We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if visiting the Keukenhof” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Warmonderweg 8, 2171 AH Sassenheim, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sassenheim
Lethbridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location if visiting the Keukenhof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Comfort Room, for 4 nights, to visit family and see the Keukenhof. Hotel offers shuttle to Keukenhof. Dry sauna was great! Great bathtubs, modern rooms. Good food in the sushi bar; service incredibly, incredibly slow in the main restaurant for lunch and dinner. The hotel is about a 20 - 25 minute walk into the centre of Sassenheim.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that overlooks the highway, traffic all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    27
    13
    4
See reviews for
14
29
4
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Updated, modern hotel. Very comfortable bedding and nice bathrooms. Front desk service was very helpful and there is a luggage closet in case you need to store items for a few hours after checkout. Close and convenient to Keukenhof Gardens. We enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Booked a suite at the hotel, especially for the large 2-person whirlpool bath. The bathroom in the suite was great, a lovely bath and a very nice shower.

The suite itself was quite large, but it did smell off smoke even though it is advertised as a non-smoking hotel. The water boiler worked but blew a fuse, quick service via the reception did fix that.

The facilities look a bit shady, like some sort of cheap motel.

Breakfast was included with the room, no complaints there: plenty of fresh food, lots of choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

So, I picked this hotel because it had a 'Keukenhof' package which was listed on Keukenhof's website which included a room, ticket to Keukenhof, dinner, breakfast, and a shuttle to Keukenhof. I had a few issues with my stay but let me first say the rooms are very large with very nice bathrooms (I had a comfort room). As one other reviewer mentioned, the rooms are dark at night, partially due to large dark wood built in closets. Now...the problems...I was using public transportation for this trip - this hotel is out in the suburbs, not walking distance to anything. So...go here with a car OR if you are taking public transportation - PLAN AHEAD and understand the bus schedule AND the bus stops. There are a couple stops right by the hotel; understand which is which and where they are located in reference to the hotel because when you get off that bus - there are no signs that say 'Your hotel is this way', As I mentioned, I booked this hotel for my visit to Keukenhof...the only reason I visited Holland was for Keukenhof. When I arrived at my hotel at 2, I checked in, got my ticket to Keukenhof and asked the desk clerk when the next shuttle was to Keukenhof (which was open until 7 pm) - she said, 'Oh, there are no more shuttles today but I can make an appointment for you for the early morning shuttle' - um WHAT??? I was leaving in the morning! The clerk offered no help...no mention if buses go there, etc. She said she could call me a taxi but wasn't really sure how much that would cost, she thought 15-20 euros. I wasn't going to miss Keukenhof and couldn't change my morning departure date so said ok about the taxi. 30 euros later, I was at Keukenhof and since the clerk also informed me that the last shuttle back to the hotel left at 4pm (again, Keukenhof was open until SEVEN), I had to pay another 30 euros to get back to the hotel. So, basically, I had to pay an extra $100 dollars for something that was supposed to be included at the hotel. No where on the website did it state the shuttles were only at specific times. The free dinner was ok. I was sat at a table with a menu full of delicious choices. When my waitress came and found out I had a voucher for dinner, she promptly took that menu and brought me a new one that had a small handful of choices - a bit disappointing. Why not just allow me to order up to x amount of money off the standard menu?? The food was fine, the service was SLOW.

Would I stay here again? Only after investigating all other options to visit Keukenhof, and understanding the shuttle service. I would recommend this hotel to friends only after explaining my experiences above; there was nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel.

Also to note - internet is not free.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szolnok, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We spent a week in this hotel and Its location is perfect for travelers coming with a car.
The room was big enough for 3 persons but there were all worn/old fashion furnitures.
It was almost impossible to open the door of balcony.Lighting was really poor, forget to read a book evening time.
The breakfast was really rich and good, Helpful staff at reception.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have not car.
The bus comes one every 1 hr.
About 20 mins from Liden Central.

The room never been vacumn since renovation. Dirty. It is motel type hotel.. only classy and clean in the Lobby and restaurant but no when you go to you room.
The housekeeping only clean the room around 10 am and they dont knock, they assumed you are out.. so dont forget to double lock it. If you miss the housekeeper at 10am, they are not coming back.. what a 4 * service hey ?

There are a huge pond of water, it is very dirty and lots of masquitos ..!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sassenheim hotels

Brussels
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I spent three nights with a team of colleagues in this hotel. Essentially, this is a high quality motel, located between a warehouse district and a motorway. The three storey buildings are grouped around an enormous parking lot; all rooms are accessed from outside. My room was spacious and modern. One colleague complained about mould in the bathroom. We thought staff was friendly and welcoming; the lobby/bar area is pleasantly furnished.

A large restaurant is attached to the hotel, which seems to generate substantial business on its own merits. We ate here twice and were very pleased with the food. Breakfast was also pretty good. Restaurant and bar service seemed slow to us though. Given that this is not an expensive place, we thought the Sassenheim Hotel was a good deal despite its odd location.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim

Address: Warmonderweg 8, 2171 AH Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Sassenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sassenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim is a 4-star hotel, located in the heart of the flowerbulb-growing region and just a few kilometres away from Leiden, Noordwijk, The Hague, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam. It offers comfortable rooms, equipped with bathtub and shower, toilet, hairdryer, flatscreen TV, desk, minibar, safe, Internet access and balcony. Hotel Sassenheim has two restaurants. In restaurant ´Martinus´, guests can enjoy a varied breakfast as well as regional and international dishes for lunch and dinner. OZZO Sushi & Lounge is a trendy sushibar. Furthermore, the hotel disposes a wellness area and meeting rooms for up to 400 persons.A pleasant stay for the business guest and the leisure guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Casino Sassenheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.