We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last peace and quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Poppleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon
Save
You added Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon to your Saves list
Hollytree, Hunger Hill, Newton Poppleford EX10 0BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Glos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“At last peace and quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Ok so we find it. Say nav is right for a change. There are no sounds to say it's hunger hill yurts but you do get a sign on the gate that said Holly Tree white writing on white background. There are two gates to go through, be careful as there are two dogs Rusty are friendly however their pooh does appear on the drive from time to time (i trod in it twice) but then if you have dogs then you know on such a large amount of land it's probably a little tricky to be on the pick up all the time, especially when you are catering for five yours and keeping them and the area to an impeccable standard. (The dog pooh would only be found between the two drive gates by the way) the rest of the land is very well taken care of. Electric only in the kitchen and wash room area where there are plug in stations for phones etc i took an extra extension four way to make sure we always had a socket. Internet is available and user and password is available with all the info on the wall in the kitchen. Bathroom area is cleaned well each day. The yurts themselves were excellent and in a nice location not to close to each other, in fact perfectly placed. Everything I'd available for the full "glamping" experience and even though it rained out didn't matter, actually it made it more romantic. If you're not experienced in camping this ours a great way to enjoy the camping effect and still have all the mod cons you need. I write this on my phone so hopefully it reads ok. Thank you Hunger Hill yurts, we had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Been meaning to write this for over a year!! We stayed Easter last year and it was brilliant. Loved the yurt and the location. Facilities plentiful and clean. Lots of pots, pans, storage. The Yurt very clean and comfortable. The location is fabulous. Close to lots of attractions and the beaches. Loved the fresh eggs every morning. Wish we had got the chance to go back. Would certainly visit again and have told all our family and friends about it. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I took our two daughters aged five and nearly two to Hunger Hill for a five day break in June. Chris was delightful to deal with over the booking and was on hand to welcome us to our beautiful yurt. The lay out of the site was lovely and everything was so clean, well-presented and well-equipped. I can't think of one thing that could have bettered our experience - the weather was kind, the local attractions and places to visit were wonderful. We even caught and cooked our own mackerel which was a first for the children. They loved the kune kune pigs and played ball with the sheepdog for hours. Magical and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We cannot praise Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays enough.
It was a great experience.
A warm welcome from our hosts Chris and Dave.
We had the orchard yurt. This had literally everything provided that we could need including plates, glasses, etc etc. The Waitrose at nearby Sidmouth seemed to be the best place for shopping though there is a local shop.
Facilities were spotlessly clean and really couldn't be faulted. These included toilet and shower, kitchen with fridge, gas cooker, sink, table and worktops, and a fire pit area for the evenings (fire wood is supplied free of charge - oh and you can buy fresh chicken and ducks eggs as well!). We were comfortable and warm no matter the weather (which was nice by the way). Awesome stars at night as well!
Lovely facilities. The yurt are very much on the luxury side of "glamping". Very clean, very well appointed, cosy (especially with the efficient wood stove), warm duvet on the comfortable bed, lots of space, comfy sofa and other Morrocan style furnishing. Wi-fi also provided for those who just can't do without Facebook with a charge point in the kitchen for gadgets. Outside hammocks for when we wanted to lay back and relax. Everything seemed to have been considered and provided.
Bess the collie dog was always ready to play with her ball collection but very intelligent and well behaved. I understand she is very popular with the kids!
Panda and Butterscotch the two pigs were friendly as well.
All in all it was a lovely break in a great part of the country. Sidmouth (great cakes at the top of Jacob's Ladder), stunning walks along the coast East from Sidmouth (though not as flat as they look on the map!), gorgeous Budliegh Salterton with a must visit to the Cosy Teapot (for a cream tea) and a beautiful riverside walk to Otterton (for another cream tea!).
All this within just three and a half hours drive from Gravesend in Kent.
We do hope to be back Yurting again soon.
Mark and Rom

Room Tip: All the yurts looked lovely. though the Orchard Yurt we had is set a little apart in it's own pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My boyfriend & i stayed @ Hunger Hill for a long weekend of 4 nights. The price was very competitive & our booking was acknowledged promptly & accompanied with an extensive list of equipment provided in each of the yurts & on site, also directions!
The campsite was nicely laid out, so that each yurt had a decent sized pitch to accommodate a car, along with 2 hammocks, fire pit & picnic bench & chairs. They also offered a nice level of privacy from other campers on the site too & you got the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere (bliss!). The local village shop was only about 5 mins away (car), with sidmouth about 10 mins & a waitrose supermarket also nearby.
Inside our yurt contained a double bed & 2 single beds – they were so comfy! The yurt itself could warm up quickly in the evening with the wood burning stove. A feeling of luxury hit you as you entered the yurt. The kitchen area was well serviced with a camping gaz stove & all crockery/cutlery, etc you would need. There were further supplies in the communal kitchen if required, along with a 6 ring stove & oven, & washing up sinks. Each yurt also had a fridge allocated to it (based in the communal kitchen). There was emphasis on recycling all rubbish & so, labelled bins are provided to help you along the way.
There was no shortage of hot water either, which was good for showers! They were immaculate – i have seen dirtier in some hotels! Lots of hooks to stop your clothes or towels from getting wet. There was also a hair dryer available should it be required. Laundry washing could also be accommodated (communal washing liquid & washing line).
There were electric points in the toilet/shower block so that phones, cameras, torches, etc could be charged up.
We could not find fault with any aspect of our stay @ Hunger Hill & thoroughly enjoyed our time. We hope to return in 2012! We would definitely recommend for couples, families & friends alike as it is very much suited to all. It benefits from beautiful views & in addition to local sight-seeing opportunities, is a great area for cycling. Chris & Dave were very welcoming & helpful, thank you for helping make our stay so pleasant, it was just what we needed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Such a lovely welcoming place to stay, peaceful and quiet but with enough to keep our four year old occupied. There were so many little touches which made our stay more enjoyable, everything was beautiful presented and well thought out, we wish we could only have stayed longer. We all slept unbelievably well in the cocoon like yurts and will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

A beautifully decorated spacious and cosy yurt with outdoor fire pit and indoor wood burning stove ensured a wonderful relaxing stay (even if it rained from time to time!). We went with our two boys and had a really fabulous week. The owners were charming and helpful and the field in which the yurts sit was spacious and lush. The nearby coast was stunning and for the boys there was nearby go-karting and quad biking. We even went out on a mackerel fishing trip and barbequed our catch for supper on the beach.
You can be private in your own space or join in with families in the other yurts, with both communal and individual cooking facilities. There are hammocks outside and a table to eat at - we took our camping chairs for more comfort but really everything you need is there bar towels - all linen, kettle, pots and pans etc provided. I HIGHLY recommend this wonderful family holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon

Address: Hollytree, Hunger Hill, Newton Poppleford EX10 0BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Poppleford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Newton Poppleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunger Hill is open from April to October. There are 5 cosy Yurts with splendid views, set in a secluded two-acre meadow on a small holding with Kune kune pigs, ducks, chickens and a friendly old dog! The Yurts are furnished with comfy beds, kilims, cushions and sheepskins. Each Yurt has a wood burner and kitchen. Out side there is a fire pit with BBQ grill and hammocks. All Yurts are in easy reach of the main kitchen, toilets and showers. The Orchard Yurt has it own kitchen - dinning area, toilet and shower.Hunger Hill is a tranquil location next to the RSPB reserve on Aylesbere Common and close to spectacular East Devon beaches. It's a great place to holiday with friends and family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.