We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving Without Getting Wet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Looe Key Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Looe Key Reef Resort to your Saves list
Looe Key Reef Resort
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   Mile Marker 27.5 Overseas Highway, 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod Key, FL 33042   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Fennville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diving Without Getting Wet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the worst places that I have stayed. Clean, but VERY run down. The only plus is the diving operation located on the property - professional, and very courteous - and the wifi (excellent). (Don't forget to ask for the 10% discount at the dive shop if you stay here, as they do not advertise it.)

The Tiki bar in the front caters to locals, almost all of whom smoke, so you can't get away from the cigarette smoke.

The only reason for the 2-point rating instead of 1-point, is the dive shop (which has excellent service, the cleanliness of the room, and the excellent wifi. Everything else is out of date and run down. The AC is noisy, no privacy in the "veranda", the pool has algae growing on the bottom, the lights behind the bed didn't work, insecure "button" lock on the door, This place is clearly "dated" in the 50's or 60's.

Good points:
Wifi is excellent, way better than most high-class hotels. Beer is cheap, dive shop is well run & friendly, clean rooms with tile floor & shower, and close to good restaurants.

Would I stay here again? Maybe (for the dive operation & discount), but not with my wife. She would not set foot in a place like this.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1, 2, 3. Away from the tiki bar with its live bands until late at night, and on 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
21
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lewiston ny
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could not of been happier..just what we were lookin for & more. So clean & tidy..nice littlè deck/regrig/really big TV...very nice modern & clean room. I would highly reccomend. TikiBar within steps....enough said

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OK, if you're used to Hiltons and Hyatts, you're going to be a bit underwhelmed when you open the door to your room. But, let's face it, how much time are you going to spend in there with the lights on? These are the Keys. You do just about everything outside. And, what's all this blather about rude or careless staff? From Megan at the desk to the kid who waited on us in the Tiki Bar to the crew on the dive boat, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We took the snorkel trip. The weather was lousy, but the crew was great. We recommend it. The place is clean. The food is good. The entertainment is good. I've stayed at name-brand chains and had much worse accommodations. It's a place to kick back, and we'll be going back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really can imagine people pulling up here and thinking "my god, what have we done?" And if you see reviews on here saying words like "dirty, smelly, loud" then you have to accept that this is not the place for you.
However, the rooms are spacious and have most amenities you could wish for. Comfy beds and a back door to a table and chairs facing the canal, which we thought was very nice.
The bar was good fun, nice singer until 11am, food ok and reasonably priced, although the beer is definitely watered down!!
The thing is, we didn't want to spend 300 on one nights stay in the Keys and I don't believe you will find a more reasonable motel as close to Key West.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Texas
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
441 helpful votes 441 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall it was a decent place to stay, clean and comfy; if you want more details good and bad, please read on...I tried to give a lot of info to help you out. If you are looking for a place to just sleep near Key West and not pay $300.00 a night, this is the place. We booked our room through Hotels.com and got a rate of $129.00. In most places you can stay at Hilton's and Marriott for this price, but not anywhere in the Keys in February. This is a small place on Ramrod Key about 25 miles from Key West. You check in through the Diving Shop, everyone is very friendly. There was NO parking anywhere near the rooms and you have to walk across a dirt parking lot by the Tiki Bar. The main thing we didn't like about this location was when they shut down the Diving Shop all the staff go home and you have to contact the Manager of the Tiki Bar...however, after that shuts down your SOL. They said it we had free Wifi, but forgot to give us the password for it, so we didn't get to access it at all. The A/C unit only had fan or cold settings and when it got down to the 40's at night we had NO HEAT. I know the Keys are mostly warm year around, but you cannot leave your guest no option for heat in the room. We loved the newly updated beds, so very comfortable. The room was very clean and nice flat screen TV. There was no phone in the room to contact the front desk or Tiki Bar, so you have to do that in person. The room has a front door and a back door and you do have a fantastic view off the balcony; so peaceful. Make sure you take your own shampoo, because they do not supply any in the room...which was no big deal to me. The motel only has 2 floors, but all are accessed from the outside and there is no elevator. The Tiki Bar has great prices and decent food, the atmosphere is true island and fun with a live bad. Yes, some may say the music is too loud and can be heard from the rooms, but it stops at 11:00pm and after all if your here, most are on vacation and getting up early isn't that big of a deal. We had a nice time, good sleep, good food and a nice drink and a little hide-a-way...well worth the paying half the cost of everywhere else in that area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the Wifi Code before leaving Office, they close at night and you cannot contact th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Being honest, calling Looe Key a "Resort" is a bit of a stretch, but the rooms were clean, beds were new & very comfortable, and the shared balcony outside was always maintained. We had one of the "newly renovated" rooms with a flatscreen TV, fridge & coffee maker. Could have used another coat of paint, especially on the front door, but again - the room itself was cleaned everyday and we never had to ask for extra towels, coffee, etc., and the A/C worked GREAT!! - Good location and the Tiki Bar is FABULOUS!! It's a hit for the locals & they have some kind of live music every day. The music goes until about 11, but since we were usually out there when it closed, this posed no problems for us! LOL All in all, I'd definitely stay again - most likely this time next year!! :)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

My husband and I stayed here 2 night mostly because we were going snorkeling through their Looe Key reef charter. Their snorkeling character was great but what they call resort was horrible, not only did we ask to stay away from the tiki bar where they play loud music (they literally gave us the closes room to the bar) their walls were super thin. You could hear people coughing that's how bad it was. The music went on until 11 pm then finally got lowered to were it was tolerable. The water when taking showers kept going from hot to cold...and the motel like room was dirty. After taking a shower just the walk to the bed my feet got dirty also my blanket had a cigarette burn on it and one of the bathroom towels had stains on it. Would not stay here ever again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ramrod Key hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Looe Key Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looe Key Reef Resort

Address: Mile Marker 27.5 Overseas Highway, 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod Key, FL 33042
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Ramrod Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Looe Key Reef Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looe Key Resort was constructed in 1958 and has been well maintained. We offer that chic old Florida charm. Our rooms have all be recently renovated and all offer Wi-Fi, a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and cable TV. We have an outdoor pool and offer kayaks, rental boats, dive/snorkel/fishing charters, and also have a Tiki bar & restaurant onsite. Come join us for a wonderful day on the reef. Now offering 2 trips daily!! Don't forget to visit the Looe Key Tiki Bar! Or just come and relax at our classic Keys Resort! **Please make sure to place reviews for our 3 listings in the appropriate location** -Review for Hotel or a combination of all 3 Resort Entities: please post HERE at "Looe Key Reef Resort" -Review for Tiki Bar: please post at "Looe Key Tiki & Grill" -Review for Dive & Snorkel Trips at "Looe Key Dive Center" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Looe Key Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Looe Key Reef Resort Ramrod Key, FL - Florida Keys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looe Key Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.