We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly staff, good venue for business meetings too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Holle Bilt 1, 3732 HM De Bilt, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Bilt
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly staff, good venue for business meetings too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed twice now at the Van der Valk Hotel De Biltsche Hoek near Utrecht for business meetings. Each time I was welcomed with a smile and the attentive and polite staff were eager to help throughout my stay. The rooms are large and comfortable with modern decor and comfortable beds. The food at the restaurant is excellent, varies according to season, and is good value. There's an indoors swimming pool, fast wifi, and a choice of dining spaces. The upstairs meeting rooms are well appointed and the staff ensure you have everything you need without charging excessive rates for hire of extra equipment. The location is easy to get to from Utrecht and less than an hour from Schiphol airport - about 30 minutes by frequent train to Utrecht then a 10-15 minute taxi ride.
Why not 5 stars? I'd like to see tea/coffee making equipment provided in the bedrooms, the decor in parts is quite dark and brown, and the site is sandwiched between two roads so it's not particularly beautiful and there is some (not excessive) road noise.
However the friendly welcome, polite and professional staff and good value for money mean it's very likely that I'll continue to use it as a venue when bringing together people from several countries for meetings.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    102
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
75
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Used to come here just to use the pool with the kids. Always considered this to be the low end of hotels but instead discovered the experience to be great value and very pleasant. My room (105) was substantially larger than the average five star in London, Paris or New York with a comfortable king size bed, great pillows, a few comfy chairs, a perfect desk to work from, all amenities you could need, free, good, wifi and a crisp white shiny bathroom with separate bath and shower. The only things that are slightly quirky are the empty mini bar (but you can a mini bar pack at reception), the room service menu (no desserts, only bottles of wine, etc.) but ask when you order and pretty much anything is available. Food and service were absolutely fine and the view from my room (on the back of the hotel) across the field wonderful! For a fee of €25 i could the room until 5:00 PM. Great comfort for your buck!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel provided a safe haven of peace and calm on a recent business trip. The facilities are excellent and I was lucky to have a room away from the main road, Food was very good and plentiful, The staff were all friendly and helpful, The hotel has a lovely bar, but it's underground!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

used for the first time.
Big structure with swimming pool, a bit old but typical.
In case of booking, select rooms not in front of the big road.
Very good the restaurant and for breakfast a good selection.
surely in case of needs I'll use again.
Wi Fi available and fast
Rooms and bathroom good

Room Tip: request rooms not in front of the main road (high trafficated)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed in this hotel as one of us needed to stay in UMC.
This was a easy drive to and from the hospital.
Great restaurant.
Adapted rooms are very good layed out.
Beautifull suroundings.
Loved the indoor pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is the best hotel I have stayed to my Europe trip. the area of the hotel is very quite and peaceful, the room is big and the bed is so comfortable, Wifi works with out problem, the bathroom is huge and modern. the restaurant offer best food, the breakfast have choice of menu. the staffs of the hotels were not that helpful, I had to call to Nepal, I asked them the internet rate, they didn't find it and suggest to call directly and I had to pay alot of money for a short call.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Since my first review of this property in 2007, we have spent many enjoyable weeks at this property over the years. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff have not changed: they will do whatever they can to make their guests happy. The prices are reasonable, and they still offer a great breakfast buffet for half the price that other hotels charge.
The fairly recent refurbishment has given the rooms a fresh new look, more closet space, free wifi, and a rain shower. The restaurant's menu has been upgraded with more exciting choices such as game in season etc. All the rest is pretty much as it was: great beds, room darkening drapes, very clean rooms, and a caring staff.
We keep coming back here year after year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Bilt
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#5 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
5.0 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
1.7 mi away
Star Lodge Hotels
Star Lodge Hotels
#7 of 20 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mary K Hotel
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 20 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt

Address: De Holle Bilt 1, 3732 HM De Bilt, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > De Bilt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Bilt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk de Bilt-Utrecht is a 4-star hotel nearby the beautiful forests Houdringse bossen. Benefit from free parking and an indoor swimming pool. The hotel rooms are well-appointed and have a private bathroom with a bath. An extensive breakfast buffet is available in the morning. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner daily. The centre of Utrecht can be reached within 15 minutes by car or public transport. Jaarbeurs Conference Centre is 20 minutes away by car. The motorway is 3 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Hotel De Bilt Utrecht Province, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.