We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cidade de Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cidade de Goa to your Saves list
Cidade de Goa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vainguinim Beach | Goa, Dona Paula 403004, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dona Paula
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went from our office trip to goa and stayed here. The resort is nice well maintained and truly deserves 5 star.

Beach was awesome. Nothing much to describe.

I feel , for eating out you have to go out 2 km from the hotel to find a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Dasgupab,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you recent stay with us was a ‘very nice experience’.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform our guests that we offer multiple dining options within the resort- Laranja (multi-cuisine buffet restaurant), Café Azul (all day dining multi-cuisine restaurant, specializing in wood-oven pizzas), Barbeque (open air grill restaurant, serving fresh sea-food) and Doçaria ( 24-hour coffee shop). If our guests prefer to dine outside the resort, we also provide transport service through our travel desk.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    372
    139
    48
    47
See reviews for
316
278
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were here for a very close friend's wedding. The joyful occasion was absolutely transformed into a delightful experience by the hospitality we received here. we were here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The behavior and helpful attitude of the staff was very touching.

We stared our days with the extensive breakfast buffet options. Due o lack of time we needed quick assistance with arranging for a car o explore the nearby beaches and other places. to our rescue came their 24/7 transport desk. it was efficient and they provided us with a knowledgeable chauffeur.

the only drawback of this resort is that its at a remote location with a very average beach. its peaceful staying here bu be prepared to spend on hiring a car if you want to explore the rest of goa. the resort is closer to north goa and you have to be prepared to travel far to enjoy the pristine beaches of south goa. I would refer this resort for corporate getaways and as a destination wedding venue but not for enjoying the beaches or the true goa spirit

Room Tip: avoid the 100 series room as they don't have the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear FreedomTraveler13,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for writing this review and for sharing your experience with us.

Cidade de Goa is indeed an ideal location for weddings due to its extensive and exclusive landscaped lawns and fully equipped indoor functions. Our beach facing venues offer spectacular views of the ocean and perfect photo opportunities.

We are glad to note your appreciation towards the efficiency and hospitality of our staff, especially the transport desk.

Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will choose to return to Cidade de Goa in the near future.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in Cedade De Goa from 21st-23rd Oct'13 in room number 349 and can rate it as the worst hotel we have ever stayed in our life. The service was pathetic and even the request for drinking water was fulfilled after an hour of wait, there was no wireless internet available in the hotel rooms and they asked to come down to lobby and access internet after paying charges. You can hear lot of noise from other rooms during the day and night and it leaves you no where even if you request to change the room. Charges are equivalent to good hotels in the same vicinity but still they don't offer average service.

In the hussle to leave the hotel I missed my settled bill which was done using my credit card, now when I have requested for it several times from a lady called Liza, everytime she tells that she will send in another 15 minutes but no luck since last 3 days. They are extremely poor to stay in service or hospitality field.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Ruchin_kumar,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write this review. I apologize that we were unable to deliver to you the service standards that Cidade de Goa prides itself on. It is with utmost concern that we have noted that the inconveniences caused to you during your stay

Please accept our apologies for the fact that we were unable to offer you a room change as we were sold out for 21-23rd October 2013. The invoice requested by you has already been dispatched to the email address provided to us already.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The premier 5-star resort will inspire to engage, relax, work and play. The resort has lush green land and has picturesque views of the expansive beach to meet every need of leisure or business traveler. Food preparation was good but breakfast spread for non-vegetarians was limited. Good swimming pools, vast spread out area for walk in green or beach, water sports like Jet Ski, motor boat ride, banana boat ride, basket ball court, beach volleyball, small but nice casino, gym, table tennis and so on. Rooms were clean and good, toiletries were ample but the hotel failed to provide with slippers. Once you are in this resort you will hardly try to go out as this resort offers almost everything to enjoy, relax or play.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear EkamSingh,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our beach resort and have such kind words to say about the same.

As pointed out by you, we do indeed cater to both business and leisure travellers- from multiple dining options to outdoor sports like tennis and water sports to fully equipped business centre and spa, we have something for everything.

We are glad to read that you found the rooms at par your expectations. We have also noted your feedback regarding the buffet spread at the breakfast and the room amenities. We have taken the same up with the concerned departments.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will chose to visit Cidade de Goa again in the near future and give us a chance to delight you as always.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

very good hotel, old but neat and people are very friendly, very close to the beach. and close to other beaches like mirmar, etc, they have a spa, swimming pool, and outdoor games, rooms are big and facing sea is too good with a balcony

Room Tip: very good hotel for a family, go ahead and unwind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sasidar,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review post your stay with us.

We are happy to read that your recent stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you liked the various services and amenities provided.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is about 45 mins from the airport, and 10 mins from Panjim city.

To start with, this resort came up 31 years ago so do not expect it to be flourishing with modern design. However, the building is designed by Charles Correa, one of the leading architects in India, and this is where the difference lies. The building allows a lot of its exterior landscape to become a part of it, covers a huge area and will offer many ways in and around it thanks to the intricate walk ways.

