We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room so, so, but dinner was fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed Avegoor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Landgoed Avegoor to your Saves list
Landgoed Avegoor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zutphensestraatweg 2, 6955 AG Ellecom, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellecom
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hotel room so, so, but dinner was fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Basic hotel room, nice to have a fridge and balcony. But room is very basic, bathroom is ok, but pretty standard as well. Restaurant is fantastic though, we had the 3 course surprise dinner and loved every minute. Super friendly service and we got the opportunity to get cheese instead of sweets for dessert, which we really appreciated. A great evening out! BTW breakfast is good as well. Swimming pool is small, 1 sauna, but when you are there, you come for the outdoors, which is great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
11
77
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wow We came when it was dark what a great location and main building we were trilled and excited.
Mmmm when we checked in we were asked to pay in advance? but you have our CC well sir we had a bad experience with a customer so new policy?
Good, we eat at the Italian restaurant in the Hotel that was really good food,breakfast was OK.
What a shame room was dusty and bathroom was dirty hairs in the sink toilet was dirty when we went eating mentioned when we came back somebody removed the hairs but the toilet was still dirty.
Further maintenance is needed a paint brush and the bathrooms need a update.
Staff is friendly but young and need a supervisor and some training in addressing people.
If the rooms where clean I would have give four overall because price quality was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Brabant
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I don’t think four stars is a correct reflection of the state of maintenance and luxury.

The Good
I stayed four nights in one of the comfort rooms (two beds). Staff are well trained and professional. Really nice swimming pool. Good conference room, nice breakfast and lunch. Diner was good as well (definitely four stars worthy). I liked the soft bed and pillows.

The not-so-good.
There was no hairdryer, the tv remote did not work, the bathroom sink was filling up with water, no fresh towels and or luxury products. My main complaint is the noise… and I didn’t even have noisy neighbors. The walls are just so thin… you can hear everything. The shower, the toilet, the tv, the rain etc etc. And seeing that the rooms are like stacked cubicles (neighbors everywhere: next to you, downstairs, above) it’s almost impossible to sleep well. Additionally my room was located on the front of the hotel: close to the railroad. While you don’t hear the train during the days; the speed limit is off during the night hours and a lot of sound is produced.

Oh and yes: no WiFi in your room.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the front side of the hotel (above the entrance)! You can hear the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonthofen, Germany
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When you see this hotel from the road, you have to say wow! The main Landgoed Avegoor house is very impressive. The extensions with the bedrooms are less impresive but nevertheless well designed and very well decorated. The bathroom was excellent in design and function. The large double bed had only one mattress that of course leads to the well known trampoline effect when one sleeper moves in the night. Added to that there is only one bed cover which leads to the well known tug of war effect when one sleeper turns over in the night. Result: very unrestfull sleep. When in the morning I happened to notice an empty fish can (mackeral) under a chair on the balcony, I began to have doubts about the staff training. Against these few points one has to admit: excellent breakfast with top service and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Positives: colorful room (although I have to say we accidentally got the best 'art' room after seeing pictures of the other rooms); relatively large room; friendly staff; good breakfast; good location for people who like to walk, run, bike etc.

Negatives: room could have been cleaner; room was very simple and outdated; we couldn't turn the heating to a lower temperature which made the room too warm; in general too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

As a child I went to this area to visit my grandparents. It is a reat environment to walk and cycle. The hotel garden is beautiful and relaxing. Indoor swimming pool is long enough to do your lapses. The old building is nice and well decorated. I liked the art. However they have a volume strategy with a large hotel building attached to it. The building is vintage and noisy. That was penny wise pound foulish. Restaurant services are also catered for larger groups. Very efficient but for a romantic weekend, I have a question mark. I have to say that the creme brulee with chocolat ice was a pleasant surprise. Staff is rather young and looking into the dinningroom over the heads of people with out noticing requests, feels like being in control but is very frustrating for the guests.

Would I visit again: for a budget weekend in an nice environment sure, looking more intimate and high end no.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

This is such a great interesting hotel with lots of modern art in the rooms and around the grounds. However it was totally overshadowed by the fact that the reception was incredibly rude!! This was one of the stops on my bike tour and I spent the whole day biking in the rain and was drenched and ill. The staff receptionist couldnt tell me where I could get any medicene, and was continually short with me when I asked for room service at 4 in the afternoon even though I had clearly been riding all day. And then again when I called at 9 pm she told me the kitchen was about to close and I couldnt order (the hotel information which was in Dutch says it closes at 10). This is a great hotel but dont count on any nicities from the reception

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Landgoed Avegoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Avegoor

Address: Zutphensestraatweg 2, 6955 AG Ellecom, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ellecom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ellecom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Avegoor 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Landgoed Avegoor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgoed Avegoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.