We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in Northern Holland countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Volendam to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wagenweg 1, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in Northern Holland countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First of all, Van der Valk Hotel Volendam isn’t in Volendam. It’s actually located in the middle of beautiful countryside. Village(s) of Edam-Volendam is half an hour walk away so be warned. This hotel can be a good base to explore Northern Holland though.

I would recommend getting there by car, parking is free and parking lot is big enough. If you are limited to public transport, bus from Amsterdam Central Station will get you here in 30 minutes. Buses use dedicated lane and stick to timetable even in rush hour. There’s a bus stop right near the hotel.

We (party of 4) have stayed for a week attending exhibition in Amsterdam. Had absolutely no trouble with anything. Staff was very helpful. We chose this hotel for room prices that were lower than similar hotels in Amsterdam itself.

Hotel has modern look and feels clean and professionally run. Standard room is large enough. Bathroom very clean, spacious and seemed designed with much care. Beds are comfortable; the hotel itself is located off the main road so it is very quiet.

Breakfast was good; my only complain being no choice of fresh vegetables. For some reason only tomatoes were served for breakfast though hotel’s restaurant offered wide range of salads for lunch and dinner.

Wi-Fi in the room is free, unlimited and excellent though you have to login via KPN hotspot first. Skype worked well.

Pool in the Health Center is quite small and can be overcrowded. But hey, it’s free!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    199
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
116
211
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dielheim
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have booked 1 night in this hotel as we could not find a room im Amsterdam. Surprinsingly after reading some appreciations, we have found this hotel quite convenient, very quiet, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms renovated and very beautiful.
we had diner in the restaurant and it was very good, the service being very professional.
breakfast was complete, and good.
we paid 89 euros for a night, plus breakfast = really this hotel is to be recommended, located near amsterdam ; we also had the possibility to visit Volendam, Edam , which we would have certainly skipped if we were staying in Amsterdam.

This is not a romantic hotel, indeed but very convenient if you don't want to spend too much money and still have a very good comfort.

Room Tip: don't forget your swimming-suit !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A very nice modern hotel near Amsterdam. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and clean. We liked that the hotel was warm, as it was somewhat cold outside, even it was July, so that we could bath the kids. The breakfast was extremely perfect, it was delicious and had too many choices. The hotel is very close to Volendam and Edam, must-see small villages, and Amsterdam is 15 minutes by drive. It's a bit hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went on a trip in August of 2013 in Europe with three friends during which we visited 4 countries and we stayed in about 6 different hotel ranging from 3.5 to 4 stars. This hotel is by far the best one. We took a triple room which was spacious and very clean. I fell in love with the bathroom which had a walk-in shower and a tub. The room also had a balcony which was nice and to top it off there was free internet with the room. The hotel is located in a very beautiful area at the same time it was close to Amsterdam and public transportation. The staff were very friendly & professional. I also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was very good. Simply this hotel made my stay in the Nederlands more enjoyable. I highly recommend it and I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our last hotel stop on a 16 day tour of Europe by motor cycle - many of our overnight stops were at budget hotels, so this was to be our treat for surviving a journey of over 2000 miles in mixed weather. The not so good first - In many ways this fitted the bill, but there was a 'however'. Fitness area was small, and the pool not full sized - we had every intention of using this as a wind down before the ferry home, but it was too cramped and the attendant unwelcoming, so we chose the bar instead ! this was the second 'but' .. we had of course expected 'hotel prices' for food and drink, but these exceeded our expectations, the food was lovely, and portions generous, but at a price. Now for the good parts, bar and waitressing staff very good, chatty and helpful without being over the top, room very clean. shower good, bed good, quiet and a good view. Great bus service into Volendam - a lovely town, and well worth a second visit. We intend to return, and we will stay at this hotel, despite the caveats.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here as part of a wedding group for 2 nights and all in all it was good value for what we paid . Make use of the free swimming pool if you can.
3 small points I must make for anyone wishing to stayhere.
The lighting in the room is very dim and I know others have mentioned this on here, I personally could not read a book after dark.
Not all rooms appear to be air conditioned, on floor 3 we had it but a floor 1 room did not so make sure your room has it in the summer or ask for another room.
The buffet breakfast price at 12 euros seems overpriced so stock up or eat out if you can,

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very good value for money. Clean comfortable rooms. Had an evening on the terrace being served by very friendly waiters. Very nice ambience - candles/ fires etc - though the fores were't really needed to be lit on th hottest evening of the whole year - so sat far away form them as we could . Drinks reasosnably priced. Breakfast a good choice. Delicious squeezed orange juice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katwoude
1.9 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#1 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Zaandam
11.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Volendam

Address: Wagenweg 1, 1145 PW Katwoude, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Volendam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.