We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Food in a Nice and Quiet Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 8, 2275 AZ Voorburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Voorburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Food in a Nice and Quiet Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here 4x nights on Business while in the Netherlands. I like this hotel and have stayed 2x previous times. It is conveniently located in a quiet part of the city, yet close to the major highways in this part of western Holland, so this hotel can easily be used for access to many major cities in the western region (i.e The Hague, Rotterdam, Delft etc). The rooms a large and well appointed, WIFI is free in entire hotel and food is great. Breakfasts are very good with large variety. Room service also offers several options, plus a snack stand take-away restaurant is just 2 minutes walk from the hotel, offering many additional great quick options. The Staff is always very helpful. This Hotel also sits right across from a major train station so this adds additional convenience for access and travel, but rooms are not noisy so building is well insulated..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    92
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
54
6
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingene, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Don't come here for exceptional things.
The room was large, but has had better days. It was very clean, but its not shiny new.
The mattress in room 208 was too soft and I felt the springs right through it - despite that I had a very good sleep (on the bedside that probably hasn't had much sleep since most guests were probably business and alone).
The restaurant was ok, not a very large selection and rather long waiting times. The food is ok, not very refined, but tasty.
The breakfast lacks fresh orange juice and is set up at different buffets, so that took me a while to get to know where everything is.
The staff is VERY friendly which made my stay above average, but not "Very Good".
The location is quite handy if you need to be in Voorburg, Rijswijk or Nootdorp. Parking spaces outside the hotel are free but get filled quickly at night.
Get a room away from the railway station and away from the elevators.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the railway station and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

All feedback that we receive from our guests is very important to us.
We will use your feedback with our next quality meeting in order to improve our service & quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,
Marit Arkesteijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I booked this hotel because I am working in the area for a few weeks. I don't like large corporate hotels and for me the Moevenpick provides a little more personality. I have found the staff to be great, the breakfasts to be plentiful and varied and the rooms to be well equipped and spacious.

The train station is literally right outside the hotel and it's a 3 minute ride into Den Haag Central - so it's also great if you need to be in the city centre.

The old streets of Voorburg open up on the other side of the train station with a good selection of bars and restaurants.

Got to say that I found it much cheaper on Trivago, but either way it provides good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Nice hotel with modern layout, the Moevenpick is right next to a station. I had a meeting next door so was perfect for me, but might not be central enough for all.

Room was nice and they had a fab tv with all the English channels on (inc BBC 3&4, C4 and sports. 4 hours free internet, then €15 for a day, but free was fine for email and checking the football scores.

The minibar is full and whilst I only had a bottle of water (€2.95) there were all the usual choices. Breakfast was expensive (€18), so I skipped it. Also, room service was a little overpriced, though tasty and the staff very friendly.

Overall very good but a little pricey.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my second time staying here, and it's a solid choice if you are visiting The Hague. Clean rooms, fairly comfortable bed and friendly staff. However, the service at the attached restaurant and bar are just atrocious. It takes forever to get served, and you are lucky to get what you ordered to begin with. It's a shame that such an otherwise nice property is attached to these two businesses as they really bring down the experience.

Room Tip: Try to get something away from the elevators. Nothing else of note (no views to speak of)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.

I sincerely apologise for your negative experience concerning the service in our bar & restaurant.
Your comments have been shared with our restaurant manager and team.

In order for us to take the specific measurements I would like to ask you when you have stayed with us.

We are certain that comments like this will further help us to continue to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally before your next visit to our hotel so that I can do my utmost to ensure we provide you the service that you expect.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

With best regards,
Marit Arkesteijn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Checked-in this hotel for business purpose, and all I can say that the reservation and check-in were perfect, no doubt about that. The staff was good and very professional. Price wise, it was also ok (however, it excluded, wifi, breakfast, parking, etc ...) if you add this up, it came a bit more that what I expected.

The room was nice and spacious. The bed very comfortable. The shower was great ! real hot water. Ordered breakfast in the room, and it was very good. So overall, I was quite pleased from my stay.

From another perspective, I was giving a training in this hotel. From a booking and organizational perspective, all went perfectly well. My only disappointment, was regarding food the hotel provided. In the morning, there was coffee and tea. At lunch time, they provided sandwiches (two per person - and believe me they were counted). Although they provided everything that was stated in the contract, some people left the table a bit hungry at lunch time.

I have provided the same training in several hotels in Luxembourg and Germany, and I can say that the value for money was much higher from that perspective.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we will use your feedback with our next quality meeting in order to improve our service & quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked this hotel through a travel auction. Check in was quick. The room was very spacious and included a tub, minibar and the possibility to make coffee or tea. Everything was perfect. Restaurant is very good. Train is a couple of minutes to The Hague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg

Address: Stationsplein 8, 2275 AZ Voorburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Voorburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Voorburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Voorburg Railway Station, this modern hotel offers elegant rooms, a restaurant and comfortable lobby on the edge of The Hague. It is only 20 minutes' drive from Rotterdam and offers the first 4 hours of Wi-Fi free of charge. The Movenpick Hotel Voorburg offers luxurious accommodation in Voorburg, near the well-known city of The Hague. Enjoy direct connections with the main motorways A12, A4 and A13. The tastefully decorated guest rooms are provided with many comforts and are all accessible for disabled guests. This non-smoking hotel has a stylish lobby where you can relax with a drink. The attractive restaurant Ciao & Mie serves a wide variety of delicious grill, pasta and Asian wok dishes. Weather permitting, the outside terrace with its large parasols is a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Den Haag - Voorburg Hotel Voorburg
mövenpick The Hague
Moevenpick Hotel The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.