We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, lacking some basics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jules

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jules to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jules
Gildestraat 2, 1704 AG Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heerhugowaard
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, lacking some basics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We used Heerhugowaard as a base for visiting the whole province of Noord-Holland, as well as Texel. We got a very good rate, and we decided to stay at Jules, since it was just five minutes away from the train station and also quite close to the DEKA supermarket.

The staff at the main desk was extremely helpful. We asked for some directions, and they printed them and brought them to our room.

However we missed some basic things such as free wifi connection, a kettle (very helpful for self-caterers) and a fridge. The pillows need to be changed a.s.a.p.!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed our overnight stay very much.
The hotel itself has a very positive and bold design - we liked it - a wonderful change to the usual bland decor of the major chain hotels.
Our room was very clean and comfortable - and surprisingly quiet given the hotel's proximity to a busy road and railway.
The restaurant menu was varied and the food well prepared and presented by particularly pleasant and helpful staff.
............and plenty of convenient parking!

Wished we had stayed longer !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Good weekend deals. Stylish, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Nice breakfast buffet and pleasant restaurant with great service. Hotel is wildly decorated throughout, which affords a very enjoyable experience. Hotel is walking distance to a train station with frequent fast trains. On the downside, there is some noise from the main road, and breakfast was not served before 8 AM and dinner would not be served after 9 PM. This is quite restrictive for a four-star hotel. Room was cold, as the window was left open by the maid during the day and the heating was off.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Hotel Jules is a great hotel on all fronts. It is situated within easy walking distance of a metro which connects you to everywhere in the city. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the buffet breakfast had a good selection of food. The staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. We were there during the volcanic disruption and the front desk staff spent a considerable amount of time arranging our return journey which was greatly appreciated and successful! I would definitely return to this hotel in the future and would readily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Nice but expensive. Stylish if red lamp districts are stylish. ;) Huge mirrors over my bed, almost naked women on wall papers, panther skin pillows, well, everything if you want perform some in-door activities with your closest friend or spouse.
Location is good if the town is your goal but 2 main roads nearby decrease my note – a bit noisy place especially on evenings when motorcycles start full power from street lights. Racing for free if you like the sound.
Hotel’s staff is friendly but does not hard working. All things takes time so finally I have got free internet access as a compensation of long waiting for my room key – a man in reception disappeared for few minutes. I did not want to guess for what ;) What an atmosphere! ;)
Food is stylish, tasty but also rather limited in size. Not big choice of dishes and drinks. Outstanding selection of soaps and shampoo let you smell like a hell. You find it as a very nice advantage of Jules.
Summary – a bit expensive and rather for crazy lovers than somebody who cares about expenses.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jules

Address: Gildestraat 2, 1704 AG Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Heerhugowaard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heerhugowaard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Jules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.