We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pitea Stadshotell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pitea Stadshotell to your Saves list
Pitea Stadshotell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olof Palmes Gata 1, Pitea 94133, Sweden (Formerly Sweden Hotel Pitea Stadshotell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pitea
Karleby
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of Piteå. The building is beautiful, really something else. The rooms are ok. Not small not big, no extras. The breakfast is ok but the lunch is very good to a very good price. The staff was ok, not very helpful but ok. A beautiful building but everything else is average.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
21
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buzau, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Old but nice and comfortable hotel. Very interesting when it's viewed from outside and also inside. Pretty nice, cosy rooms - quite well arranged and equipped with minimum necessary. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly. I hadn't any kind of problems and I stayed here for 2 nights. It was very interesting to watch "The white nights", quite typically for the region and this time of the year. If you are not a picky person then this hotel is exactly what you need! Recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Criticizing this hotel as some have done on tripadvisor is a bit like saying that Claudia Cardinale looked better when she was 25 than she does now: unfair! The hair is grey and there are some wrinkles, but the grand old Pitea Stadshotell is still a classy broad.

The hotel has not been renovated in a long time, but this is part of the charm: the old fashioned furniture, the bed that swallows you up and its thick, fluffy comforters, the period light fixtures and grand staircase. This is a place with personality. The outside of the hotel looks like the luxury hotels of yore. Film buffs will think of the hotels in Death in Venice or The Shining (still up and running on Mount Hood in Oregon). There are many ghosts at the Pitea Stadshotell.

The restaurant serves excellent reindeer filet, cooked to order, and other simply, but well-prepared dishes. Its prices are not low (Kr80 for a glass of table wine), but this is Sweden! The service by a group of young female hipsters is first class.

The décor is quirky. Personally, I would get rid of the big screen TVs and Salvador Dalí prints and keep the old fashioned look. The wooden floors, large full length mirrors, sauna in the basement and style from a by gone era are what make this hotel so nice. Guests who believe that a four star hotel means hair dryers and mini bars should join DSK at the nearest Novotel or similar chain.

The breakfast is excellent, with all of the choices you would expect to find in a hotel of this level. Be sure to take it to the room next to that with the buffet in order to enjoy the grandeur of the place.

The service in the hotel is hit or miss. Look for the young female hipsters if you want prompt service. Some of the frumpy Swedes can be gruff and unhelpful (Do you have espresso? "No." Is there a place with a smoke sauna near Pitea? "Ask at the tourist office."). If you choose your staff member carefully, all will be well. Hopefully the owners will take notice and hire more trendy young staff.

I travel a lot and like to stay in hotels that are part of the local culture, instead of anonymous business chains that are the same if you are in Hong Kong, New York or Bangladesh. If you are like me, be sure to stay at the Pitea Stadshotell!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. As strange as it may seem in Pitea, the hotel faces a busy street. Since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Amenities are poor for a 4-star hotel. No conditioner for your hair, and no towel for your hair either--a single, small towel for the shower. The shower itself was awful to try to point the cheap plastic showerhead in any useful direction, and the drain in the shower didn't work properly so I was stepping into the cold wet from the day before every morning. Liquid soap is out at the sink, so forget using soap in the shower!
Called for a wake-up call as had to get up for important meeting and didn't get the wake-up call. No alarm clock in room.
Quite disappointing, all around, apart from the free wifi and breakfast. It was clean, and quiet when I stayed.

Room Tip: Take the top floor to get away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night in the winter. The building is old and interesting and the room was modern and clean. The price was reasonable, the breakfast good and the evening meal in the restaurant was really lovely. There is outside car heater points available. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Does what it says on the tin.
Electric connection for car at rear car park a plus!
Breakfast included. Different character depending on where you are in the hotel property, dwindling corridors. Piteå is a hotel close to the Arctic Circle (at least en route) renowned for its long sandy beach. Must be back in summer and check it out!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

On our epic adventure ice racing and chasing the northern lights we had to find a place to stop for the night. After skimming the net while on the move (I had a killer mobile bill to prove that a month later) I saw this rather grand but imposing building that looked like a little bit of luxury I craved for the night. We located it after going through an industrial types of town that took us further into the town centre. We had our own car so we thought nothing lost by pulling up as I darted in to see what the rooms were like and if I could barter a deal. I'm not adversed to walking away if I don't like what I see, because through past experience these grand places can look great in the halls but tired and dated in the actual rooms. Its was about 5.30pm and snowing (as usual in feb) so I spoke to a fairly reserved but confused receptionist who after us coming to an agreement on what I was willing to pay (roughly £100 a night, inc breakfast) she gave me a key to look at a 'good' room. It was alright but I was in the mood for something better. The place seemed quiet so I chanced my hand and asked for the upgraded version. She recoiled with a little surprise, then I looked like I was going to go, and thanked her for her assistance. As I turned she said she had something else and my word it was super lovely! (room 222) I went back out to my husband, who I think was more worried about how expensive the place looked! He was just happy to get a rest and if I liked the place, cause I am the problem. (he's not fussy as you can guess).

The parking was easy and looked secure (even had car heaters to plug into) The grand staircases and lovely furniture looked well placed and not tired, with updated touches. The room was beautifully decorated, clean and spacious. We made a dinner reservation which was below the hotel which again was well presented and service was great. We decided to have traditional swedish meal which some it was good, some quite rank (mixed platter for tasters) but we were relaxed and wanted to enjoy the full dining experience which we don't regret. (restaurant 1906 - Scandinavian steakhouse)

The breakfast was massive buffet and we were spoilt for choice. There was two young girls looking after the buffet and they simply didn't want to be there yawning away which was a shame but maybe they had a late night! (we certain did ironically we got stuck in a ditch till 1pm with the motor chasing the lights. (lucky a friendly farmer pulled us out and we got to enjoy our room!)

the farmer and his wife gets 5* for saving us in -18

Room Tip: I could see it possibliy could be noisy but our room 222 was out the way and facing the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pitea Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitea Stadshotell

Address: Olof Palmes Gata 1, Pitea 94133, Sweden (Formerly Sweden Hotel Pitea Stadshotell)
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Pitea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pitea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitea Stadshotell 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitea Stadshotell is our four-star business and conference hotel in the heart of Pitea. Behind the more than 100 year-old hotel facade lies the perfect meeting place for all occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pitea Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitea Stadshotell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.