We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Australis Cairns Beach Resort to your Saves list
Australis Cairns Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

I stayed at the resort for two weeks and it was fantastic. The units had everything you need so that you dont have to dine out all the time and can just relax in your room. The pool was lovely. It is about 10 minutes from Cairns centre but a local bus is cheap and runs frequently. It is actually nice not to be in the centre and to be in a quiet and friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    13
    1
    12
See reviews for
31
100
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We have stayed there a couple of times now when we have wanted to have a weekend away. Lovely tropical pool set in beautiful gardens. The apartments are clean with a balcony for sitting out and relaxing. Friendly and helpful staff. Resort on the beach and close to Cairns for transport.

  • Liked — Well priced
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felice del Benaco, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

its been a few years since i stayed in the Cairns beach resort but i felt i should leave a review after having such a good experience there. Holloways beach is about a 15 minute drive from Cairns and if you are looking for a relaxing break 1 minute from a picture perfect beach this place is spot on. We didnt have a car when we stayed but there is a small bus which goes regularly and is easy enough to get, also a taxi doesnt cost much either. There are several shops next door too. The apartment itself was spacious and comfortable, much better than we expected considering the price is so reasonable! I would defintly recommend staying here and I look forward to staying next time I am over in Cairns !

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

The Cairns Beach Resort was our final accomodation in Queensland after several weeks of traveling around the state. It certainly wasn't the nicest place we stayed but we found it to be more than adequate. The unit was on the third floor, all stairs and no lift. This was not a problem for us as we are healthy and after several weeks of indulgence I needed the exercise. I also liked the fact that there was no overhead noise. I found it enchanting to awaken each day to the screeches of cockatoos in nearby treetops. The view out the bedroom window of the heavily rainforested hilltops was splendid. Our balcony overlooked the beautifully landscaped grounds surrounding the pool area and the bbq was only steps from the bottom stairs. The bedroom was spacious, with an uncomfortable king sized bed, 2 night stands and a small desk and chair. It would have been nice to have a chest of drawers instead of the four wire baskets in the closet. Also, there were only 4 hangers so most of our clothes stayed in suitcases on the floor. The modest bathroom was sparkling clean and well supplied with paper products, however, the 2 towels and 2 washclothes provided were low quality. It was cool and rainy most of the week we were there so we didn't use the pool but I wondered what people use for towels at the pool because there were none provided in the unit. We did enjoy the bbq and it complemented the well furnished partial kitchen very nicely. There was plenty of flatware, utensils, pots, pans, and crockery to prepare complete meals using the 2 burner cooktop, and microwave oven inside, and the gas bbqs downstairs. The washer and dryer were nearly new and a nice convenience. There was a sofa bed, loveseat, coffee table, and 19" tv along with the dining table and four chairs in the living area. My partner found the sofa bed to be much more comfortable than the bed in the bedroom. The cushions on the living room furniture were a bit tattered and worn but otherwise in good shape and comfortable.

We were extremely pleased with the staff before we even arrived. We had some of our luggage delivered a few days before we checked in and it was graciously received and kept safe and secure. Check-in was painless and we were in the unit only minutes after our arrival. We were pleasantly surprised when we returned to the reception area after we had settled in and were presented with a couple of drink coupons for Coolums, right across the street. Coolums is situated right on the beach with indoor and outdoor seating available. It is casually elegant. There were no other guests there when we arrived, yet, the sullen young lady server acted like we were intruding. We finished our drinks and went for a takeaway pizza and some beers from the bottle shop up the street and enjoyed them on our balcony. We did return to Coolums a few times including Monday night for the CBR sponsored bbq for resort guests. That was delicious! We found the company to be quite engaging, as well. Our hosts were friendly and enthusiastically prepared our feast. The other visits were not nearly as enjoyable because the sulky young woman did not make us feel very welcome.

