We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time lucky and would commande for a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle to your Saves list
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasteellaan 10, 5932 Tegelen, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tegelen
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“second time lucky and would commande for a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

this is my second visit as my first was not to the expectation of the quality of service and location
what a good result, I am so happy having make that choice, the second stay has blown away the first one, nice room all comfort and the view over the lac.
the staff was as pleasant and helpful as the first time but the most impressive was the diner and breakfast.
everything just good quantity quality and variety

Room Tip: 207 perfect for romantic view on the lac
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
51
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous! The rooms are great, the bed is so nice that you sleep like sleeping beauty, and breakfast is just delicious. The swans in the castle moat give you the idea that you are in the middle ages. If you want to be pampered, the Bilderberg hotel is THE place that you seek!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights to visit the Floriade. The entrance to the hotel as you drive in is enough to set the scene for what is a lovely hotel with its own moat and grounds. We stayed in the old part of the hotel, a corner room overlooking the moat. The room was large and well appointed with a fabulous bathroom and large bed. We had dinner in the hotel on one hight, the food is lovely but is not quite matched by the inexperienced waiting staff. We had a lovely time at the hotel and the local town of Venlo should also be seen. Hard to fault the hotel except for one major gripe.,charging SIX Euros PER HOUR that must be used used within 24 hours, when Wi Fi is so cheap is a total rip off.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the hotel if you want a character room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel, tranquil setting. Our room was a corner room in the old part of the hotel. Quite spacious and comfortable. Bathroom had over the bath shower and a separate shower cubicle - both had shower curtains which I hate.
Charge for wifi

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting the Floriade exhibition, well appointed room, great showers, very good service by reception and in the restaurant. The food whilst not inexpensive was divine the local pork dish was excellent, although the translation of the menu to English was not too good so some of the dishes we ordered came out differently to what we expected but it is not a problem when the food is this good. Catered for the vegitarians in our group with a smile which was refreshing. Only wish I had gone for the five course tasting menu...

Would love to return and explore the area some more.

As the hotel is on the edge of the town you will need a car to both get here and explore the area.
Only downside was the quacking ducks in the moat at night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

In tranquil suburban surroundings this dinky brick-built "castle" with a modern core - and a moat with swans, would be equally at home in a toybox. Our Deluxe room, in the fourth floor Mansard roof was sober, well fitted and comfortable with small windows and a fan if it got too warm. A convenient sit-down mirror would be nice. Reception staff were friendly and efficient with the national facility with languages well in evidence - indeed with one disconcertingly rude exception service throughout was amiable and willing. A pleasant set meal in the inner dining room, with limited choice, didn't perhaps live up to the hype but was enjoyable enough. Breakfast, included in the room rate, was however done well. Hefty extra charge for efficient WiFi: are hotel WiFi charges becoming the new profit centre? Plentiful convenient car parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had to be based in the south of Netherlands for business and so glad we found this hotel. It it one of those hotels where you need to take time out to just absorb the surroundings. The Chateau has been extremely well renovated and the guest areas very well designed and laid out. The rooms were of a good quality and it was a bit warm without aircon but I slept with the window open which was perfect. All the windows are covered with insect nets so its not a problem. Had dinner at the hotel which was of a high quality and can really recommend it. There is a basic gym area and indoor swimming pool which I didnt really use as the surrounding area outdoors is perfect for running, had an early morning run which was great. Tegelen is a short cab ride from Venlo and although most of our business was based in Venlo Im really glad I decided to stay at Bilderberg. Just a warning if you are arriving bt train as I did go to Venlo train station and get cab from there. I got off at the closest station in Tegelen and there are no cabs or facilities at this station so we had to walk to hotel? Not that far but not ideal. This hotel is great for couples and business, highly recommended.

Room Tip: HAd a room overlooking the pond area on the 2nd floor and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle

Address: Kasteellaan 10, 5932 Tegelen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Tegelen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tegelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle Hotel Tegelen
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle Tegelen, The Netherlands - Limburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.