC hotels. Interior of rooms look uninspiring, but was clean and OK. Bathroom was clean, and the towels and linen were acceptable. No balcony but common areas are good. The garden and the terrace in first floor were too good and you can also have food there. Dining area was huge and we waited there till we got the room (we reached there very early). Food is good and is reasonably priced; (but a few dishes were not available). We noticed an yellow flower that blossomed at night and fallen off on day. My son was thrilled. Overall great value for family visit. Staff are always helpful and service is reasonable for a Government property. In fact HPTDC staff and hotels are much better than many others like that of KVMN and Rajasthan.
All HPTDC hotels offer a discount for senior citizens provided you have valid proof. They collect taxes at the hotel even if you had booked through the net. I think it can only be booked through the HPTDC website and not through other travel portals. There seems to be a similar named hotel which is not a HPTDC property.
One warning: Check the bills before you pay. we realized after leaving that a beer/chicken were included in our bills even though the whole family is non-drinkers and veggies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good location and ample parking area are the major advantages of this hotel. The room was okay. We did not have food at the in-house restaurant. One can walk to the Buddhist temple from the hotel.

One has to drive through the congested, narrow, busy road to reach this hotel. That's the only negative aspect, I can think of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC

Address: McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.