We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the outskirts of Interlaken at Lake Brienz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oberlanderhof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boenigen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Oberlanderhof
Save
You added Hotel Oberlanderhof to your Saves list
Am Quai 1, Boenigen 3806, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On the outskirts of Interlaken at Lake Brienz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Family run Inn with good swiss type breakfast. Fantastic view overlooking the lake from the bedroom. Inn keepers very friendly and accommodating. Hotel is a little dated, especially the bathrooms, and slow internet (lobby only), but with character. We would come back and stay here again. There is a bus stop outside the inn with free travel to Interlaken Ost Rail station - about 10 minutes - very convenient. It was our base to visit the Jungfrau Joch, Lauterbrunnen Falls, Wengen, and Harder Kulm. This was our second trip to Interlaken.

Room Tip: Relatively good value considering how expensive Switzerland is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Long overdue I guess but I think I have to write something about the place and the owners!

Was there in Jan'12. Awed by the beautiful view we woke up to everyday with the Lake View Room. Lucky to see the first fall of snow and coming from a tropical island, we were so excited to see the fantastic scenery of snow capped mountains surrounding a beautiful lake.

Owners were fantastic, found out they just took over the hotel then and I sense that they will have many customers coming back including us!

Pros
Nice view from room with the little balcony
Easy access by bus to Interlaken
Nice atmosphere

Cons
Breakfast not much variety

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came in late for dinner tonight. The proprietess was very accomodating. The tomato soup was delicious, clearly homemade with fresh herbs and cream on top. My husband ordered the roti with onions and potatos and it was delicious. Better than the Zum Baren in Ulstereen where we ate the night before. Wish we knew about this restaurant earlier, we would definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The hotel is located on the Brienz lake, and the rooms have magnificent view of the lake and the surrounding mountains.
The rooms are spacious and Nice, though the bathroom is a bit "old" and quite tiny.
There is a bus station right in front of the hotel if you don't have a car with you.
The hotel is about 10 minutes by car from interlaken center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

excellent location right on the edge of lake brienz. Room was confortable and spacious - although like most continental hotels bed is 2 single beds pushed together.

Service is friendly and attentive and both owners and team alike were most helpful. Bar terrace is nice with great views of the lake. Food is basic offering and not available every night but is still traditional and of good quality.

Although hotel is in a quiet area the boat stop lake brienz is adjacent to the hotel and the bus stop (route 103) is right outside the front door taking you to Interlaken Ost main station in 10 mins.

All in all this hotel comes highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Book Early!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

It was so easy because the bus stopped right in front of the hotel and the hotel gave us a bus discount. The bus took us to the train to go to Young Frau. We could have driven but the roads are narrow and there is a lot of traffic and road construction. One evening we bought food and ate out on our balcony the scenery was so gorgeous. The lady at the desk spoke English well and called several places to get directions for us. So thoughtful!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

This hotel is one of the picturesque one that I have ever stayed. The balcony opens to the lake and the snow capped mountains which looks mesmerizing. The hotel staff was warm and helpful from the very moment we entered their premises. Though it is 2.5 kms from the OST station bus number 103 runs every 30 mins and is a very convinient way to go to the main city. One dampner was the unavailability of a good restaurant in the hotel and its vicinity. The double room had two single beds joined into two which was a bit irritant for a couple. THe washroom was small but was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oberlanderhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberlanderhof

Address: Am Quai 1, Boenigen 3806, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Boenigen
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Boenigen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Hotel Oberlanderhof Switzerland/Boenigen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oberlanderhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.