We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cidade de Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cidade de Goa to your Saves list
Cidade de Goa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vainguinim Beach | Goa, Dona Paula 403004, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Cidade delights- December
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dona Paula
delhi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

overall it was nice but my friend along with me was robbed by hotel staff as our room was opened by master key and they stole 15000/00 and hotel managment has taken a letter and they were not intrested to do any thing to their staff as they have checked that the room was opened by master key two times.we stayed their for 4nights from 23rd june to 27th june.so be carefull all other persons going their they may short of money ? as we think hotel management is also involved in this robbery?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear PkpDelhi,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa!

Thank you for your review.

Though we sincerely regret the incident that happened, we can assure you that we have conducted a thorough investigation in this matter. The Resident Manager, the corporate manager, the security in-charge and the executive housekeeper, all met up with you to ensure a thorough investigation. The hotel closed the loop with you as it was established that the money was not misplaced in the hotel premises, which you had agreed with. We strongly advise all our guests to use the electronic safes in their rooms or the safe available with the reception counter to store all their valuables and money.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    334
    127
    46
    41
See reviews for
284
248
23
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This resort would always be loved for 2 reasons...1 is location and the other is the in-house Casino!! if you leave that.... then the rooms are just average (pretty small), service is not one of the fastest and food just about OK.
However, the location is superb, right on the beach which is not frequented by outsiders, pool is clean and set amazingly!!
The Casinos is exciting and adds to the happening nightlife.
Overall a good hotel to stay as you dont spend much time in the room when in Goa!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room, though currently there is a renovation going on in some of the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sun-Vi,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review. Guest feedback is always welcome and much appreciated by me and my team.

We are glad to know that you liked the in-house casino, the location of the pool and the proximity to the beach. However, we have noted the issues put forward by you regarding the rooms, the service and the food. I assure that issues of delayed service have been taken up with the concerned.

We do hope you will choose to return to Cidade de Goa in the near future and see the positive difference brought about by your feedback.

Warm regards,
Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was my worst experince in my life. . I hv experienced many unusal negative powers in the room. every things happens on its on like our bottle of vodka gets empty on its own, and our money also disapeared. ,nd my cousin feels that some one is pushing him from front in the bathroom and he got hurt badly
I will not recommened this resort to anybody nor my friend or family members

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Rkkkkkkkk,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience faced by you during your stay at Cidade de Goa.

Further to your review, we would like to reply to some points in details-

Regarding money- we strongly advise all our guests to use the electronic safes in their rooms or the safe available with the reception counter to store all their valuables and money. The Resident Manager, the Corporate Manager, the Security in-Charge and the Executive Housekeeper, all met up with you to ensure a thorough investigation. The hotel closed the loop with you as it was established that the money was not misplaced in the hotel premises, which you had agreed with.

Regarding the incident in the bathroom- I regret the unfortunate incident. Our guest relations executive on duty rendered all possible assistance to the guest. It was an accident. We do wish him a speedy recovery.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, Gujarat, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been there on 21-25 june,2013. We had a very good time.

Good things: Location (on a beach), Restaurants, Food (we got the jain food with best personalized service at restaurant Cafe Laranja), Room

Bad things: The front desk (it is not at all giving positive answer to us), the reservation dept ( they didnt replied my queries, i have to ask same queries 4-5 time and then they reply, it looks like they are not worried about guest queries and anybody come or not at their resort), Pool game (I first time saw that 5 resort charges for indoor games and which is not in proper condition, the cloth of table was rough)

overall, if i exclude my experience of booking, it was good holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Let me start by thanking you for taking time to write this review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed you stay at Cidade de Goa, especially the location and the proximity to the beach, and the food spread. Food is indeed one of our core strengths and we are happy to cater to our all our guests’ dietary requirements.

