We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place & super deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Billabong Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holloways Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Billabong Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Billabong Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place & super deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I spent a total of two weeks here, as part of our business & pleasure trip to Australia and Papua New Guinea. The ambiance of being right on a serene Billabong was wonderful. Roxxy (the resident super-friendly part-dingo dog), will provide you with company and exercise, walking/jogging and playing "catch" with you around the Billabong, as often as you want. Our room was spacious, had a separate sitting area, a small fridge, a large modern shower, and a private deck where we enjoyed a glass of wine occasionally. My wife, who is an avid birdwatcher, found loads of new birds (we are from Canada) right on the property. The breakfasts were nutritious and excellent, were served on a large deck overlooking the Billabong, and included choices. The owner, Janenne, was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, in terms of car rentals, airport transfers, booking trips, and providing advice on local restaurants. Don't miss this place if you are in the Cairns area. We travel a lot, and there definitely aren't many quality/price deals like this one!

Room Tip: There is a choice of a newly-built self-contained separate unit which is good if you want to prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

What a treat. We stayed in the Kingfisher Suite. Every detail has been attended to. The sitting room location is stunning. The hostess, Janenne is wonderful. Breakfast on the deck alongside the billabong was outstanding. Don't pass this up.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Billabong B&B is truly unique. The furnishings and ambiance are supurb. The B&B is next to a Billabong that is beautiful to wake up to. The breakfasts were fantastic and Janeen is an excellent host. We have traveled extensively in Europe and the US and the Billabong is probably the best B&B that we have stayed at. We were there for 5 days. I scuba dived for 2 days and my wife spent that time enjoying the Billabong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Sharing Janeen and Roxy's wonderful home is just delightful! We had the pleasure of staying at Billabong recently for our anniversary, and had the most wonderful & relaxing stay. How magic it was to wake in the morning with the sunlight filtering through the trees, glinting off the water; ducks swimming; sunbirds flitting around whilst we had brekkie...and Roxy greeting us with wagging tail, and ball in mouth when ever we arrived 'home' after a days out exploring. If you want to stay someplace that feels like home, and so close to the touristies things Cairns has to offer...you can't beat it! And when you go, give Roxy a pat for us!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a perfect B and B in our minds and Billabong fulfilled all our requirements. We were very impressed with the setting overlooking a peaceful billabong with gorgeous trees and plantings. The suite was compact but with added decking it was sufficient and we didn't feel cramped at all. Everything was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was fresh and substantial.
Janenne made sure we were comfortable and nothing seemed to be a problem or too much trouble for her - she was available but not intrusive. She had great suggestions for local tours and places to visit, including the cafes at nearby Holloways Beach.
We would be very happy to recommend this B and B and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I spent 5 nights in Billabong and had an absolutely wonderful time. Janenne made the most fantastic breakfast - I am now making bircher museli again!! The B&B is in the most wonderful location and Roxy the dog was just so friendly and sweet it was hard to say goodbye to her.

I slept very well all the nights I was there and I loved hearing the different wildlife sounds outside in the evening. I would definitely say that Cairns was probably one of the highlights of my trip and I am so glad I decided to stay at Billabong.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Billabong B&B was absolutely the best accommodations we had in all of Australia. With our own private deck and entrance looking out over the Billabong we wish we could have stayed longer. This B&B felt so luxurious for not alot of money too. Plus Jeaneane made the most excellent breakfasts with stunning fruits, muesli, and hot breakfast.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Billabong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30 Caribbean St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set On An Island surrounded by a Natural Billabong stocked with fish & abundant birdlife. A nature and birdlovers paradise, only 10 minutes to downtown Cairns, 7 minutes to airport, on doorstep to Great Barrier Reef & 10 minute walk to beach & alfresco restaurants. Both rooms are tastefully decorated & have quality queen size beds, ensuite, air conditioning, separate entrance & private deck. Full Gourmet Breakfast served on the main deck Tour companies pick up from the door & bus stop 2 minute walk. The 2 bedroom self contained Villa is equipped with with a fully functional kitchen and laundry and tastefully decorated with private deck overlooking the Billabong and Gardens. (no breakfast supplied)and wheelchair friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Billabong Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billabong Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.