We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical HPTDC Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC
Save
You added Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC to your Saves list
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Typical HPTDC Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great location, decent food, good garden, ample parking, no frills and fair charges are common to all HPTDC hotels. Interior of rooms look uninspiring, but was clean and OK. Bathroom was clean, and the towels and linen were acceptable. No balcony but common areas are good. The garden and the terrace in first floor were too good and you can also have food there. Dining area was huge and we waited there till we got the room (we reached there very early). Food is good and is reasonably priced; (but a few dishes were not available). We noticed an yellow flower that blossomed at night and fallen off on day. My son was thrilled. Overall great value for family visit. Staff are always helpful and service is reasonable for a Government property. In fact HPTDC staff and hotels are much better than many others like that of KVMN and Rajasthan.
All HPTDC hotels offer a discount for senior citizens provided you have valid proof. They collect taxes at the hotel even if you had booked through the net. I think it can only be booked through the HPTDC website and not through other travel portals. There seems to be a similar named hotel which is not a HPTDC property.
One warning: Check the bills before you pay. we realized after leaving that a beer/chicken were included in our bills even though the whole family is non-drinkers and veggies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    89
    34
    7
    1
See reviews for
76
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good location and ample parking area are the major advantages of this hotel. The room was okay. We did not have food at the in-house restaurant. One can walk to the Buddhist temple from the hotel.

One has to drive through the congested, narrow, busy road to reach this hotel. That's the only negative aspect, I can think of.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in Super Deluxe Room.

Pros:
- Large parking
- Big garden / walking area
- Awesome location.
- Great view from room.

Cons:
- Food was 2/5. Most things were not available. Even Tandoor was not operational.
- Service was average at best.
- Rooms were not as big as expected.
- Bathtub in bathroom was not operational. That killed my mood.

Room Tip: Don't bother to take any other room than Super Deluxe if you want some space inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

last stayed there from 1st may to 5th may 2013 for four nights with my wife.every year we stay at this hotel as there in ample parking for car.location is very good as the market is within walking distance.plenty of greenery and open space.food is good and also the room service.staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Bhagsu for 2 nights. I chose it on the basis of good reviews on Tripadvisor. And true to its reputation, it had a 'soul' that made it warm and homely. Our room was small, but clean and cozy. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was delicious. We had a room right next to a big balcony overlooking the mountains, and sipping 'masala chai' and watching the sunrise over the Himalayas was the highlight of our stay. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the balcony, on the 1st floor, for a great view and a soul-stirring sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went with high expectations which were based on 4* TripAdvisor ratings. The hotel has a parking of its own which is nice in a small hill place like McLeodganj. The property is huge, lush with deodar trees. But this tree cover also blocks the mountain and valley views.
We had a small argument with the front desk and later the manager. Our booking details(booked from HPTDC site) were different from the rules available at the reception. It took me sometime to understand what the guy was saying. Staff there did not give me a good vibe and I was a little disturbed at the outset. I tried to push it back, took the keys and headed towards the room. The hotel is entirely made out of wood and already looks like a heritage prop though built only in 1978. Decor is basic minimal but nice.
The moment the bell boy opened the doors and we stepped in, we were hugely disappointed. Rooms are so small. We had booked a deluxe. We were 3 adults and a kid. There was absolutely no space in the room to move about. There was no balcony. Bath was extremely small too. Wood panel interiors were nice. The view of deodar trees through the window was nice. But what were we to do with the interiors and views, when the room was such a huge letdown. Bed quality was not good too. I had already paid for otherwise I would have checked out and gone to the hotel right across the street with balcony & better valley views(later found out).
Food is good and made fresh. Restaurant is big and spacious. The outside lawns are beautiful and, when it is not raining, are good for a leisure walk. They have a big play area for the kids which was in shambles and drowned because of the rains. They did nothing to reclaim it.

This hotel gave us a feeling of living in a "Dak Bangla" and I would not disagree with that.

Room Tip: Go for the suites/superdeluxe which should be large, deluxe are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Old bad-smelling dirty rooms, no wi-fi, no balcony. The shower doesn't work well. Too expensive for this conditions. If you want exactly this location just check hotels in front of this one - most of them has balcony with a great view to the valley, they are cheaper and cleaner.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC

Address: McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bhagsu - HPTDC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.