We have noted that you were not satisfied with the services provided by our front desk and our reservations department and the pool table provided. We have taken note of the same and have intensified the training in these departments so that we can provide memorable experiences to all our guests. We have also tried to find the cause for the delayed response- special requests made by guests are always subject to availability and as such cannot be confirmed in advance. The same was also informed to you by our reservations department. These requests can usually be confirmed on the day of arrival, or on arrival at the resort.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cidade de Goa and delight you as always.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We were here wth 14month old baby and enjoyed a lot.we were really afraid of reading negative reviews on trip adviser but we dint find any negative thing.stayed in superior beach facing room (333) was awsome...food at cafe azul bit expensive but delicious and staff over Thr is very nice and helpful..beach and the pool is clean nicely maintained...very smooth check in and check out welcome drink was served ...nevertheless awsome stay ...will surely come back again ...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Ssagarj,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review post your stay with Cidade de Goa.

We are glad to read that your stay with us was par your expectations and that you enjoyed the room, the food spread at Café Azul, the beach and the pool.

Thank you again for your review. We do hope you will choose to stay with Cidade de Goa again in the near future and give us a chance to delight you as always.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My experience of our stay at cidade goa was as unique as it can be (3rd June to 6th June). The hotel, with a private beach, beautiful setting, sports and gaming option, fun casino, spa, live music and the friendliest staff is really topnotch. Our stay though was incomplete (booking was till 9th June) as our daughter was down with fever the very next day that we reached the hotel. The 'hospitality desk' went out of their way to help us feel comfortable (getting us medicines at odd hours, arranging for a doctor, etc.). We would like to mention the name "alpa" who went out of her usual call for duty made us feel like home. To our greatest surprise when we went to pay up at the time of check out They went a step further and didn't charge us for our stay, I would like to thank cidade goa for their selfless hospitality and would like to add that we would definitely be back soon and enjoy a full stay.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms with large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Rajeshvohra,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for sharing your experience with us. Guest feedback and appreciation is what drives me and my team to perform our best at all times.

I am glad to hear that you appreciated the warmth and hospitality of our staff and our hotel in general. We strive to make each stay memorable and at par with the guest’s expectations.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back at Cidade de Goa and delight you as always.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

i went with my family on 2 nd june for 4 night resort is very clean staff is very preeti food is realy exellent and pvt beach is very neet and clean and in side resort my child like also game zone rooms very very specious i will definate visit next time airport pickup and drpop faciliti is vary comfortable care transport service also good we are realy thaks all staff of cidade de goa

Room Tip: pool and beach side location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidade_de_Goa, General Manager at Cidade de Goa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Nilesh 111,

Greetings from Cidade de Goa- Goa in a resort!

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is what motivates me and my team to perform our best at all times.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff, the food spread and the beach. Our recently renovated health club, spa and recreation centre does provide a variety of activities for children of all ages.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Neeta Sen.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cidade de Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cidade de Goa

Address: Vainguinim Beach | Goa, Dona Paula 403004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cidade de Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect beachfront hideaway awaits you and your family at Cidade de Goa. Just 10 minutes from the capital Panjim, this 40 acre haven encompasses Goan hospitality at its finest. Here, you’ll enjoy a world of personal attention and luxury with gourmet cuisines, enticing entertainment, thrilling watersports and lots more. Cidade’s accommodation includes every possible 5-star amenity, with well appointed interiors, exclusive spaces and great sea views. Connoisseurs will appreciate the fine dining choices with 6 specialty and multi-cuisine restaurants, each with a unique flavour of cuisines. The poolside and lobby bars are also great for relaxing and spending time with friends. At Cidade, there’s always so much to do with water sports, beach games, indoor activities and the latest in gaming at Goldfinger, the 24 hour casino. Pavitra – Ayurveda Spa provides age-old treatments to soothe your mind and body, while Clube Saude offers Swedish body massages as well as advanced fitness equipment. Cidade also has a state-of-the-art Business Centre, meeting halls and the latest conferencing equipment. Come, experience the best that Goa has to offer at Cidade de Goa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cidade de Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade De Goa Beach Hotel Vainguinim
Cidade De Goa Beach Resort
Cidade Goa Beach Resort
Hotel Cidade De Goa Beach
Cidade De Goa Dona Paula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cidade de Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.