We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more & booking for 2014!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Poppleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon
Save
You added Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon to your Saves list
Hollytree, Hunger Hill, Newton Poppleford EX10 0BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Farlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Back for more & booking for 2014!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review back in 2011 (if memory serves me correctly!) to say what a fantastic place Hunger Hill Yurt Camp was. Well, just to update that, not only have my partner & I returned every year since, but this year we booked out the site & brought our friends along to see 'what all the fuss has been about'!!
The same lovely set up continues along with the extremely efficient service. For details about the site, including the yurts, please refer back to my original review. One thing which has been introduced this year, is that each yurt now has its own charging unit for phones & iPads, etc & not forgetting there is wi fi available, with reception being best down at the kitchen area.
Our group consisted of babies & small children & I think all could be accommodated appropriately. We had let Chris know in advance, so that cots, etc could be arranged too. I think the parents really appreciated the fact the little ones could have a play/run around/explore the outdoors but safely (as safely as is possible), eg the field being gated, etc, & the children loved seeing the various animals too!
We are already making plans for 2014, such was the success! So, thank you for keeping up the very good work & creating such a wonderful place that is Hunger Hill Yurt Camp. We really look forward to seeing you next year!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

What a splendid place to just spend time with your family and relax.
Very well equiped yurts, with lovely log burners. Very calming, back to nature kind of experience.
Like a hotel, but just more, something!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited Hunger Hill Yurts over the weekend 12th-5th July 2013. What a fantastic weekend we had. We stayed in the orchard Yurt as a family of five. Beautiful location with a tastefully decorated yurt laid out with plenty of room to accommodate five persons. Wood burner for the cooler evenings although we didn't need it that particular weekend as we were in the middle of England's 10 yearly heat wave. We did however take advantage of the outside BBQ and sat till late in the night with a small log fire burning in the grate and the odd bottle of wine. Accommodation was really great with our own outside kitchen area which was well equipped and our own toilet and shower. Would we go back, yes we would its was a holiday with a difference which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The Hills of Bournemouth/Blandford

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

When we first arrived we were welcomed with a friendly smile and a tour from Chris. We stayed in the Orchard Yurt which was set in a small field on its own and boasted its own kitchen, toilet and shower; all of which were well equipped, extremely clean, bright and colourful. We were overwhelmed at how well the inertia of the Yurt had been thought out and designed in a Moroccan theme; it made it feel extremely warm and cosy.
With English weather being as it is (this time last year was scorching hot) the nights/early mornings were cold, but the log burner and sheepskins meant we always felt ‘toasty’.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Yurt and found the camp was situated in an ideal location to be able to fill our days with places to visit; we would highly recommend staying at Hunger Hill Yurt Camp.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited Hunger Hill Yurts in June 2012 for my boyfriend's birthday. Although it rained a lot when we were there, we still had a lovely time and it was nothing like camping! Chris was so welcoming and the Yurts were beautifully done and very cosy with the log-burning stove. The showers were hot and they really had thought of everything. Lovely location, lovely people, lovely relaxing weekend away! I will definitely go back some time soon! Thank you for a lovely break :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in August this year and we found total peace, what an idilic location and site to camp at.

Hunger Hill is very well equiped,its clean, its friendly and we loved it.

The yurts are great, very well equiped with everything you could need, without being too over the top.
What you find here, is peace and relaxation, and also time, things move slowly here, and the days drift past in a lovely way.
Hunger Hill has a great location on the edge of the Aylesbeare nature reserve, and is just a few minutes drive from the coast.

There is a handy and great restaurant just up the hill called Popplefords, it does fab home cooked food, also offers a small takeaway range.

We had the most amazing holiday !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Ok so we find it. Say nav is right for a change. There are no sounds to say it's hunger hill yurts but you do get a sign on the gate that said Holly Tree white writing on white background. There are two gates to go through, be careful as there are two dogs Rusty are friendly however their pooh does appear on the drive from time to time (i trod in it twice) but then if you have dogs then you know on such a large amount of land it's probably a little tricky to be on the pick up all the time, especially when you are catering for five yours and keeping them and the area to an impeccable standard. (The dog pooh would only be found between the two drive gates by the way) the rest of the land is very well taken care of. Electric only in the kitchen and wash room area where there are plug in stations for phones etc i took an extra extension four way to make sure we always had a socket. Internet is available and user and password is available with all the info on the wall in the kitchen. Bathroom area is cleaned well each day. The yurts themselves were excellent and in a nice location not to close to each other, in fact perfectly placed. Everything I'd available for the full "glamping" experience and even though it rained out didn't matter, actually it made it more romantic. If you're not experienced in camping this ours a great way to enjoy the camping effect and still have all the mod cons you need. I write this on my phone so hopefully it reads ok. Thank you Hunger Hill yurts, we had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon

Address: Hollytree, Hunger Hill, Newton Poppleford EX10 0BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Poppleford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newton Poppleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunger Hill is open from April to October. There are 5 cosy Yurts with splendid views, set in a secluded two-acre meadow on a small holding with Kune kune pigs, ducks, chickens and a friendly old dog! The Yurts are furnished with comfy beds, kilims, cushions and sheepskins. Each Yurt has a wood burner and kitchen. Out side there is a fire pit with BBQ grill and hammocks. All Yurts are in easy reach of the main kitchen, toilets and showers. The Orchard Yurt has it own kitchen - dinning area, toilet and shower.Hunger Hill is a tranquil location next to the RSPB reserve on Aylesbere Common and close to spectacular East Devon beaches. It's a great place to holiday with friends and family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.