We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value - willing staff -” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Volendam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Volendam to your Saves list
Van der Valk Volendam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wagenweg 1, 1145 Katwoude, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good value - willing staff -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice room, peaceful surroundings, good food and drink, reasonable value.

The only thing needing attention:
Beds should use fitted bottom sheets as the ones used now are too narrow and will not tuck in and stay in!!
The bedside table lamps need stronger bulbs because with these one cannot read in bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    87
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
83
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in the Van der Valk in Düsseldorf Airport. An excellent Hotel and actually good value. So for our trip we chose the Van der Valk Volendam with similar expectation.

While in good condition, the hotel could do with a renovation. The rooms are a bit dated but otherwise clean. Although dated the all the fittings worked without a problem and the rooms were well maintined.

Because the prices were reasonable my wife and I chose to stay in a suite also because it had a spa bath. While we tend to be sceptical of spa baths we were pleasantly surprised as there was space in it for both of us.

We happened to get the suite at the far end of the hotel facing out to the lake and the main road. If you are a light sleeper on weekdays you might wake up early because of the traffic. But then you can watch the little lambs frolic in the fields.
Also it was a bit of a walk to the reception, bar and restaurant. Since we chose the hotel as a base for our travels around Holland that didn't matter. And since the breakfast buffet is actually quite extensive a little walk before and after the meals helps to burn off a calorie or two.

The bar of the hotel was a bit disappointing, long drinks were most definitely not their forte. Considering that it is a conference hotel, I would have thought that that would be a good reason to make a bit more effort there.

So all in all, it was a pleasant stay, in a large hotel that could do with renovating to be able to get top marks.

Would we stay there again? Yes because it is excellent value for money. And the hotel would get a rating of four to five if it was renovated!

Cheers,

swissdiving
PS. there was a review which stated that the food was not really satisfactory.
I tend to disagree. We ate well and enjoyed the food. Considering that it is a large hotel with a large number of guests we never had the impression that we ate canteen food.

Room Tip: Tricky, if you face out to the lake and fields'll be facing the main road. So during the week in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We didn't have reservations, but decided to stay an extra day and stopped at this hotel to see if they had a room. It was a really nice large room and large bathroom, clean, and the breakfast that was included was really good. I would recommend this hotel in a minute.

Room Tip: The hotel sits next to a small piece of water. If that is important to you ask for one of those roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have spent almost a week at this hotel - had no alternatives as there was a training organized in there. Must say that I had very low expectations as the hotel was located quite far away from Amsterdam (~10km).
Well, I was positively surprised in many ways - the hotel is indeed a bit far from the city but the bus connections are just perfect with buses commuting every 15 minutes - the price for a return trip to Amsterdam: 10 euros both ways. You can also enjoy a walk or biking through some really interesting places around, including trips to Volendam (~3km) and Edam (~4km).
The hotel is fairly nice although the interior design is about old fashioned (at least for my taste). Also, my room was kind of dark as the lights were not so bright - but, it was very clean and cozy.
The hotel staff (same as with ALL other Dutch people that I happened to interact with) were EXTREMELY NICE, KIND and helpful. They were there to try to assist me with every issue that I've raised.
The breakfast at the hotel is ok - not a lot of choice though, but everything that was served was fresh and somewhat tasty. Perhaps the hotel management should consider adding some creative arranging of the food as it seemed to be a bit monotonous...
There is an indoors swimming pool (free of charge) as well as fitness, sauna and massage. All these require payment of a reasonable fee.
All in all, I liked my stay at this hotel and would like to thank its staff for their courtesy and kindness and wish them all the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the small pound which is opposite the hotel's main entrance. Definitely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back to Newcastle on the ferry, the hotel is quite a way out of Amsterdam and out of Volendam and is in a quiet location, the rooms are very spacious and well equipped, with balcony, the staff were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed a very good dinner on the evening and the breakfast was also good. A very well priced hotel that seems to run like a well oiled machine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed annually during the last 3 years and finally decided to write a review. This hotel is not conveniently located near the city of Amsterdam nor town of Volendam. However, it may be well-suited to having retreats of meetings where you want everyone's full attention!

Pros:
The have free wireless now and it works all over - major bonus and well done!
Isolated, so there's nothing to do n the local vicinity except work
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean

Cons:
Food, especially for meetings, is poor
Unlike most hotels, they don't have extra supplies of useful items like international electrical plugs
The rooms don't have irons but I'm sure you can ask
The gym charges guests 5 Euro and water must be purchased
Lighting in the rooms is poor - as per other guest complaints

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. Hotel was clean and the staff friendly and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant.
Twin room bedroom was a good size however the lighting was quite dark, added to the dark furniture and deep red soft furnishings. In contrast the bathroom was very bright and modern with great walk in shower. The room was quite cold even when I turned the heating up to 30. Downsides were The door to the balcony was unlocked and open when I checked in to the room (perhaps just an oversight by the housekeeping team) and the loud music coming from the gym directly underneath my room for a few hours while classes were taking place.
The restaurant food was very good and good value for money. Very generous portion sizes and staff were attentive without being intrusive. Very much appreciated when dining by oneself.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Volendam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Volendam

Address: Wagenweg 1, 1145 Katwoude, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Katwoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Volendam 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Volendam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Volendam Hotel Katwoude
Van Der Valk Volendam Katwoude

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Volendam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.