We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why oh why” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen to your Saves list
Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woudenbergseweg 44 | Autosnelweg A12 - Afrit 22, 3953 MH Maarsbergen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maarsbergen
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Why oh why”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Why when you have an otherwise great hotel can they not put a simple fitness room in it!!!!
I may be obsessed but if I am paying €150 for a hotel is it not too much to ask do they think travellers don't exercise?
Otherwise a really nice hotel huge rooms, big bath separate day area, lovely breakfast really nice. The location is not great next to the highway but there is little noise from that, and I would stay again, but bring some stretch bands for a work out. I could have hired a bike I guess :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we wanted to have a weekend shopping trip in the city of Utrecht and to visit the Kasteel de Haar.

The Amrath Hotel is rated 4* but I think that's overrating it. I've stayed in many 4* hotels in Europe and this one doesn't really cut it.

It's a rather modern hotel with a spacious parking lot and there was a La Place (a cafe, food joint) across the parking lot. The room was spacious and appears clean but lacks character. A good thing about the room was that it was pretty soundproofed from the busy traffic on the highway and the trains. It's a 15-20 minute drive to the Utrecht.

When checking in, we found the reception staff to be distant and disengaging. They were busy with their computers and talking to each other and only attended to us when we called out to them. They don't maintain eye contact and the only time they spoke was to ask for our reservation details and signature.

We find the room to be quite spacious with a good adjoining bathroom with tub. The room looked very clean but after a while we realized that it was rather dusty the bed covers seem to have a lot of lint because they stuck onto our clothes, caused us to sneeze and made our faces itchy. In the evening, a local bus with teenagers arrived and they caused a ruckus! While our room was soundproofed from the traffic outside, the teenagers screaming and running around knocking on doors along the corridor was hard to ignore. They finally stopped a little after midnight. The was either no A/C in the room or it didn't work. We called the reception to look into it but nothing happened. In the end, we had to open the windows so we had to listen to traffic. We spent all night tossing and turning in a warm bed covered in lint, and we were glad when morning dawned.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the motorways
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I travel to Holland each year from Canada to visit my cousin and his family. We recently stayed 6 nights for the 1st time at the Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen due to its location near my cousin's town. We reserved a Panoramic room which was extremely clean with a large bed and bathroom, a balcony and free wi-fi. The daily hot buffet breakfast was excellent, and was located in a modern, large and very clean dining area. All staff from the Reception Desk to the waiters, waitresses and General Manager were extremely friendly and very accommodating. Most guests have a car which allows easy and close access to the towns of Maarsbergen, Woudenberg and Amersfoort. We will definitely choose the Amrath Maarsbergen again during our next trip to Holland.

Room Tip: Pay the extra Euros and stay in one of the large Panoramic rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went to Maarsbergen because we wanted to visit the castles of Doorn and Amerongen. The castles and the woods were very impressive

This new hotel is located between the busy railway (on the left) and the highway (on the right). The standardroom was kind of soundproof, but did not have a window that opened. Even with earplugs, we could hear the train, but it did not disturb our sleep.

The standard room was modern but not too big. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower. The dispensers for the showergel did not work properly, it seemed as if the showergel ran out, but if you took the tube (brand "Dove", not especially environmentally friendly) from the dispenser, there was still plenty of shower gel in the tube. By squeezing a lot, the shower gel came from the tube. The small showercabin (60 cm wide) had a water saving showerhead, where very little water came out, so one had to take a lot of time for hairwashing. I think it's foolish of the hotel to save a few pennies by replacing amenities by not-working dispensers with plastic tubes inside in the name of environment. Something like that arouses annoyance. Why not providing amenities from an environmentally friendly brand in an recycled packaging?

The reception, lounge, bar and restaurant are located in one space without partitions.

There was free wifi and free parking. The heating was OK. The breakfast (with mini rolls and fruit salad) was OK. The staff could be friendlier. If you want a low budget dinner, you can go to the opposite "La Place" restaurant.

