We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only ate there...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Havixhorst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added De Havixhorst to your Saves list
De Havixhorst
Schiphorsterweg 34-36, 7966 AC Schiphorst, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiphorst
Certificate of Excellence
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“We only ate there...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We - unfortunately - did not have the chance to spend the night although we are sure that would have been very pleasant. But the lunch we enjoyed - in the garden - was very good. Excellent friendly and attentive service, a plain wooden garden table that was decked out for us with beautiful table linnen. Nice plates and table cutlery and beautifully presented courses that tasted very good. A bottle of white house wine of good quality and all that for a price that did not break the bank. A shame we don't live close enough to go there more often.
This was the first time after 15 years we came back to the Havixhorst which we used to visit frequently with business relations when we stil lived and worked in the area. In those days they already were very good and they obviously are still at the same level. Congratulations at maintaining that standard over such a long period.
The garden of the hotel-restuarant hosts a sculpture exhibition which is worth a visit by itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Whitstable
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The De Havixhorst is one of the most memorable, comfortable and hospitable places I have ever lodged in 40 years of business travel. I have stayed for about 20 nights in the last 20 years.

Arrival is a delight. A large, welcoming firegrate warms the driveway and then you look up and see the classic architecture of the mid-18thC main building. Look up again and you will in all probability see the storks nesting on the chimneys!

The staff is courteous but not obsequious and entirely professional.

The food is 5* and the wine list exemplary.

If I had to criticise, my only grounds would be the size of the bedrooms. They are enormous and it is easy to lose one's way to the bathroom.

A great and hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlazingSaddlebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We came here as part of a biking tour. We rode through Meppen and while a delightful town filled with real people going about their business in the work a day world, we had no reason to expect this gem, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. It has an active catering business and we were quickly brought back to the real world by a very convivial Meppen Chamber of Commerce dinner.
A former chateaux, the house has been beautifully re-done as a B&B with the afformentioned catering set off in the former stables. It has HUGE rooms with ironically small (but comfortable) beds, lovely grounds with a very interesting sculpture garden, and is a very short walk to a stork nursery (thats right, even storks need to be born somewhere). The bar is very modern, has an espresso machine as well as a great variety of beverages. We had a 5 course dinner which was incredible and quite memorable.
I dont know how much this place cost-it was part of a package- but it was spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryTravelerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
242 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we had a groupon special booked in this hotel. Lovelly chateau with big rooms, bit dark and only a few lights but a giant bathroom. Didn't sleep that well, good improve beds. Even when it was freezing outside the rooms were still warm.
The deal included a 5 course dinner. We didn't know what to expect but we were surprised by the quality of the food. Waiters were mostly trainees but they did a good job and were friendly and tried to please the customers. For example, the wine I ordered the waiter couldn't find and she appologized. Then I ordered another wine and she came back and asked if I still wanted the wine I first ordered. She found the bottle and remarked, the bottle was on holiday because she found it with wines from another country.
Good breakfast next morning.
Worth coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the castle with a five course dinner in december 2012 and it was fabulous. The surroundings are a bit boring if you are a young couple. But for a love weekend it is very good. The suite was nice, the food and service (also breakfast) very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Everything is perfect. The only minor is the loudness from other rooms coming into your room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were recommended to this Hotel by a Dutch colleague. This place is a real gem, only 6 bedrooms in an old historic building, beautiful gardens and wonderful food. Would love to return in better weather. It rained all weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiphorst
3.6 mi away
Het Heerenhuys
Het Heerenhuys
#1 of 1 in Ruinerwold
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de Jonge
Hotel Restaurant de Jonge
#1 of 2 in Giethoorn
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Landgoed Oldruitenborgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
12.1 mi away
Geertien Hotel Cafe-Restaurant
10.8 mi away
Art & Wellness Hotel Huis ten Wolde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Havixhorst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Havixhorst

Address: Schiphorsterweg 34-36, 7966 AC Schiphorst, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Schiphorst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiphorst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at a 5-minute drive from the town Meppel in the natural reserve Het Reestdal, Havixhorst Estate features a Chateauhotel and restaurant. Each suite has an individual style. The suites come in different colour decoration and have high ceilings and exposed wooden beams. It offers a seating area, minibar, desk, and free WiFi. The bathroom is fitted with a shower. During nice weather, the terrace and castle gardens provide a relaxing setting for a drink. Guests can have a high tea in this setting or walk around in the sculpture garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Havixhorst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing