We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good aspects, but ultimately disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude

Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostbroekerweg 17, 1981 LR Velsen-Zuid, Velsen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velsen-Zuid
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Some good aspects, but ultimately disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is located in a quiet "recreational" area. There are some nice walks in the vicinity and quite a lot of leisure activities (e.g. indoor skiing, golf, canoing).

The bedrooms are of a reasonable size, but very cheaply furnished. The television is an old CRT screen, connected to an analogue signal. Only Dutch stations and most of these unwatchable due to the poor signal quality. But WiFi works well.

We had taken the dinner option, which is a a fixed three course menu, without choice. The main courses (steak on night, hake fillet the next) were fine, but the first courses (chicken salad one night, pasta salad the next) were unpleasant. Service was OK.

Breakfast buffet was very limited and the service chaotic. Everything, even the plates, ran out at one stage. Coffee and water for tea came in vacuum jugs, which isn't a good system.

The hotel advertises a wellness centre, but this wasn't satisfactory. The pool is OK, but both the steam room and infra-red sauna was broken. My wife had a massage, but they didn't have a proper massage table (with a hole for you face) so found the experience uncomfortable. The sauna area is bit scruffy and run down.

In general this hotel really needs a face lift. It is a shame as the location and facailities could make it a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had room 35, the only suite (actually junior suite). Quite large room with 3 grey chairs, TV (only Dutch channels and Eurosport in German). Very quietly situated with a small room with cleaning stuff between room 35 and 34. Little balcony with view over a canal. Sober decoration (2 paintings, 3 vases with plastic flowers, grey carpet) but quite clean room. Large bathroom with a large jacuzzi in corner. Jacuzzi with outlets on the side, not in the bottom. Handheld shower.
There's a swimming pool but on weekdays used by schools and other groups so only useable early morning and late evening then.
Had no breakfast or diner so can't judge that.
Very quiet hotel (apart from some children and a dog (dogs are allowed), so good for rest-seekers.
Hotel is located at end of the Zijkanaal B. By bus 82 from Amsterdam Sloterdijk, 20 minutes. Bus stop "Zijkanaal B", then walking to the left of the canal, passing a restaurant/B&B.
Nice walk on a dike. Road for cars next to it.
Hotel is in a large recreation area, with many things to do in summer.
Not so attractive area in winter.
Nice personell.
Bed is soft, but pillows a bit small. Empty minibar but you can put own things in it.
All rooms are on first floor with balconies (not sure if all have that).
Elevator present. Very large lobby.

Room Tip: Get the one suite (room 35) if you can. Quitest and spaciest, with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to this hotel for one day and night. Ans because of our dog, he is welcom too. We came a little early and got a cup of coffee from the house and because of my wife's birthday. At 3.00 pm the room wasn't ready so we got an other one. Nice and big. Clean. It was a little hot and there was no airco! But you could open the door to the balcony. We had to park the car far away from the hotel and there were camera's to watch!! The diner was ok but the breakfast was not that good and less than other hotels from the Fletcher company. We won't recommend it to others. It's good for conferences and meetings, but not to stay for a night.

Room Tip: The room we had, nr. 26, was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Very bad, dirty carpet all around the place. The standard room we had booked was small, two separate beds instead of one bed as shown on the website. The carpet was dirty, there was no safe, no airconditioning, it was bloody hot, the window could only open for a few centimeters, the room was next to the kitchen and there was not enough light in the bathroom. Then we got the luxury room, which was a bit better, but definitely not worth the price. Staff was complaining about the owner who apparently doesn't want to invest anymore in the resort. In the breakfast room there was not enough cutlery, no cleaning. Not to recommend at all!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Velsen-Zuid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude

Address: Oostbroekerweg 17, 1981 LR Velsen-Zuid, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Velsen-Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velsen-Zuid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of a tranquil area of natural beauty and a short distance from the lively city of Amsterdam, is the Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude. The hotel is located in the wonderful Spaarnwoude recreational area where you can walk, cycle, horse ride and do water sports. Or shop till you drop in the friendly cities of Haarlem and Amsterdam. Also the beach at IJmuiden aan Zee is nearby. The hotel has a range of facilities that will make your stay a pleasant one. Enjoy a delicious dinner and good atmosphere in our a la carte restaurant, or relax in our Wellness Centre which includes an indoor swimming pool, sauna and Turkish bath. Have a massage or beauty treatment in our beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Resort Spaarnwoude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.