We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4*” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek to your Saves list
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaalsbroek 1, 6291 Vaals, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vaals
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Definitely not 4*”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel promises more than it offers. The surroundings are great, this part of The Netherlands is great in any sense. But this is not a romantic castle-hotel...for business matters its meeting rooms are sufficient, the rooms in the new wing are new and well kept and clean, but the food...flawless, cold and badly served! What a bummer. Was there on a three day meeting, and we were stuck at the hotel, and then the food is really killing you. Also the gala-dinner, as it was presented, was a real scam, had better meals at some fast-food restaurants. But if you're there on a good deal and avoid the restaurant, you might have a good weekend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    90
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
28
109
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Beautiful location, though you'll need a car to go out and about here. Beautiful surroundings and nature. Within a few minutes you can travel to Aken or Maastricht, in the town of Vaals isn't a whole lot to do/see.
The spa in this hotel is a bit of a bummer though. In the two small (and crowded) sauna/steam rooms you can't wear any bathing suits, but in the adjacent swimming pool swim wear is mandatory. As spa's and sauna's in the Netherlands usually have a nude-only policy we didn't expect to need a swimsuit for the pool as this wasn't clearly mentioned on the hotel website, so we couldn't use it.
The restaurant in the hotel is nice, but quite pricey and not too much choice on the menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there with the family as a belated birthday gift for my sister who turned 36 last week and we could not have picked a better weekend. Everything was covered in fresh, crispy white snow and the whole scenery was just amazing. The castle and it's surroundings are beautiful. The staff is really friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and spacious. I didn't get to a enjoy the spa-treatments this time but my sister did and she loved it. Word of advice: if you want a treatment of any kind book early, because the are really good and a lot of people already know that :-)

We had dinner in the restaurant right above the lobby and I must say it was a culinary night filled with sweet sensations. I had a glass of wine accompanying every dish (5 in total) and I just indulged in the great treatment my tastebuds were getting. Absolutely fabulous.

Breakfast was basic, simple and nice. Everything you need to start your day well was provided. We only stayed one night because all of us have to work again tomorrow, but everyone agreed that if we could've extended our stay, we definitely would have.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've been for business reasons several times in this hotel.
Positive aspects:
The atmosphere is excellent, the rooms are nice and confortable, the business rooms are convenient, the price is in line with the level of the resort.
Negative aspects:
the food is quite "dutch style" (lots of sandwiches, butter, soups, chocolate mousse....) while the variety of main courses is very small.
This is probably valid for "snobbish" Italians like me. Same applies to breakfast
Other negative thing is that internet connection is charged separately, and quite expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We decided to spend the Christmas here with 4 families. The hotel dis not really disappoint neither made a big impression. It's average in every aspect. No outstanding good or bad features. Bit colourless.
Room standard is OK. Little outdated, though clean and complete. Bathroom is clean and complete. We took a family room which is really very spacious and had french doors to the terrace.
The breakfast buffet in the castle part is rich in offer and the breakfast place is nicely spacious.
The pool is small and very basic and not really fun for kids - but we knew that in advance.The water temperature was cooold ! brrrr...
The thing i really missed in such hotel is a nice kind of lounge / lobby to sit and hang around. There is an attempt made (kind of room with billiard behind the reception desk) but that completely misses the point. The god thing though is that the little cafe-bar in the building makes up for this and is really a very nice place to sip a beer and a beer and a...
Staff is friendly and helpful and the chocolate Santa surprise for the children was really a nice gesture.
So what is it that holds me back from coming here again (with family)? It's the atmosphere. The business feel that i exactly wanted to escape for a few days. This hotel should welcome businesses and conferences, not family short break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel was as expected for a Bilderberg slightly dated. The staff were friendly and efficient. The gala buffet with wine service was very disappointing and expensive. The wine service was slow we had to ask to be served , the evening ended very early with no acknowledgement to New Year at midnight as in other hotels, it felt like any other evening,but with hiked up prices for New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The hotel is really big with different buildings linked to each other. The rooms are clean and comfortable; the bath room is slightly outdated, but still has everything you need. We liked staying in this hotel; staff was also very friendly.
The breakfast is excellent, with a wide choice of bread, cereals, and different types of spread. I highly recommend the breakfast!
One night we took the two-course menu (at 30€) at the restaurant 'De Oude Watermolen'; we were very enthusiastic about the food, this really is a very good quality restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek

Address: Vaalsbroek 1, 6291 Vaals, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Vaals
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vaals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.