Holloways Beach is a mostly residential area. There is a narrow beach that you can stroll to neighboring Machan's Beach, to the south, or Yorkey's Knob, at low tide, to the north. If you don't judge the tides right, it's a long walk back to the motorway from Yorkey's Knob to Holloways Beach. When the tide comes in, it creates a formidable waterway, complete with crocodile warning signs and, if good sense prevails, you certainly won't try to cross it. There are a couple restaurants besides Coolums in Holloways Beach, a bottle shop, convenience store and a news outlet. You really do need a car to enjoy the area fully. There is a local bus but it only runs every two hours in the winter. And, while most of the tours will pick you up it usually costs between $12 aud and $16 aud per person and you can rent a car for that amount. A cab to the airport to pick up a car was over $30 aud. We were glad we did though. It allowed us to explore this extraordinarily beautiful region at our leisure. I loved being situated in the Northern Beaches because it's a convenient location to access many of the local attractions. Smithfield's is only a few minutes away and there is a mall with plenty of shopping or you can go in to Cairns city, also just a few minutes away if you crave the nightlife and city amenities. We prefer the laid back calm of the Northern Beaches and the Cairns Beach Resort was ideal.

  • Liked — The location and friendly staff. The beautiful landscaping and terrific bbq area.
  • Disliked — The bed, linens.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, US
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

The Cairns Beach Resort provided everything we needed from a hotel. The staff was pleasant and friendly and the resort was immaculately clean. The apartment had a nice small kitchen area for basic cooking needs along with a nice living space and a bedroom. The pool was very beautiful although it was a bit cold to swim. The beach across the road was nice and there were a few shops and restaurants around to meet your basic needs. Also Cairns isn't too far away if you need more shopping or groceries. I recommend getting a rental car if you're staying more than 5 or so days because Holloways Beach is somewhat primitive. There are many nice attractions in the Cairns region including snorkelling, horseback riding, crocidile farms, waterfalls etc. Overall the hotel was very nice and made for a nice week long stay in this tropical paradise! Also the resort has beautiful landscaping that really adds to that tropical feel!

  • Liked — Nice landscape, good quite area, beautiful scenery
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

My girlfriend and I recently stayed there for 6 weeks over May and June this year. On the whole the stay was excellent, with only a few minor quibbles. The location is lovely, 10 seconds from the beach. It is a 15 minute drive from Cairns itself but we knew that already and wasn't an issue for us. The bus every hour is reliable and well priced, though a taxi to/from town will set you back around £15 so best avoided. Holloways Beach is a very pleasant little community with a newsagent, grocery store, off licence, a lovely cafe over the road and a couple of restaurants that also double up as bars. Larger supermarkets can be found in Cairns. The tour booking facility at reception is ideal if your staying for a week or two, as most tours will pick up from there. However, if you have the time and energy, like we did, its worth exploring the tour shops in Cairns as the competition is fierce and there are many special offers that could save you up to around £50 against booking at the resort on certain tours. The resort itself was excellent. Clean, tidy with a fantastic pool and garden area, and the communal BBQ is a great way to dine on an evening. The only thing that could have improved the apartment is an oven. It's fine if you're staying for a week or so but staying for 6 weeks and not having an oven restricted what food you could buy. An oven would definately benefit the apartment. The beach is lovely with warm waters, very long and great for a morning or evening stroll. Also has a stinger net up during the stinger season. The staff were helpful and cheerful. If you're after a relaxing location then it is ideal. We would definately stay again, though maybe not for 6 weeks as finances won't allow it!

  • Liked — right on the beach, lovely pool area and BBQ
  • Disliked — needs an oven!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

The hotel itself was not bad...decently clean and big beds. They did not provide any sort of warm blankets and some nights, it got cold and the very thin "sheets" as I would call them were definitely not enough. Besides that, the water by the beach was awful due to the rainy/windy season as they had said. There was no net up due to the wind and it was very dirty water. None of the food nearby was good (only 2 or 3 places to eat....half are not open during the day). I noticed the manager replied to a comment about the shuttle buses. Unfortunately, as all locals and visitors would agree, the shuttles come on their own time. We would sit and wait for the shuttle bus for hours at a time until we realized we had to get a taxi (min $25.00 to Cairns City). The shuttles were pretty terrible...cheap, but rarely came and it messed lots of things up. Overall, not a bad hotel...better location and friendlier staff would be better.

  • Liked — The pretty garden.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Cairns Beach Resort

Address: 129 Oleander Street, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Australis Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Australis Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Australis Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region, Australia - Holloways Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Cairns Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.