We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoofdveste 25, 3992 Houten, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€ 5 discount
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Whitebird4
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel whilst visiting friends in Holland. It was exceptional. The rooms are big lovely decor and a jacuzzi bath. The breakfast had plenty of choice of cooked and cold foods. On Saturday evening we went to the one price evening buffet 35 euros to eat and drink all you wanted. The food was very good. Oysters prawns clams turbot and salmon to name a few fish dishes on offer and all the meats and vegetables you could think and just to round off the evening a chocolate fountain fresh fruits creme brûlée and plenty of other tempting desserts. Wonderful value for money. The hotel is close to all road links and a few minutes by car from the train station. This is a very good hotel and any person who can find fault must be very hard to please.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitebird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Terrassa, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I spent few nights last week there by business reasons. And enjoyed the hotel a lot. Fantastic rooms with relaxing jacuzzi included. The room was incredibly huge. The restaurant is very good, and we spent nice times in the bar watching World Cup football matches in TV (the only con is the screens are very small for this place :-) )

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otmbarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands,UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is my 5th visit over the last 7 years I have stayed at this hotel.
It still remains the only hotel close to Houten centre, although it is a brisk 25 minute walk through a pleasant park.
The cuisine is still pretty good in the hotels restaurant, also they still have a decent size menu with
a good selection of various meals.
The bar and terrace is very popular and quite impressive selection of drinks,snacks and lite bites.Very spacious public areas.
Bedrooms and bathrooms are generous in size. Please note that windows do not open!, to compensate the aircon is efficient.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view ask for rooms above floors 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norsemanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Considering the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, I find it overpriced. However, it is a good choice for business travelers going to Utrecht or Papendorpseweg. The deluxe rooms are clean, well furnished and well-sized but the whirlpool is far from comfortable with jets of water that prevent to assume a comfortable position and with showers of boiling water coming out of the faucet at random.
The restaurant in the hotel is nice with a wide variety of dishes, but it is also pricey.

Room Tip: There is nothing around the hotel and rooms are pretty standars, but rooms in higher floors have a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here in April 2014. It was about 40 minutes from the AMS airport and very easy to get to. I would describe it as a mix between a Westin / W. My room on the 15th floor was large and spacious by European standards with a nice waterfall shower and a separate tub. A very nice queen bed and 42" LCD rounded out the room. Very stylize like a W with contemporary furnishings and quotes and the like on the walls. Breakfast was included in my stay and it was fantastic with custom omelets and many other buffet options.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buonconvento
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We chose this hotel on the basis of excellent reviews so our expectations were high. The hotel is easy to find and has plenty of parking space. The reception desk was friendly and helpful, printing out a map to show us how to reach our restaurant on foot and noting our request for a room on a higher floor, giving extensive views of the countryside. The room was large, well equipped and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was space and easy chairs to sit and relax. The bathroom was also generously equipped with a spa bath and separate shower. For breakfast there was masses of choice and all of good quality. We prepaid for our room (breakfast included); at €89 for the night, it was excellent value

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A nice modern hotel which easily out ranks the surrounding hotels. A few touches like Jacuzzi bath and electric curtains add to the luxury stay! Aswell as Great food served in the restaurant at reasonable prices. Highly recommended. We now visit every year on business!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houten
3.4 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Vianen
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt
3.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Nieuwegein-Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht
25.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
18.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Veenendaal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht

Address: Hoofdveste 25, 3992 Houten, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Houten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Houten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Houten-Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing