We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Parador ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Alarcon

Save Saved
You added Parador de Alarcon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Alarcon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Amigos de los Castillos, 3, 16213 Alarcon, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alarcon
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Parador ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spectacular setting. Wonderful food and service. Slightly strange bathroom setting but worked surprisingly well. Loved the view of the observatory out the bedroom window. i would come back gere in a heartbeat

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    40
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A wonderful hotel to stay in with attention to detail. There was a "scroll" on arrival in our room describing some of the history of the person our room was named after ... and in English.
On the down side, there is very little to do here. I could have spent a couple of hours exploring the town walls and out-lying towers. If we had booked in advance we might have tried canoeing or moutain biking ... and it looks as if their might be some interesting walks, if that is your thing ... but other than that, the best thing about the hotel is that it is approximately half way between Madrid and Valencia. The hotel is the biggest thing in the "town". So good for a night but not two.
Even the shops are a 10k drive away.
And while we are on the subject ... breakfast was disappointing. No buffet but waitress service so we had to ask for more coffee etc etc.
Further hint ... don't take your luggage up the dozen or so steps to reception. Book in first and then take you cases to your room via lift without any problems.

Room Tip: Only 14 rooms and hotel is very popular. They were turning people away when we arrived so book in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our 5th stay in a Parador, with the usual quality of service and friendly staff that we have now come to expect. However, the spectacular setting of this hotel, coupled with our spacious and well furnished room in the castle tower (complete with a window seat overlooking the town), have made this a very memorable stay...and for us, stepped this up from 4 stars to 5 stars on the Trip Advisor scale. The overall ambience was a little lacking but this was perhaps due to the small number of hotel guests at this time of year. If you stay, don't forget to ask for the doorkey to the castle battlement (ronda)...the views are fantastic.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As always the best thing about the Paradors in Spain is the personnel - always friendly, helpful, attentive, etc. Originally we were given a room in the wall, maybe a bit on the small size but very comfortable. Unfortunately the shower didn't work well. When we mentioned it at the reception, we were immediately given a room in the tower. The room was small but to be expected in a castle from the 8th century, however very well furnished and equipped. Just being able to say that you slept in a castle with canopy, stone walls, etc. is wonderful.
The dinner was very good and not outrageously priced - I believe the parador menu, which was quite complete, was about 36 euros. Breakfast was also excellent. Unlike other paradors it is not a buffet, but a one price menu with everything you could think to ask for.
Definitely worth repeating this visit.

Room Tip: Although rooms 107-114 in the wall are quite nice, the rooms in the tower have much more atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Amazing setting, very off the beaten track, but slightly disappointing, we paid a lot of money for the experience of staying in an 8th century castle, the room was small, breakfast mediocre at best, definitely not 4*, I would barely give it 3*. If historical buildings are your thing, then give it a go, but if you are looking for comfort & vfm give it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in this Parador. The idea of sleeping in a castle was very appealing to us and the rate was cheaper than it usually is so we decided to go for it.

First of all, the hotel is smaller than we anticipated with only 14 rooms. We had a regular room which was located in the wall section of the castle. The room was well furnished and as expected relatively small with only very small windows (it's a castle after all).

The hotel is extremely quiet, the service was good but a bit more attention would have been appreciated.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was good and priced reasonably.

Overall we had a good time but we were slightly disappointed with Alarcon itself as there wasn't a lot to do in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Parador in Alarcon with my parents for 3 nights 7th till 10th August. As Parador fanatics we knew what standard to expect but this Parador exceeded all expectations. Both our rooms were in the Gallery and both of excellent size, furnishings and standard, both having an integral castle wall as part of their features. The bathrooms we presume were newly furnished and very modern, although the trendy shower head did defeat us all! The Parador itself is a delight, almost surreal in its historicalness! It is tiny but this adds to the charm and makes the whole experience of staying here more intimate.
We ate in the restaurant once. The menu was extensive, available in English with a good selection of local dishes on offer. It was not cheap, as Parador food often isn't but all parts were cooked to a very high standard, both fish and meat!
Breakfast is served in the main dining room and unlike other Paradores is not a buffet, given the limited number of rooms. However service was impeccable and the choice on the menu could have fed an army.
For us what set this Parador apart from others we have stayed in was the friendliness of the staff. Too often we have felt the staff had little pride in their jobs and smiling seemed too much of an effort, at times we have even felt neglected as foreign tourists: not the case at Alarcon. All staff were extremely friendly, with constant smiles greeting you from everyone. They spoke limited English and were very patient with my limited Spanish and they could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Alarcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Alarcon

Address: Avda. Amigos de los Castillos, 3, 16213 Alarcon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Alarcon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alarcon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Alarcon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional witness to the Reconquest, this 8th. castle, perfectly preserved, retains the aura of Arabic influence, with inimitable bedrooms which recreate the most romantic legends. It rises up on a promontory which presides over a fertile bend of the river Júcar. Military motifs from that period dominate the living rooms, impregnated with stone and Castilian wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Parador de Alarcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Alarcon Hotel Alarcon
Parador De Hotel Alarcon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Alarcon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.