We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub/restaurent, shame about the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Town Path, Harnham SP2 8EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Harnham B&B and Inns
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good pub/restaurent, shame about the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Plus points - if you are looking for a pint and a meal then this is a good spot, good restaurent and good service, particularly in the evening we ate there. Great location too.

But what lets this hotel down are the rooms. I can only speak as regards the room we stayed in, but some other comments on this site make me suspect many others have been, shall we say, disappointed!

Its an old place so you want and expect old and interesting. Unfortunately what you get is old and 'very' dated. The en suite frankly reminded me of my student days but I dont spend £100 p/night to stay in student digs. Peeling paint, cracked tiles, missing grouting, enough said I think.

Its a great shame because if the rooms were completed to a similar standard to many of the older places we have stayed then we would defo be going back.

I'd go back for a pint, but would look elsewhere to stay.

Shame :-(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    44
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
26
65
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a pristine, modern, unexceptional hotel you might be better off in a Premier Inn. If you are looking for a picturesque, characterful, interesting building, with friendly staff, excellent food, a pub beneath your feet, a river beneath your feet, ducks outside your window and a sense of history then the Old Mill is definitely for you. It's an old building so there are creaking floorboards and the occasional low headroom. All that is offset by the slightly shabby, cosy rooms, the delicious meals and the lovely staff. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor for good views and no creaky floorboards overhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Easy walk to the city centre over the meadows, great food and friendly service.
Old building full of character with good real ales.
We will definitely stay again- highly recommended. (Free parking about 50M away).

Room Tip: 2nd floor doubles are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We took a short holiday to Salisbury last year to do the cathedral and Stonehenge. I lucked out and found this place on tripadvisor. Superb location on the water meadows, wonderful little,walking path to town centre. Rooms a little shabby but warm, quite and comfortable. The pub is classic and they pull a good pint. The restaurant is wonderful with the water race underneath and they still know how to serve a full English breakfast. We will come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port moody, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you are looking for modern this is not the place for you. That said if you are looking to stay in a converted old mill with charm surrounded by amazing scenery this is it. The night we stayed we were the only ones in the hotel portion but the pub was busy day and night. With families, friends and their dogs to have a pint by the pond. We ate at the Hotel in the pub to experience the local flavour. We would definitely say we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this 'hotel' this weekend 8th December, to say we were disappointed would be an understatement. we arrived early and left the car for the day to go to meet family so did not go to our room until around 10.30 pm after have a very expensive drink in the bar.
When we arrived in our room the heating had not been turned on so it was very cold, however the radiator did work when we switched it on. unlike the heated towel rail - the only form of heating in the bathroom, which was in need of complete refurbishment. not only did it not have any heat, the light over the mirror did not work, the toilet was badly cracked as was the sink, the paper and paint were peeling from the walls and there were dead bugs on the windowseals (ladybirds which must have been there some time) As for the bed - I cannot explain how grateful we were when morning came so we could get up, the mattress had such a severe dip that I could not sleep (double bed - shared) and it gave me terrible back ache. We explained this to the 'house maid' on our way out, she said they would turn the mattress! We also expalined to the person who we paid, who said he would pass the comments to the management, no word of apology or offer of the management to come to speak to us.
I personally would have made an official complatin, but my husband is a very nice man and does not like conflict at all so we did not.
I would urge anyone thinking of staying here to seek overnight accomodation elsewhere.
there are a couple of thinks that were very good, the location is lovely and the breakfast was very nice, but even that taken into consideration we will never return to this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel over the first weekend in November.

The hotel has a great location overlooking the river and is around a 15 minute walk away from the city centre. The level footpath to the city centre crosses the water meadow and is well lit after dark.

Excellent friendly staff in the pub and they served a good breakfast in the morning.

Our room was looking rather tired and in need of a facelift, somewht expensive for the grade of room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Town Path, Harnham SP2 8EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Harnham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All accommodations have beautiful views across the water meadows and Salisbury Cathedral from many public areas. Stunning riverside gardens, 11 oak beamed en-suite bedrooms - Superior hotel accommodation and facilities throughout. Our a la carte menu provides fine dining in the evenings and bar meals are available day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Hotel And Restaurant Harnham, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mill Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.