We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay during the Sagra del Cinghiale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Vecchie Cantine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Vecchie Cantine to your Saves list
Le Vecchie Cantine
Piazza Bartoli, 14, 56034 Chianni, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Chianni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brevard, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay during the Sagra del Cinghiale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We travelled to Chianni to celebrate the Sagra del Cinghiale in late November 2012 and stayed at Le Vecchie Cantine. We could not have had a more delightful experience! The hotel is incredibly charming and the staff could not have been more caring and attentive. For those who are more comfortable speaking the English language while vacationing in Italy, there are those on staff who speak the language perfectly. The staff seems to eagerly cater to your every need.

One cannot write of Le Vecchie Cantine without describing their fantastic restaurant. It offers a good selection of traditional Tuscan dishes and seasonal specialties. We indulged ourselves with various delicious dishes that were flavored with truffles from the surrounding region. This is Italy (and Tuscany) at its best!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Direttore at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your generous and kind review! We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay and found a comfortable place where spending your holidays in Tuscany.
We are also delighted to hear you appreciated our restaurant, service and staff!
We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
98
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Podgorica, Montenegro
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

It is situated in the town center with beautiful little square in front of the hotel. Magnificent surroundings if you came with an aim to relax and enjoy local wines and cuisine. It appears to me that hotel has undergone through complete refurbishment recently and furnished in old Tuscan style and decor. Rooms are spacious, however our room (No.15) was just above main kitchen and sometimes smell could reach our floor. Girl at the reception spoke excellent English. They had small problems with an Internet in the lobby area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Direttore at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your lovely and very kind review. We are glad you appreciated our hotel and restaurant. We hope you liked our landscapes, our little town and the other tuscan cities you visited. We would be very happy to see you again in Chianni!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very nice, quiet, clean and beautiful. Everywhere in the hotel there are beautiful and interesting paintings, it is a good place to relax and beeing influenced by art and good way of life. Excellent food and service! It was hard to deside what to eat, everything sound so good and it also tasted very, very excellent. I wished to stay longer and eat everything in the menu! Perfect english speaking staff. I would recommend this place for all stays in beautiful tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioToscana, Direttore at Le Vecchie Cantine, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Client,
We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind review. We wait for you to come back and eat what you missed from our menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wednesbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had great stay again ,upgraded to front room at no extra cost gratzie Allesio.Given bottle of wine when leaving made to feel very welcome.Restaurant good like to eat outside if possible in lovely little piazza.

Room Tip: Try to get front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Originally we booked this hotel as a B&B-stay. The room was enormously spacious! The bathroom was very chique and had everything we needed. The room was cleaned every day even though we forgot to ask it (with a sign on the door). We really appreciated that they have cleaned it anyway because when it is hot and you are all sweaty all you want to do is take a shower and dry yourself with a CLEAN towel :-) The breakfast was good, not too much and certainly not too little. The personnel was very friendly and did their very best to speak English and to understand you. When we asked for the remote control to turn on the airconditioning, there was no problem (and believe me I had some other experiences in this field where I did not got any airco at all). There was also internet access in the public area's (such as the reception and the restaurant).

Room Tip: I can not imagine there are 'bad' rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Le Vecchie Cantine just before our holiday home rental near Chianni in late June - and visited it frequently during our stay for dinner, coffee over the following 2 weeks. It is an immaculately presented hotel, in a beautiful little square. The family who run the hotel are exceptionally friendly and generous and we were extremely well looked after by Alessio at Front Desk and Rita in the kitchen. We hope to come back to the area and will definitely be staying at the Vecchie again. We had the 2-bed apartment which was ideal with our 2 kids. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for four nights when we went to see Andrea Bocelli at Lajatico.The concert was superb as was the hotel.The staff were very helpful and friendly,nothing was too much trouble for them.As well as having a lovely ambience the food in the restaurant was very good with plenty of choice and the prices were very reasonable.Would dearly love to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Vecchie Cantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vecchie Cantine

Address: Piazza Bartoli, 14, 56034 Chianni, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Chianni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chianni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have given each room its own unique character to set it apart from the others, offering our guests the pleasure of a welcoming and restful atmosphere. In addition to every possible comfort, we add a touch of warmth and intimacy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Vecchie Cantine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Vecchie Cantine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.