We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Landford Poacher - CLOSED

The Landford Poacher
Pound Hill | Southampton Road, Landford, England
01794 390 353
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After booking in to a B&B close by popped in for a meal. Landlord seemed very polite and friendly. Bit surprised when I asked for a pint of bitter he disapearded in to the kitchen although there were pumps in the bar. Strong feeling it was a bottled beer.

Food ordered although I had to ask what the specials were. I went for the home made steak & kidney pudding; excellent, the wife went for pan fried chicken, which she was a little disappointed with as she felt it was chicken in gravy. The piece of grissle she found didn't help.

The decor was very 70's and altough did not see one, plenty of dog hairs around. Atmosphere was a little lacking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    14
    7
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC MEAL WELL SERVED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Oh joy we have just had two fantastic Sunday Roasts, one beef, one roast pork followed by home made bread and butter pud with custard. Meat was excellent the veg was just brilliant cooked just right huge portion and good value. The Owners were busy on bar and tables and gave us a friendly welcome. Dog was welcome too. Very happy experience and so glad we went there after trying so many over rated and expensive forest pubs. We will be back...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where we in the same place????”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I wonder if we were actually in the same place as the lady below!!
I too was having lunch at The Landford Poacher with group on Sunday 4th August. The food was, as usual, wonderful and perfectly cooked!
The dogs in question were indeed barking and the children with the party were 'in and out' every two minutes which was quite uncomfortable!
I don't think anyone waited too long for food....the place had been extremely busy for the first hour or so......we noted on our arrival, hence the beef being exhausted before the end of the session....however Lamb was then offered, I noticed, and Pork.
Exceptional choice, exceptional food and exceptional value. Everyone enjoyed their meal and had dessert with no complaints.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked for a Family birthday as the location suited us for all our family to meet.

Service was very unfriendly you felt like a pain for even being there! We waited for a long time to even order a drink if we hadn't of booked this for our grandfathers birthday we would have certainly just left. We were first spoken to by being told if we didn't keep our dogs under control we would have to leave our dogs are very well behaved. The service was so slow that My brother took his little girl who is only 18 months old outside to the garden after her dinner as we were all still waiting for our food! While he was outside letting her stretch her legs he was told he would have to leave if she wasn't kept under control too!

We had a nice time because we were all together, but it was no thanks to this pub's ambience and hospitality that's for sure!
We won't be taking anyone there, spend your money where you get good food a wonderful service it's not here that's for certain.

The owners should perhaps think about a different career as even a welcoming smile was too much trouble very poor indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT VISIT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

What a truly awful place in every way. Went for a grandparents family birthday and felt I needed to write my first review on Trip Advisor! Such rude staff and made you feel very awkward, it was as if you we're putting them out by being there. Only 3 options for lunch and they had run out of 1 before 1PM, which says a lot for how busy they expect to be. The building is on its last legs and the garden is closed due to the very bad state of the furniture and surrounding area. I agree with another comment someone wrote.......'I didn't think places like this still existed!'

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Landford Poacher also viewed

Landford, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Plaitford, Hampshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landford Poacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.