We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Catalina Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Catalina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Catalina Inn
Calle Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Catalina
Torio, Panama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Calm and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed for only one night but would have liked to stay longer.

The staff spoke great english and were very helpful in providing good orientation.

The rooms were well appointed and clean. There was nothing to fault.

modern comfort in a hippy town which was very welcome. I had visions of low end living when in fact it was quite high end imho.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the time we spent in Santa Catalina and the night we spent at Santa Catalina Inn. For a good price we were able to get a clean, private room with A/C, a private bathroom and a balcony with a table and chairs and a nice view of the surrounding greenery. The staff and people we met at the inn and at the attached restaurant were nice and great to talk to!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andorra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here a couple nights, although was only planning one.
Although i had a bad first impression after not having slept in a jungle area for 2years
there was a mini-wasp hive on the terasse and some inofensive beatles in the room)
everything else worked, unfortunately cell coverage was intermittent (working 80% of time)
The owner was very friendly and helpfull, has a garden with fruit and flowers, a nice bar and restaurant, had a great combo pizza and a lobster the second night, both were great ñam ñam ñam)
Thanks for the stay and hopefully i'll be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, We have to learn to live with nature. Thats the charm of Santa Catalina. Take care Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Santa Catalina Inn delivers value for money - clean, spacious rooms with a good terrace, functioning a/c, an excellent location and friendly folk. My wife and I didn't try the restaurant which has a good reputation locally. It doesn't serve breakfast but there's a small, good bakery nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean, and have a/c. The owner is friendly and helpful. It is well situated near some restaurants and the dive shop. It's about 20 min away from Estero beach, but it make for a nice walk. The restaurant is very good and has the best pizza in town, to my opinion.Overall we were very pleased. It's not most charming hotel (see La Buena Vida), but it doesn't lack charm and it's an excellent value for the price. They take credit cards, but beware of a steep 10% surcharge. Possible improvement: mini-fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg, canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

me and my sister stayed here during peak season/xmas time. the town is chill, laid back, with a good mix of laid back tourists and friendly locals. far enough from an airport/big city to attract tons of tourists but enough activites and restaurants/bars etc to accomadate them. the inn itself is super cute, clean and a great value for the $. also, not too busy that you feel like you are in a hotel. the restaurant ( which feels like your at a friends terrace) has cheap beer and yummy pizzas. We loved this place! the owner Adrian was super friendly as was everyone else we met here (at the inn and the whole town!). he even went out of his way to call my airline and arrange for my lost luggage to make it to santa catalina and then held it for me while we were on a 2 day island trip since neither me or my sister had a cell or are fluent in spanish. Amazing! Highly reccomend Santa Catalina Inn to anyone visiting and hope I can make it back again sometime!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here during our visit to Santa Catalina. The Santa Catalina Inn is perfectly situated, close to the shops and restaurants, part way along the road to the surf beaches. The rooms are pretty big but the furnishings are modest...good enough for the price that you pay. The owner, Adrian, is a wonderful guy. He was very helpful, for example, in storing our extra gear when we went to Isla Coiba for two days, and providing information. The AC in our was not working before we went to Coiba. We we returned, Adrian had put my friend and I up in separate, private rooms at no extra charge. We really appreciated this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, and strive to improve our services. Regards Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Inn

Address: Calle Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Catalina Inn opened during the summer of 2010 only steps from the center of Santa Catalina. The hotel is conveniently located on a quiet side road, within a short walk from beaches, restaurants, the surf break and dive shops.Our hotel offers five air-conditioned, spacious and well-decorated rooms each with a ceiling fan, hot water and private balconies or patios where guests can relax and watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Santa Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catalina Inn Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Catalina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.