We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsplein 8, Voorburg 2275 AZ, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Voorburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lima
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very convenient and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A combination of prices and reviews, location and available parking space, those were the factors that helped me to choose the Moevenpick (besides that I am familiar with the brand). Great finding, I was not able to find something remotely similar at the price I got. Rooms are huge for dutch standards, parking was available on the street (you have to pay) and also inside the hotel (very convenient!!). Not happy with the fact that WIFI was limited and not freely available (what is the issue that Moevenpick has with the subject?? always have problems with internet connection when I stay in one of their hotels... pity because that's why I didn't recommend the chain for biz trips). if you can live without the free WIFI access (beyond the 4hrs) then you'll enjoy the hotel. It is right next to Voorburg station so you can go to the Den Haag city center in minutes by taking the train or the buses. The center of Voorburg is just half a block away, great location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    74
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
40
6
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Moevenpick Hotel at Voorburg , Netherlands , close by to train and buss connections , offered us excellent accommodations at a reasonable price . A spacious clean comfortable room with nice bed and linens . The staff was very friendly and helpful . The restaurant offered a good large breakfast table .

The township Voorburg is a pearl with its 16th century city hall , Huygens residence , many shops and small restaurants .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having spent almost 10 days over the last 4-5 months (last visit was in July 2013) you can easily explain the review's title. Located next to Voorburg's train station (one station away from Den Haag Central), it is ideal for business trips.
Rooms are specious and clean, beds are comfortable, staff is friendly and breakfast is superb. Limited Wifi access is also free.

Maybe it is not the best choice for a romantic weekend in the Hague but it could be a very nice alternative if the availability in the center is limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice stay - missed two things:
A couple of benches outside. If you were seated on the terrace just to wait or relax outside, you would have 3 different waiters asking you if yor waqnted to order anything i a short while, even if the terrase was far from full. I suggest th hotel to sponse a bench outside thie flowershop, and one outside the entrance.
What about a small wastebasket om the breakfast table, - nice breakfast, but if you sitt for a while eating and eggshell and wrappings start taking over your
table ... A lot of hotel uses this system, and the basket is emptied before new people use the table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will use your feedback with our next quality meeting in order to improve our service & quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Movenpick from 2nd May to 8th May 2013
I was visiting, Den Hague, Netherlands to attend my daughters wedding there. Movenpick was recommended by my daughter because it was handy to the church, reception and her residence.
Check in was without incident and we were allocated Rm 815. The hotel is apparently one used by business men and women and one can see why it has some attraction for them. It is close to the rail service (1 stop from Den Hague central) and handy to restaurants & cafes in Voorburg. Whilst it is close to the rail line, noise is not a problem in the rooms.
The rooms are spacious and clean. We had specified tea making facilities so were provided with an electric jug and mugs and teaspoons as well as basic supplies of condiments. The supply and re-supply was not generous and my wife and I bought our own after the first day. The bathroom was clean and modern with a hand basin handily located separate from the shower & toilet.
The restaurant /hotel dining room provided a reasonably good breakfast selection but I thought it quite expensive at 18 Euro per person. Maybe this is the norm for Europe these days - I was last here in 2007.
The hotel advertised a free wifi service for a maximum of 4 hours per day. Pay as you go wifi is also available. I found the free wifi to be woeful with frequent drop outs and I would guess operating at dial up speed. I had to download a 39mb file and it took me 19 minutes with 7 drop outs along the way as I sat monitoring its progress. On one day whilst attempting to download mail the drop outs were almost non stop and I gave up, going across the road to a cafe. As my wifi need was not great I did not use the pay facility. I assume this presents no problem.
I have one other complaint. This concerned our two day extension on our stay. The price quoted us at reception upon enquiry omitted any discount. Had it not been for my daughters presence at the time, (she speaks fluent Dutch) we would not have been offered the standard discount. Having established a rate of 91 Euro for the Monday and 70 for the Tuesday we thanked them saying we would confirm the following day. I approached reception the following day and was again quoted a higher figure. I told reception of the previous days quote and was told that the figure given us was incorrect. Having insisted that there was no mistake as the negotiation was in Dutch the price was eventually confirmed. Prices should be clear and spending 10 minutes getting it right should never happen. I suggest guests check prices and discounts when booking and do the maths themselves before accepting the quote.
Apart from these two irritants, our stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: If you want free wifi don't take Rm 815
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we will use your feedback with our next quality meeting in order to improve our service & quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good business hotel, very close to where I need to be. Spacious rooms, excellent beds, not much environmental noise even though it's close to a major freeway and a train station. Helpful friendly staff, good breakfast. Free streetside parking 6PM-9AM if you're going to be out early enough. More free parking across the tram tracks under the railway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are certain that comments like this will further motivate us to continue to strive to provide quality service to all of our valued guests.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A modest, European hotel where nothing is done particularly well or particularly badly. Comfortable rooms, helpful receptionist, adequate breakfast. Utterly soulless but perfectly acceptable business hotel. The Hague has to be the most depressing European capital city -designed by bureaucrats for bureaucrats. If you miss Blighty, spend a few days here it will make coming back home an especial treat.

Room Tip: They are probably all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelvoorburg, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you very much for your review for the Mövenpick Hotel Den Haag-Voorburg on Tripadvisor.

We will use your feedback with our next quality meeting in order to improve our service & quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,
Marit Arkesteijn
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg

Address: Stationsplein 8, Voorburg 2275 AZ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Voorburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Voorburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite Voorburg Railway Station, this modern hotel offers elegant rooms, a restaurant and comfortable lobby on the edge of The Hague. It is only 20 minutes' drive from Rotterdam and offers the first 4 hours of Wi-Fi free of charge. The Movenpick Hotel Voorburg offers luxurious accommodation in Voorburg, near the well-known city of The Hague. Enjoy direct connections with the main motorways A12, A4 and A13. The tastefully decorated guest rooms are provided with many comforts and are all accessible for disabled guests. This non-smoking hotel has a stylish lobby where you can relax with a drink. The attractive restaurant Ciao & Mie serves a wide variety of delicious grill, pasta and Asian wok dishes. Weather permitting, the outside terrace with its large parasols is a great place to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Den Haag - Voorburg Hotel Voorburg
mövenpick The Hague
Moevenpick Hotel The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Den Haag - Voorburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.