We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experience in Cairns!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holloways Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Billabong Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Xiamen, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Experience in Cairns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Few months has past but I still miss the joy and hapiness I experienced when staying with Janenne during the far too short 3 nights in Billabong b&b. Gorgeous place, unbelievabliy beautiful and natural environment, rooms surrounded by peaceful pond and lotus, the most fabulous breakfast exactly resembling the brochure, a warmhearted and kind host... We couldn't believe our luck when we found it. Janenne was absolutely the best of all!! She's a lot fun and outgoing and extremely helpful. She generously upgraded us to the self-contained villa on the second day without asking for more money, since we were the only 3 guests then. Our third day was filled with non-stopping downpour and Janenne even drove us to hang around the city though it's not her job! In return we made her a delicous Chinese dinner and with another friend of Janenne's and wine and loads of jokes, what a night! She also drove us to the airport on the last day, for free! We really appreciate that!

It's a bit far from Carins downtown but a great great place to enjoy especially relaxing vacation. Next time in Cairns, we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rendsburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The apartment is great for families, big and clean with the possibility to do your laundry. Perfect breakfast is served on the veranda where you have a beautiful view on the lake which is also nice to make a little walk around it, if you want also in the company of the owners well-behaving dog. A great place to enjoy the amazing nature and animals. The owner of the B&B is friendly, sincere and makes you laugh with some of her own traveling stories. You can book tours to the reef
We felt very welcome and will definetely stay here again, if we come back and can only recommand it to everyone who wants to stay in an extraordinary place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed here several times when visiting Cairns and my wife loves the Bilabong that much she wants to buy it. Ganine spoils you with her sumptious brekky of tropical fruits and the bacon and eggs are done to your liking. Waking up in the morning and taking in the wildlife on the billabong is something to behold.10 out of 10 for me to.

Room Tip: The 2 bed villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I spent a total of two weeks here, as part of our business & pleasure trip to Australia and Papua New Guinea. The ambiance of being right on a serene Billabong was wonderful. Roxxy (the resident super-friendly part-dingo dog), will provide you with company and exercise, walking/jogging and playing "catch" with you around the Billabong, as often as you want. Our room was spacious, had a separate sitting area, a small fridge, a large modern shower, and a private deck where we enjoyed a glass of wine occasionally. My wife, who is an avid birdwatcher, found loads of new birds (we are from Canada) right on the property. The breakfasts were nutritious and excellent, were served on a large deck overlooking the Billabong, and included choices. The owner, Janenne, was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, in terms of car rentals, airport transfers, booking trips, and providing advice on local restaurants. Don't miss this place if you are in the Cairns area. We travel a lot, and there definitely aren't many quality/price deals like this one!

Room Tip: There is a choice of a newly-built self-contained separate unit which is good if you want to prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

What a treat. We stayed in the Kingfisher Suite. Every detail has been attended to. The sitting room location is stunning. The hostess, Janenne is wonderful. Breakfast on the deck alongside the billabong was outstanding. Don't pass this up.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Billabong B&B is truly unique. The furnishings and ambiance are supurb. The B&B is next to a Billabong that is beautiful to wake up to. The breakfasts were fantastic and Janeen is an excellent host. We have traveled extensively in Europe and the US and the Billabong is probably the best B&B that we have stayed at. We were there for 5 days. I scuba dived for 2 days and my wife spent that time enjoying the Billabong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Sharing Janeen and Roxy's wonderful home is just delightful! We had the pleasure of staying at Billabong recently for our anniversary, and had the most wonderful & relaxing stay. How magic it was to wake in the morning with the sunlight filtering through the trees, glinting off the water; ducks swimming; sunbirds flitting around whilst we had brekkie...and Roxy greeting us with wagging tail, and ball in mouth when ever we arrived 'home' after a days out exploring. If you want to stay someplace that feels like home, and so close to the touristies things Cairns has to offer...you can't beat it! And when you go, give Roxy a pat for us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Billabong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set On An Island surrounded by a Natural Billabong stocked with fish & abundant birdlife. A nature and birdlovers paradise, only 10 minutes to downtown Cairns, 7 minutes to airport, on doorstep to Great Barrier Reef & 10 minute walk to beach & alfresco restaurants. Both rooms are tastefully decorated & have quality queen size beds, ensuite, air conditioning, separate entrance & private deck. Full Gourmet Breakfast served on the main deck Tour companies pick up from the door & bus stop 2 minute walk. The 2 bedroom self contained Villa is equipped with with a fully functional kitchen and laundry and tastefully decorated with private deck overlooking the Billabong and Gardens. (no breakfast supplied)and wheelchair friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billabong Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billabong Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.