We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 't Voorhuys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 't Voorhuys to your Saves list
Hotel 't Voorhuys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Deel 20, 8302 EK Emmeloord, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel 't Voorhuys)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Emmeloord
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is a very good hotel. It is located in the centre of Emelloord which is a very pleasant small town. Free parking for the hotel is in the main town square opposite the hotel. We were a little concerned to find, that a carrillon tower was outside our bedroom window, but it did not seem to opperate between 10pm and 8am, at least we did not hear it and I am a light sleeper. In fact considering that the hotel is in town it was very quiet overall. Our room was very pleasant, very clean and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. The bed linens and towels were beautiful, crisp and fresh, some of the best we have experienced. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable rate and was extremely good with plenty of hot and cold choices. We ate in the Hotel restaurant one evening, which was also excellent with great food, and is obviously a popular venue for locals, a little on the pricey side, but worth it. All of the staff were most helpful and knowledgeble about the area, and most spoke excellent english, which is always a bonus. There is an elevator in the hotel and free wi-fi which was good. This is an excellent base for visiting this part of The Netherlands and there is plenty to see and do away from the main touristy areas, more like the real Netherlands.We hope to return soon and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Hotel 't Voornhuys is located in the centre of Emmeloord but very easy to reach by car. In front of the hotel is a large parking place which is free of charge, after 18.00 hrs. The rooms are decent and clean, the wireless internet is free of charge. The hotel offers good quality for the price and I could recommend it to everyone who has to spend the night in the Noordoostpolder.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I have used this hold for business for the past 12 months or so. the hotel is the focul point of the whole viillage of Emmerloord. you are 10 mteres from the high street, the shops, the casino., the chinese restaurant, the tapas bar etc ... if you choose to each in the hotel restaurant, again i can recommend it.

i have probably eaten most of the menu over 12 months and have never been disappointed with service, portions, taste, quality or presentation.

i would say that you need a car here - there is no train station in the village but there is a big bus station.

the service is what put this at 5 stars rather than 4 ... as it;s like being home from home. the staff treat you like family. i have had breakfast served at 5am, 11am, dinner after midnight. over christmas i was the onlt guest on one evening and they actually asked me what i wanted for breakfast the next day and at what time - it was like stopping and my parents house !!

in the last few weeks there is now free wifi in the hotel, restaurant and the rooms, plus small but signficant changes to improve things around the hotel.

yes, i would recommend !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (Sept 18, 19, 20 2009) We walked in off the street requesting a room. Joke (Yo-kA) One of the owners, found us a room and told us they were full the next night but would see what she could do about the other 2. Later on the same evening just after dinner as we passed through the lobby, she saw us and told us that there had been a double booking and we could stay for 2 more nights if we wished. When we needed directions to go visit people in the region, she called them, got the directions and then printed out mapqest for us. Throughout our visit she and all of the staff were friendly and went out of their way to make our experience as pleasant as possible. Breakfast was included and very nice with a good selection of typical Dutch breakfast foods. 2 nights we ate dinner in the bar / restaurant. One night bar food and the second real dinner. Both times the food was fresh, tasty and the staff attentive. The room itself was a good size, with 2 twin beds pushed together to make a queen size, this worked well since I was travelling with my mother and we could push them apart. The decor was clean and attractive. The bathroom was spotless and lots of hot water. We couldn't hear any sounds from other rooms other than some noisy neighbours closing their door. The Hallway is sectioned off so we only had 4 neighbours. The hotel has free internet in the lobby. Also of note: we choose not to have our room made up. This hotel, without asking left us clean towels, shampoos, and toilet paper on a plastic bag outside our door each day.

We travel to Netherlands about once per year, I loved this hotel and would absolutely stay there again.

The pictures of the rooms that the hotel posts are exactly what I saw and got.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Emmeloord was a new town built in the 1950s.

An excel;lent location for visiting NE Holland especially the amazing World Heritage site at Schokland (8 kms. approx) and the Oostvaardersplassen Nature Reserve at Lelystadt (35 kms. approx).

I have stayed here several times and would trhoroughly recommend it. THere is a Thursday morning market on the square outside the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 't Voorhuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Voorhuys

Address: De Deel 20, 8302 EK Emmeloord, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel 't Voorhuys)
Location: The Netherlands > Flevoland Province > Emmeloord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Emmeloord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Voorhuys 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 't Voorhuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 't Voorhuys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.