We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceded all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lodge

Pine Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaiteriteri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Lodge
D'urville Way | off Cederman Drive Kaiteriteri Height, Kaiteriteri 7197 , New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
“Exceded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Thank you Bill and Sheila for a wonderful stay. The quality of the accommodation provided excededour expectations. The lodge was kept spotlessly clean with every attention to detail. The location is a perfect base for exploring and it was reassuring to know that, after a hard day's sightseeing, we would be returning to delicious home cooked fare in the relaxing and friendly atmosphere created by our hosts. This was our first stay but we have pledged to return again as soon as we are able and this time, we will bring our family with us to enjoy this special place.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

Review: Pine Lodge, New Zealand

This was my first visit to New Zealand and Pine Lodge provided a fantastic base to explore the northern area of South Island.

The location of Pine Lodge is to just to die for as the house sits on a Peninsula overlooking beaches and with views across to Nelson.

The accommodation and cuisine was first class and every thing and more was provided to make my stay in New Zealand a most enjoyable and very memorable experience. I never tired of sitting on the terrace or looking through the well-positioned windows watching the ever-changing sky and seascape.

My hosts, Bill and Sheila Creighton, provided a very warm and welcoming atmosphere in their beautiful home which is filled with antiques and fascinating minerals and mining artefacts. They took great care to ensure my time with them was the very best that could be offered. They were also very generous in sharing their knowledge of the area and as a consequence I saw some spectacular places, which are not on the usual tourist trails.

The experience was so good I am planning a return visit, hopefully in 2008.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavaillon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

Superlatives can become less potent with quantity, however it will be difficult to write this review without using a few.
The Pine Lodge is quite simply fabulous. We made the trip to the other side of the world looking for a "holiday of a lifetime" and Bill and Sheila made sure it was just that. We found the people of New Zealand to be perfect hosts and, in Pine Lodge, we might as well have been in our own home. Comfortable, clean, friendly and perfectly located it was the Lodge that made our time in New Zealand just perfect. I don't know how long it will be before we can make such a grand trip again but when we do, it will be to stay at Pine Lodge.
If, like us, a holiday in New Zealand is going to be a landmark event you really should stay with Bill and Sheila.
Thank you both.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

We spent a full week at majical Pine Lodge earlier this month.it was the most wonderful week we have ever had the good fortune to enjoy the sensory delights of South Island.
The hosts Shiela and Bill just made us so welcome and relaxed.It really was a home from home experience.Nothing was too much trouble for them. Each day was different and we had such glorious weather to enjoy the magnificent landscape, seascape and surrounding peaceful countryside.
Each day we chose a different activity and destination, treking in the national park, bird watching, going to see the signts in the local towns and villages, a trip on a boat and the best of all to end the week , a day in and arround Pine Lodge itself.
If you could bottle the atmosphere and take it home it would be the most wonderful tonic you could take.
I am afraid we will judge all future holiday destinations against the most majical Pine Lodge and hope that when we have time to re visit south Island this gem will be our home again.
Just go and drink the atmosphere, it's intoxicating, so powerful we left totally rejuvanated and ready to take on the world!

  • Liked — It was perfect
  • Disliked — Unfortunately we did not live there all the year round!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Bill and Sheila Creighton,the hosts and owners of Pine Lodge.Their home cap[tures the beautiful scenery of the area and the gardens surrounding their home are colourful and well maintained. Our hosts were very thoughtful and attentive and the rooms are comfortable and private. Meals were nicely presented and enjoyable.They also have many interesting items in their extensive collections.We were there for a week and took the opportunity to use their guest's vehicle to see more of the South Island for another week then back to them again for another four days. One can certainly relax there, or get about and enjoy the interesting countryside.Signed Lynne and Lloyd Staunton,Cairns,Nth.Queensland, Australia.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

My Wife and I stayed at Pine Lodge during our tour of Australia and New Zealand in January to March 2005. It was without doubt the finest accommodation we sampled throughout our entire trip. The scenery is spectacular, the accommodation luxurious and the hospitality second to none. If anyone has the Abel Tasman National Park on their itinery then why not indulge yourself either before you go in or better still when you come out. Believe us it will be worth it.
Joan and John Thompson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

We booked into Pine Lodge as what looked like a suitable base for a few days exploring the Abel Tasman National Park. It turned out to be a real find, with a fantasticly comfortable suite with near 360 views over the bay and the mountains behind. Bill and Sheila somehow managed to conjour up just what we needed at just the right time, yet left us to enjoy our stay in our own way. A real 5* experience, without all the impersonal stuff of a hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Quality and location of the accommodation
  • Disliked — Sand flies - but that's NZ for you.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge

Address: D'urville Way | off Cederman Drive Kaiteriteri Height, Kaiteriteri 7197 , New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kaiteriteri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome as Exclusive Guests at Pine Lodge just minutes walk from Kaiteriteri Beach. The Abel Tasman National Park is on our doorstep. Have a day of adventure. Travel into the park by water taxi or enjoy a bush walk. Return to Pine Lodge with very special memories. Enjoy this unique area of South Island, New Zealand. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pine Lodge to your Saves list