We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real castle experience for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Alarcon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Alarcon to your Saves list
Parador de Alarcon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Amigos de los Castillos, 3, 16213 Alarcon, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alarcon
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real castle experience for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We wanted our son to have a castle experience and that he did. From our first view of the castle on the hill to our final departure on the road out of the small town, this excursion trip out of Madrid was fabulous. The feel of the history of the structure was very powerful. The panoramic views of the countryside were beautiful. We were there in the summer, I would like to also try a visit in the winter after the snow has fallen. The food was excellent and a good representation of the region, more earthy and heavier than the coastal Spanish regions. The travel find is located on the road between Madrid and Valencia along the La Mancha route, with lavender fields blooming in the summer along with the sun flowers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    48
    21
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
122
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a lovely Parador this is in a perfect setting. Our room was very good with views of the surrounding countryside. We borrowed the key from reception to walk the ramparts and this was well worth it - stunning views.
Excellent restaurant with good service and superb food.
A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
311 hotel reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked a room that we understood would be in a castle and have two beds. Instead we were offered a room in an annex to the castle and that had only one bed. When we expressed our dissatisfaction, we were told that we should take up the matter with the agency through whom we booked the room. We were able to cancel the room at book at a four-star hotel next to the Parador, but the unpleasant reception we received at this Parador has put a sour taste in our mouth for future Parador experiences.

Room Tip: Book at the Villa de Alarcon, and save yourself expense and hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A truly incredible Parador which is the castle! with only 16 rooms (I think) - we had one of the rooms in the tower which overlooked the town itself. Although it is the most expensive Parador we have stayed in it is by far the most impressive. The restaurant was superb for both dinner and breakfast and breakfast was not the usual buffet but choose whatever you wanted from a menu. Ensure you borrow the key from reception to walk the ramparts for incredible views of the surrounds. All mod cons in an old castle - just brilliant. Words cannott fully describe this place - go and try it.

Room Tip: Go for a tower room they are dearer but worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the most expensive parador we stayed in, but the setting was lovely. The rooms, though small was beautifully appointed and we had a delightful view of a tower. The information we were given said there was no restaurant. As it happened, there was one, but it was shut. It was a nice change to have breakfast brought to the table, instead of self-service from a buffet. Also meant eggs were freshly cooked. The town itself was pretty dead with the few sites shut on a Monday and Tuesday, but we did a lovely walk around Alarcon, down into the gorge and up the other side.

Room Tip: If you want to be the princess in the tower, you will need to book the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location and style of this Hotel is unique and it has been so well restored. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. The rooms are well appointed with modern equipment and the rooms with windows overlook craggy landscape and you can almost see the warriors approaching.
The breakfast was excellent. We did not try the main restaurant in the evening as the previous night in Cuenca we were so disappointed with the food and service that we decided to eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get with a window at regular height
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view was magnificent, the building amazing and the rooms both modern and ancient in a very stylish way. The staff were also extremely helpful and our children loved it. The only fault I could mention was the the restaurant facilities are limited and so our food was re-heated and therefore only adequate. But for such a beautiful setting, who cares?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Alarcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Alarcon

Address: Avda. Amigos de los Castillos, 3, 16213 Alarcon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Alarcon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alarcon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Alarcon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional witness to the Reconquest, this 8th. castle, perfectly preserved, retains the aura of Arabic influence, with inimitable bedrooms which recreate the most romantic legends. It rises up on a promontory which presides over a fertile bend of the river Júcar. Military motifs from that period dominate the living rooms, impregnated with stone and Castilian wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Alarcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Alarcon Hotel Alarcon
Parador De Hotel Alarcon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Alarcon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.