Room Tip: Alle rooms experience noise from the railway and highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This hotel is located on a highway and far from anything you might be interested in. Rooms are very basic, bathrooms have no amenities whatsoever. The hotel is very close to both the highway and the railway, the noise in the room is unbearable.
Breakfast is decent. The restaurant closes very early in the evening. The closest place for getting some decent food is kilometers away.

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederbelg, General Manager at Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Sir, Madam,
Thank your for your review concerning our hotel. Unfortunately you rated your stay as unsatisfactory and your review has taken us by surprise.
We recently have gone through the process of replacing all guest amenities with environmentally friendly packaged products and this has been done in all rooms.
Indeed, your description regarding our location is quite right and due to that effect our hotel has been equipped with soundproof messures to avoid noises from coming into your room. Our restaurant is opened daily until 22h00 and last orders can be made right upto and including 22h00 every night.
Again we are sorry your stay did not correspond with your expectations.
Sincerely yours,
Marcel M. Andeweg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maarsbergen hotels

Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

What this hotel has going for it. Free breakfast, separate shower and tub, very clean, free parking, 13.50 Euro steak festival, La Place restaurant one block away, small fridge in room

What's missing. Clock radio, coffee maker or free evening coffee, no irons or board in room, no free internet in room, no ice maker, no washing machines for guest usage, one very slow elevator, no swimming pool, no fitness center, free bike rental, no shuttle to Maarn train station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederbelg, Manager at Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comment concerning our hotel. Some items we cannot change on a short term i.e. swimmingpool. But we have discussed the amenities you found lacking and we are pleased to inform you that we offer a free shuttle service (on request) to the Maarn railway station, internet is free in the lobby and restaurant and all our TV's are equipped with an alarm and clock.
We are convinced that adapting our services to our guests wishes will enable us to improve our standards and thus the satisfaction of our valued guests.
Again, thank yuo for your review and I hope to meet you again in the Amrâth Hotel Maarsbergen.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011 via mobile

On arrival I thought we,d taken a wrong turning as the Hotel looks very dated and basic from the outside. On walking into reception at just prior to midnight after a long day we were welcomed by Hank the night receptionist and only member of staff on duty. We stayed for three nights as we were over for a Wedding. In all the Hotel was value for money, well equipped rooms, very clean.

Only cons are that some of the staff could learn to smile, it's doesn't cost anything and if your reading this Mr Hotel Manager then buy another Iron you cheapskate. One for the whole Hotel when you've got so many Wedding guests trying to get ready. Well it gave us a giggle.

Hank needs a pay rise and award for best member of staff.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederbelg, Manager at Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We will most certainly pass on your message to Henk (Hank) whom you met during your stay in our hotel.
Most certainly your review will put a smile on the faces of our staff members, as it did on mine.
I hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.
Yours,
M. Andeweg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen

Address: Woudenbergseweg 44 | Autosnelweg A12 - Afrit 22, 3953 MH Maarsbergen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Maarsbergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maarsbergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen! With 84 executive rooms, 6 business suites, "options are standard" meeting rooms, bar-brasserie with sunny terrace etc. etc. Personal attention to your stay is our aim. Whether you are staying for business or pleasure, our staff is available to assist you in order to ensure an excellent stay.Our location does not always tell this but we are located at one of the major entry points of National Park Utrechtse Heuvelrug. As such you may expect beautiful forrests (almost) at our doorstep. Castles and estates are a stonethrow away and Maarsbergen has one of the Netherlands's most beautuful Golf Cources: Anderstein.Historical villages such as Amerongen boast a lovely centre to wander around and one of the most beautiful castles one can find. Shopping is readily available in Amersfoort, only 12 car minutes or by pubic transport also within easy reach.The hotel can be accessed by car via the A12 Utrecht - Arnhem on exit 22. By train via the railway station MAARN, give us a call and we will arrange a pick up for your.We, the the hospitality team at Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen, look forward welcoming you in our hotel, awarded with a Golden Green Key certificate.We can go on but what really counts is that we offer a warm welcome and staff care about your well being! From the early welcome coffee/tea provided to our day speakers whilst going through the details of meeting programs to the attentive service in our Brasserie. At Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen we strive to meet your expectations. If we don't, tell us! We want to know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Hotel Maarsbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.