The rooms are up to date, and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had opted for a superior room with a king size bed. It had a lovely view of the pool and the beach alongside. The food is good, but be prepared to wait before the room service attends to your request. There is scope of improvement here.

The pool is a lovely place to hang around. It has a bar next to it and also has a great setting next to the beach. The beach at times may not look very inviting for a dip as it tends to get murky at times. The resort offers water sports for those interested.

We also tried the spa here, and were happy with what was on offer. The resort offers baby sitting services. We opted for it while visiting the spa and our daughter had a great time. Special mention of Elizabeth, who took care of our child and was very warm and caring. She has been here for 21 years and is one of the oldest serving staff members.

Yes, there is live entertainment by the evenings....which everyone may not enjoy.

The biggest let down here was the front desk. The staff is pan faced, do not greet you when you approach them and pretty slow in responding to your requests. They took more than 45 mins to ready my invoice before check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Orator4Life,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that your recent stay with us was ‘truly relaxing’.

As pointed out by you, Cidade de Goa was built 30 years earlier by Mr. Charles Correa, and has won an international R.I.B.A. award for the same. Cidade de Goa has been designed to resemble a self- sufficient Portuguese hamlet with Mediterranean inspired interiors and landscaped open places. Through periodic renovations and refurbishments, we have introduced modern amenities and luxuries to our public areas while retaining our old world charm.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the food, the pool and the pool side bar, and the spa services. We have also noted your appreciation towards our associate, Elizabeth, and the same has been personally conveyed to her.

Along with the above mentioned, we have noted the issues that you have put forward, especially regarding the waiting times. We have taken urgent note of the same and internal training of all associates has begun for the same.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to Cidade de Goa in the near future and delight you as always.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I visited with family and friends Cidade De Goa for 4 days.Right on arrival the security check was very embarrassing.We were alloted five rooms nos. starting from 300,which normally means 3rd floor.But was shown as these rooms are in Lobby level.When we searched in Lobby level could not find any room numbered 345,347,349,353 and 355.The elevators though showing L,!,and 2 but it goes only upto ! where all room numbers start from 400.We had to get one floor down to a Mezzanine floor where room Nos. starts from 300 but this floor has no elevators. Shocking to find such a renonwed resort can be so much Senior Citizen unfriendly.Every time we had to either climb or get down one floor to reach our rooms.
The food was fantastic and restaurants are really fine.
Pool is a great fun and quite large. The private beach is a pleasure to enjoy.
Overall our stay was very enjoyable excepting the process of climbing stairs to reach Beach or Pool or Restaurants or Lobby.Not at all invalid friendly.

Room Tip: Always look for Rooms starting from 400.All other rooms are not at all user friendly.Sea facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Dipak2000,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

Please accept our sincere apologies if you were inconvenienced with the layout of the resort. We have mezzanine floors as a part of the architecture, which lends to the open and spacious feeling of the resort. Unfortunately, this also means that we have many stairs that have to be navigated in order to reach the desired location. I would however like to assure our guests that we do have rooms that are easily accessible without having to navigate stairs. These rooms are assigned to senior citizens or to guests who have requested rooms with easy accessibility, and are subject to availability and prior intimation.

On a positive note, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the food spread at our restaurants, the pool and the beach.

Thank you again for your review. We hope you will chose to return to Cidade de Goa in the near future and give us a chance to delight you again.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cidade de Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cidade de Goa

Address: Vainguinim Beach | Goa, Dona Paula 403004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cidade de Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beachfront hideaway awaits you and your family at Cidade de Goa. Just 10 minutes from the capital Panjim, this 40 acre haven encompasses Goan hospitality at its finest. Here, you’ll enjoy a world of personal attention and luxury with gourmet cuisines, enticing entertainment, thrilling watersports and lots more. Cidade’s accommodation includes every possible 5-star amenity, with well appointed interiors, exclusive spaces and great sea views. Connoisseurs will appreciate the fine dining choices with 6 specialty and multi-cuisine restaurants, each with a unique flavour of cuisines. The poolside and lobby bars are also great for relaxing and spending time with friends. At Cidade, there’s always so much to do with water sports, beach games, indoor activities and the latest in gaming at Goldfinger, the 24 hour casino. Pavitra – Ayurveda Spa provides age-old treatments to soothe your mind and body, while Clube Saude offers Swedish body massages as well as advanced fitness equipment. Cidade also has a state-of-the-art Business Centre, meeting halls and the latest conferencing equipment. Come, experience the best that Goa has to offer at Cidade de Goa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cidade de Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade De Goa Beach Hotel Vainguinim
Cidade De Goa Beach Resort
Cidade Goa Beach Resort
Hotel Cidade De Goa Beach
Cidade De Goa Dona Paula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cidade de Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.