We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only ate there...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De Havixhorst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau De Havixhorst to your Saves list
Chateau De Havixhorst
Schiphorsterweg 34-36 | De Wijk (near Meppen), 7966 AC Schiphorst, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiphorst
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“We only ate there...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We - unfortunately - did not have the chance to spend the night although we are sure that would have been very pleasant. But the lunch we enjoyed - in the garden - was very good. Excellent friendly and attentive service, a plain wooden garden table that was decked out for us with beautiful table linnen. Nice plates and table cutlery and beautifully presented courses that tasted very good. A bottle of white house wine of good quality and all that for a price that did not break the bank. A shame we don't live close enough to go there more often.
This was the first time after 15 years we came back to the Havixhorst which we used to visit frequently with business relations when we stil lived and worked in the area. In those days they already were very good and they obviously are still at the same level. Congratulations at maintaining that standard over such a long period.
The garden of the hotel-restuarant hosts a sculpture exhibition which is worth a visit by itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The De Havixhorst is one of the most memorable, comfortable and hospitable places I have ever lodged in 40 years of business travel. I have stayed for about 20 nights in the last 20 years.

Arrival is a delight. A large, welcoming firegrate warms the driveway and then you look up and see the classic architecture of the mid-18thC main building. Look up again and you will in all probability see the storks nesting on the chimneys!

The staff is courteous but not obsequious and entirely professional.

The food is 5* and the wine list exemplary.

If I had to criticise, my only grounds would be the size of the bedrooms. They are enormous and it is easy to lose one's way to the bathroom.

A great and hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We came here as part of a biking tour. We rode through Meppen and while a delightful town filled with real people going about their business in the work a day world, we had no reason to expect this gem, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. It has an active catering business and we were quickly brought back to the real world by a very convivial Meppen Chamber of Commerce dinner.
A former chateaux, the house has been beautifully re-done as a B&B with the afformentioned catering set off in the former stables. It has HUGE rooms with ironically small (but comfortable) beds, lovely grounds with a very interesting sculpture garden, and is a very short walk to a stork nursery (thats right, even storks need to be born somewhere). The bar is very modern, has an espresso machine as well as a great variety of beverages. We had a 5 course dinner which was incredible and quite memorable.
I dont know how much this place cost-it was part of a package- but it was spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we had a groupon special booked in this hotel. Lovelly chateau with big rooms, bit dark and only a few lights but a giant bathroom. Didn't sleep that well, good improve beds. Even when it was freezing outside the rooms were still warm.
The deal included a 5 course dinner. We didn't know what to expect but we were surprised by the quality of the food. Waiters were mostly trainees but they did a good job and were friendly and tried to please the customers. For example, the wine I ordered the waiter couldn't find and she appologized. Then I ordered another wine and she came back and asked if I still wanted the wine I first ordered. She found the bottle and remarked, the bottle was on holiday because she found it with wines from another country.
Good breakfast next morning.
Worth coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in the castle with a five course dinner in december 2012 and it was fabulous. The surroundings are a bit boring if you are a young couple. But for a love weekend it is very good. The suite was nice, the food and service (also breakfast) very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Everything is perfect. The only minor is the loudness from other rooms coming into your room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We were recommended to this Hotel by a Dutch colleague. This place is a real gem, only 6 bedrooms in an old historic building, beautiful gardens and wonderful food. Would love to return in better weather. It rained all weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau De Havixhorst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De Havixhorst

Address: Schiphorsterweg 34-36 | De Wijk (near Meppen), 7966 AC Schiphorst, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Schiphorst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiphorst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau De Havixhorst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De Havixhorst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.